跳到主要内容

灌输信心

1年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
哈雷·卡里米(Haleh Karimi)博士

Haleh Karimi博士在IT领域的XNUMX年旅程为她提供了经验和同理心,以激发超出技术要求的明天的专业人员。 最好的老师和导师的核心是发火花并将其点燃的能力-提供富氧的气氛,激发想像力并照亮房间。 与Karimi博士呆了几分钟,您将了解到激发她动力的也是她的学生身上闪耀的光芒。

“我认为教育的全部目的和使命是使这些毕业生为劳动力做好准备,尤其是为他们的长期职业做好准备。 因此,[我们必须做]我们可以做的所有事情,以使他们不仅具备入门级专业人士所需的知识,还拥有自信,蓬勃发展,成长,并有希望在世界上有所作为。”

对于Karimi博士而言,在技术技能和软技能之间架起一座桥梁对专业成功至关重要。 作为最近的博士学位,她的研究主要基于软技能在IT领域的影响。 对软件和编程的理解只是其中的一半,而如果没有能力与他人交流和表达才华,就会失去对软件的掌握。

Karimi说:“在我开始学习时,我遇到了同行评审的文章,这些文章谈到了毕业生对软技能的需求,这引起了我的共鸣。” 这项研究使她回到了自己在企业界的经历,包括在可口可乐和高露洁棕榄的任期。 “当我在可口可乐工作并招聘入门级[职位]时……我可以看到来自UofL的学生和来自其他实体的学生之间的区别。 [这些学生]的整体人际交往能力更好。” 根据Karimi的说法,在此后的几年中,软技能和STEM之间的差距仅在增加。 “仍然存在着巨大的差距,而且在进入劳动力市场的入门级学生中非常明显。” 结果,卡里米(Karimi)博士通过研究路易斯维尔(Louisville)的医疗保健行业来研究这种差距,有27个地方组织参与了定性研究。 “作为教育工作者的问题是,'我们是否为学生配备了未来需要的正确技能,我们需要做什么?'”对于参加研究的人们,需求中的技能包括领导能力和理解力人性。

就她自己而言,她致力于通过让学生接触反映更大社区的真实项目来吸引CIS 420中的这些空间。 作为高级课程,进入CIS 420的学生已经掌握了技术,程序设计技能; 让班级可以利用他们所获得的知识以及软技能。 学生们在一个真实世界的项目中团队合作,在学期末展示一种有形的产品。 在本课程中,他们学习团队合作,解决问题和实现其交付成果的细微差别。 通常,解决这些问题已超出了软件和编程的范围,进入了更复杂,细微差别的空间。 Karimi说:“有时,我允许他们处于灰色地带,并利用他们的领导才能,人性,创造力和批判性思维技能,引导他们找到适合其团队的最佳解决方案。” “这条道路可以培养他们的软技能能力,并建立他们的自信……我希望他们获得这种自信心,因此当他们参加面试时,他们已经接触了许多(现实世界)的场景,他们知道该说些什么,以及如何阐明他们在这门课程中所做的事情。” 除经验外,CIS 420课程还为学生提供了切实可行的外卖专业作品集,可证明理论是真实的。 Karimi说:“在他们的CIS 310课程中,“他们获得了基础知识和技术信息后,我要求他们交付任务,这是他们将为之感到骄傲的投资组合质量作品。”

-

卡里米(Karimi)出生于伊朗,十几岁时来到美国,对从小灌输给她的学习充满热情。 “我的妈妈经常说,投资教育是一种资产,任何人都无法从你身上夺走,而无论你去到哪里,你都会得到它。 作为一名IT小姐和一个外国移民进入男性占主导地位的领域……教育(及其所提供的内容)已植入我的体内。” 在许多情况下,Karimi博士通常是其部门中唯一的女性IT专业人员或担任领导职务。 学位打开了大门,但是随着她作为程序员的职业发展,机会来了,这使她可以为其他人保留这个空间。 在帮助创立可口可乐的创新智囊团期间,她首先开始与应届毕业生一起工作和培训。 “在我进入可口可乐行业的职业生涯快要结束时,我开始兼职教学,我很喜欢! 您可以改变人们的生活。” 即使她冒险走上创业之路和其他努力(包括在非营利领域工作),她也仍然在教书。 这种发展使她接受了高等教育,并最终加入了商学院。 “ [教学]是我认为对人类有最大影响的地方。“

通常,光冲击在这些学生空间中散发出来,而它散布的黑暗并不是导师知道甚至看不到的。 对于卡里米(Karimi)博士,她已经能够亲眼目睹这种灵感对学生来说是什么样子。 “我有很多学生进入[CIS 420],尤其是小姐们,对他们的能力没有信心。” 因此,卡里米(Karimi)博士依靠她过去的工作来帮助学生发现并增强自己的力量,以树立对自己的信念。 在这一发现过程中,Karimi博士学习并应对了世界上不断发展的挑战,以确保她的学生为明天做好准备。 通过在流行病中进行教学(和注入人性),这一挑战在今年变得太现实了。

“这个Covid的东西,哦,我知道了……[继续]富有同情心,并在那里相处。” 上学期,她的一名学生在最后一次演讲之前与Covid签约。 “即使我告诉她她不必出席,但她说,'不,我不能那样做。' 她来了她的团队。 我哭了。”

去年2020月,Karimi邀请独联体学生王若梅和她一起参加XNUMX年女性在科技路易斯维尔奖。 这次经历令若美大开眼界,“那里的所有人都让我深受启发。” Karimi博士获得了STEAM领导奖。 见到她的教授受到大学以外社区的认可,这对若梅来说是鼓舞人心的。 在IT世界中,女性(以及有色人种)不仅有一个地方,而且还有一个地方。 在社区中也有地方承认和拥护这些妇女。 能够在打破现状的空间中看到自己并为他人翻译这些经历本身就是一个教学时刻,Karimi博士为希望进入STEM领域的女性提供建议。 “首先,他们必须相信自己。 他们将被许多男同事包围,因此,可能不会觉得这对他们来说是一种职业。 他们需要记住,他们选择这条道路是有原因的。 充满激情的事物将他们吸引到了这个技术领域。 如果他们相信自己,尽力而为,专注于激情,他们就会成功。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Instilling Confidence

March 1, 2021 Jim Warner
Dr. Haleh Karimi

Dr. Haleh Karimi’s twenty-year journey in IT has provided her with the experience and empathy to inspire tomorrow’s professionals beyond the technical demands. At the core of the best teachers and mentors is a capacity to take a spark and bring it to flame — providing the oxygen-rich atmosphere that ignites imagination and illuminates a room. Spend a few minutes with Dr. Karimi, and you’ll learn that what fuels her is also what shines in her students.

“I think the whole purpose and mission of education is to get these graduates ready for the workforce — specifically for their long term. So [we must do] anything that we can do to equip them with the knowledge they need not just as entry-level professionals, but with the self-confidence to flourish, grow, and hopefully do some good out there in the world.”

For Dr. Karimi, building a bridge between the technical skillset and soft skills is crucial to professional success. As a recent PhD, her research was predicated on the impact of soft skills in the IT field. Understanding the software and the programming is only half the equation — its mastery is lost without the ability to communicate and express those talents to others.

“As I started my studies, I encountered peer-reviewed articles that spoke of the demand for soft skills in graduates, and it resonated with me,” says Karimi. This study took her back to her experiences in the corporate world, including tenures at Coca-Cola and Colgate Palmolive. “When I was working at Coca-Cola and hiring for entry-level [positions]… I could see a distinction between students coming from UofL and those from other entities. [These students] just had better overall interpersonal skills.” In the years since, this rift between soft skills and STEM has only increased, according to Karimi. “There’s a huge gap that is not going away, and it’s vividly obvious amongst entry-level students going into the workforce.” As a result, Dr. Karimi studied this gap by looking at Louisville’s health care industry, with 27 various local organizations taking part in the qualitative study. “The question as educators is, ‘Are we equipping students with the right skills that the future will need and what is it that we need to do?’” For those taking part in the study, those skills in demand include leadership and an understanding of one’s humanity.

For her part, she has worked to engage these spaces in CIS 420 by exposing her students to real-world projects that reflect the larger community. As a higher-level course, the students entering CIS 420 already have the technical, programmatic skills down; allowing for the class to be an application of their gained knowledge as well as soft skill competencies. Students work in teams on a real-world project to present a tangible product by semester’s end. In this course, they learn the nuances of working in teams, solving problems, and meeting their deliverables. Often, solving these problems moves beyond the software and programming into more complex, nuanced spaces. “At times, I allow them to be in the gray area and use their leadership, humanity, creativity, and critical thinking skills to lead them towards finding their optimal solutions that work for their team,” says Karimi. “This path fosters their soft skills competencies and builds their confidence… I want them to attain that self-confidence so when they go into that interview, they have been exposed to so many [real-world] scenarios that they know what to say and how to articulate what they did in this course.” Beyond the experience, the CIS 420 course gives the students a tangible takeaway, professional portfolio pieces that demonstrate the theoretical made real. In her CIS 310 course, “After they gained the foundational knowledge and technical information, I ask them to deliver assignments that are portfolio quality pieces they will be proud of,” says Karimi.

Born in Iran, Dr. Karimi came to the US as a teenager and had a passion for learning instilled in her at an early age. “My mom always used to say that investing in education is an asset no one can take away from you, and wherever you go, you will have it. As a young lady in IT and an immigrant in a foreign country going into a male-dominated field…education [and what it offered] was embedded in me.” In many instances, Dr. Karimi was often the sole female IT professional in her department or serving in a leadership capacity. The degree opened doors, but as her career as a programmer progressed, an opportunity came that allowed for her to hold that space for others. During her time helping to launch Coca-Cola’s innovation think tank, she first started working and training with recent graduates. “Towards the end of my career at Coca-Cola, I started teaching as an adjunct, and I liked it! You could change peoples’ lives.” Even as she ventured down the entrepreneurial path and other endeavors (including work in the nonprofit world), teaching called to her. This evolution led her to higher education and eventually to joining the College of Business. “[Teaching] is where I think I can make the biggest impact as a human being.”

Often the light impact emits in these student-spaces and what darkness it disperses is not for the mentor to know or even see. For Dr. Karimi, she has been able to see first-hand what that inspiration looks like to students. “I’ve had so many students come into [CIS 420] — especially young ladies — not feel confident about their capabilities.” As a result, Dr. Karimi leans on her past work to help students discover and reinforce their strengths to foster a belief in themselves. In that process of discovery, Dr. Karimi learns and tackles an ever-evolving world’s challenges to ensure her students are ready for tomorrow. That challenge was made all too real this year by teaching (and injecting humanity) in a pandemic.

“This Covid-thing, oh I’ve learned…to [continue] to be compassionate and be there for one another.” Last semester, one of her students contracted Covid before their final presentation. “Even though I told her that she didn’t have to present, she said, ‘No I can’t do that.’ She came for her team. I was in tears.”

This past December, Karimi invited CIS student Ruomei Wang to attend the 2020 Women In Tech Louisville Awards with her. The experience was an eye-opener to Ruomei, “I was so inspired by everyone there.” For her part, Dr. Karimi won the STEAM Leadership award. Seeing her professor recognized by a community beyond the University was inspirational and aspirational for Ruomei. There is not only a place for women (and women of color) in the IT world; there are also places in the community where these women are recognized and championed. Being able to see oneself in spaces that break with the status quo and translate those experiences for others is itself a teaching moment, and Dr. Karimi offers advice for women looking to enter STEM fields. “First and foremost, they have to believe in themselves. They will be surrounded by a lot of male colleagues, and as a result, may not feel like this is a profession for them. They need to remember that there is a reason they picked this path. There was something passionate that drew them into this arena of technology. If they believe in themselves, do the best they can, and focus on the passion, they will succeed.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian