跳到主要内容

2019 年州长竞选如何影响肯塔基州早期的 COVID-19 经历

20年2021月
肯塔基州的旗帜

当民主党候选人安迪·贝希尔 (Andy Beshear) 在 2019 年大选中击败共和党现任总统马特·贝文 (Matt Bevin) 时,没人能预料到 COVID-19 会定义他的任期。 在 PLOS One 最近发表的一项研究中, UofL 经济学家 约书亚平克斯顿博士 和其他几位研究人员研究了早期社会疏远政策对肯塔基州大流行的影响。

虽然肯塔基州是一个“相对保守的农村白人工人阶级州”,但贝希尔的大流行政策与其他民主党州长保持一致——远程学习、关闭餐馆和酒吧以及就地庇护令 (SIPO)。 这些政策决定比共和党领导的州更具限制性。 最终结果——肯塔基州最初​​能够拉平曲线。

该研究确定,“平均而言,强有力的社会疏远政策对南部和中西部各州产生了强烈影响。” 与此同时,肯塔基州的限制措施帮助减缓了 COVID-19 在该州两个主要城市地区(列克星敦和路易斯维尔)的传播,但“在全州范围内没有统计上可检测的影响”,那里的农村人口更多是白人,工人阶级保守.

最终,人们相信强有力的社会疏远政策(最初由州长 Beshear 颁布)将继续使曲线变平。 鉴于过去几个月 COVID 病例不断增加,研究人员还提出了这一警告——该政策将与社区对限制和居民人口构成的态度一样有效。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

How the 2019 gubernatorial race impacted Kentucky’s early COVID-19 experience

September 20, 2021
the flag of Kentucky

When Democratic candidate Andy Beshear defeated Republican incumbent Matt Bevin in the 2019 election, no one could have predicted that COVID-19 would define his term. In a recent study published by PLOS One, UofL economist Dr. Joshua Pinkston and several other researchers examined the impact of early social distancing policies on the pandemic in Kentucky.

While Kentucky is a “relatively conservative, rural, white-working-class state,” Beshear’s pandemic policy aligned with other Democratic governors—remote learning, the closing of restaurants and bars, and shelter-in-place orders (SIPO). These policy decisions were much more restrictive than states with Republican leadership. The end result—Kentucky was able to initially flatten the curve.

The study determined that “strong social distancing policies have, on average, strong effects in Southern and Midwestern states.” At the same time, Kentucky’s restrictions helped slow the spread of COVID-19 in the state’s two major urban areas (Lexington and Louisville) but “had no statistically detectable effect across the state” where the rural population is more white, working-class conservative.

Ultimately it’s believed that a robust social distancing policy (as initially enacted by Gov. Beshear) would continue to flatten the curve. In light of the rising COVID cases over the past few months, the researchers also offer this caveat—the policy will be as effective as the community attitudes over restrictions and the demographic make-up of its residents.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian