跳到主要内容

家庭基金会

1年2021月XNUMX日
卡米拉·施罗德(Camilla Schroeder)

卡米拉·施罗德(Camilla Schroeder)一直都知道她会做生意。 她的家人拥有并经营着一家公司,饭桌上总是谈论商务往来。1990年,她获得了商学院的工商管理学士学位。 经过一生的职业生涯准备,无论在家中还是在屋外,卡米拉都知道另一件事是真实的:她不会失败。

卡米拉·施罗德(Camilla Schroeder)是高级预拌混凝土的总裁,高级预拌混凝土是路易斯维尔/印第安纳州南部市场上唯一一家当地家族拥有的预拌混凝土生产商。 如果您从未听说过它们,那么您可能会从他们在城市某个地区或另一地区的服务中受益。 他们提供了路易斯维尔大学肯德基百胜的混凝土! 中心,市中心的海滨公园和滑板公园,诺顿公园,以及最近的东区桥梁。

施罗德谈到桥梁项目时说:“这提高了我所拥有的团队……我们必须提高自己的水平。” “我们是一家小公司……我们必须弄清楚该怎么做。 这很有风险,但是我们能够做到……我认为我们为国家提供了一个很好的产品,这表明我们能够做到这样。”

从UofL毕业后,卡米拉的第一份工作是在通用电气(GE)担任客户服务代表。 在担任该职位一年半之后,她为更多的工作做好了准备,并转到了客户金融服务部门。 她在通用电气工作的时间与她长大后所了解的世界不同,她所学到的东西形成了鲜明的对比。

“我发现裁员对于像这样的大公司来说是一件非常容易的事情……我只是认为这(不是)我真正想要的。 我不想过着不受自己的命运控制的生活。”

近年来,Advantage Ready Mix的成功一直是艰苦奋斗和赢得的。 该公司是由Camilla的父亲Bill Abel Sr.和叔叔于1979年创立的,当时的原因是寻找一家按客户时间表在正常工作时间以外运营的预拌料供应商,这很沮丧。 该公司在80年代经历了艰难的挣扎,但就在90年代开始和业务开始增长之时,Bill Abel Sr.被诊断出患有脑瘤。 

有了父亲的诊断,卡米拉看到了一个机会,可以确保父亲的工作继续下去,也有机会建立有意义的职业,将每位员工都视为一个员工。 她在1993年底开始担任Advance Ready Mix的总经理,并在接下来的三年中与Bill Sr.一起工作,一直在吸收自己所能吸收的所有时间和经验。 

“他是一个很好的榜样,影响很大,但是我认为也许最珍贵的是我(大约每天和他在一起)度过……我永远都无法取代那个时间。”

1997年初,在比尔·萨尔(Bill Sr.)去世后,卡米拉(Camilla)接任总裁。 凭借多年的合作经验,她开始为女性不常从事的行业开辟一条道路。 自接任以来,她使公司翻了一番,在竞争中脱颖而出。

 “我从未感到自己会失败,”卡米拉谈到接管统治时说。 “我认为它是我唯一的女性预拌粉生产商,因此我认为人们会记住这一点。”

在混凝土和建筑行业的时间里,她看到女性的比例也在增长。 如果有机会,她喜欢与即将开业的女性分享自己的经验。 她的希望是,通过分享自己的经验和教训,她可以为像她这样的其他人提供进一步的帮助。 “我认为这只会成为一条更容易的道路,因为在业内看到女性越来越成为一种规范。”

卡米拉还亲眼目睹了由于您无法控制的情况而导致接近失败的可能性。 当2008年金融危机袭来时,Advance Ready Mix的员工人数从大约85人减少到35人。设法留下来的员工承担的工作量是该公司度过一段艰难时期的三倍。 “ [Advance Ready Mix不是一家大公司。。。某种程度上,我们只是想出了如何做,如何做,如何不损失太多无法生存的钱。”

她认为这是她领导生涯中最具挑战性的时期之一,也是Advance公司最大的成就之一。 从那时起,她就想起了促使他们走到另一边并继续前进的教训的原因。 “我们做出了一些良好的财务决策,当时我们没有任何债务,因此使我们能够部分生存。 因此,当我们谈论某些事情的债务时,这总是在我的脑海中。”

卡米拉(Camilla)经历了可能以多种方式阻碍成功的各种障碍,因此相信为他人提供机会。 她将回馈视为个人和公司所有人的责任。 就个人而言,她还担任过商学院顾问委员会以及多个社区委员会的成员,包括GLI执行委员会和路易斯维尔地铁警察基金会。 从公司的角度来看,她确保可以将Advance Ready Mix提升为其他需要帮助的人。

“我发现我应该做的事情是[尝试]招聘需要机会的人,因此我们实际上[雇用]和[培训]人...我们已经找到了需要帮助的人...我们将为他们付出代价驾驶执照,然后他们签了一份与我们合作几年的合同……这真是太了不起了。”

在推动自己和员工向需要帮助的社区提供帮助的同时,她还强调了做好自我准备的重要性,特别是对于刚毕业的毕业生和担任领导职务的女性。 她建议应届毕业生记住,他们将必须努力工作并找到使自己与众不同的独特方法。

“让自己成为他们想要见到的人...在这些公司中找到合适的位置,并就此进行自我教育,无论它是否获得MBA学位,是否获得更多的执照...都使您对公司更具价值,这很重要。”

 她了解虽然有时需要给予帮助,但也必须寻求帮助。 

她建议:“寻求帮助。” “当您可以向正在做自己的[其他人]学习时,总有机会提高自己。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Family Foundations

March 1, 2021
Camilla Schroeder_BOA

Camilla Schroeder always knew she was going to be in business. Her family owned and operated a company, there was always talk of business dealings at the dinner table, and in 1990, she received her BS in Business Administration from the College of Business. After a lifetime of career prep, both inside and outside the home, Camilla knew one more thing to be true: she wasn’t going to fail.

Camilla Schroeder is president of Advance Ready Mix Concrete, the only locally family-owned ready mix concrete producer in the Louisville/Southern Indiana market. If you haven’t heard of them, you’ve likely benefitted from their services in one area of the city or another. They supplied the concrete on the University of Louisville’s KFC Yum! Center, downtown’s Waterfront Park and skate park, Norton Commons, and most recently, the East End bridges.

“That elevated the team that I have… we had to up our game,” Schroeder says of the bridges project. “We were a small company… we had to figure out how to do it. It was quite risky, but we were able to do it… I think we provided a great product for the state and it showed that we were able to accomplish something like that.”

Upon graduating from UofL, Camilla’s first job was with General Electric (GE) as a customer service representative. After a year and a half in that role, she was ready for more, and moved into Customer Financial Services. Her time at GE showed a different corporate world than the one she’d grown up knowing, and what she’d learned had been a stark contrast.

“I found that cutting people was a very easy thing for a big corporation like that to do… I just thought this [wasn’t] really what I was looking for. I didn’t want to live my life not being in control of my own destiny.”

Success for Advance Ready Mix in recent years has been hard fought and won. The company was started in 1979 by Camilla’s father, Bill Abel Sr., and uncle in response to the frustration of finding a ready mix supplier that operated on a customer’s timeline outside of normal business hours. The company struggled through the 80s, but just as the 90s began and business started to grow, Bill Abel Sr. was diagnosed with a brain tumor. 

With her father’s diagnosis, Camilla saw an opportunity to be sure her father’s work continued, as well as an opportunity to build a meaningful career that treated each employee as more than a number. She started with Advance Ready Mix towards the end of 1993 as general manager and spent the next three years working alongside Bill Sr., soaking up all the time and experience she could with him. 

“He was a great role model, a huge influence, but I think maybe the most precious thing was that I got to spend [about every day with him]… I can never replace that time.”

In early 1997, Camilla took over as president upon Bill Sr.’s passing. With the insight she had gained from their years working together, she began carving a path through an industry not frequented by women. Since taking over, she’s doubled the company and stands out against the competition.

 “I never felt like I could fail,” Camilla says of taking over the reigns. “I think I looked at it as I was the only female ready mix producer, so I think people would remember that.”

In her time in the concrete and construction industry, she’s seen the percentage of women grow too. When given the opportunity, she likes to share her experience with women coming up in the business. Her hope is that by sharing her experiences and lessons learned, she can provide a step up for others like her. “I think it’s only going to become an easier path as it becomes more of a norm to see females in the industry.”

Camilla has also seen firsthand how close failure can come due to circumstances outside your control. When the financial crisis of 2008 hit, Advance Ready Mix saw its workforce reduced from around 85 people to 35. The staff who managed to stay took on up to three times as much work as the company tried to navigate a treacherous time. “[Advance Ready Mix is] not a huge company… Somehow, we just figured out how to do it, how to make it, how not to lose so much money that you couldn’t survive.”

She rates this as one of the most challenging times in her career as a leader and one of Advance’s biggest accomplishments. Since that time, she’s remembered what enabled them to come out on the other side and carries that lesson forward. “We had made some good financial decisions, we didn’t have any debt at the time, so that enabled us to survive in part. So always, that’s in the back of my mind too, when we talk about going into debt for certain things.”

Having experienced the kind of roadblocks that can inhibit success in multiple ways, Camilla believes in developing opportunity for others.  She sees giving back as the responsibility of all, both as an individual and as a company.  Personally, she serves on the College of Business Board of Advisors in addition to multiple community boards, including GLI’s Executive Committee and the Louisville Metro Police Foundation. From a company standpoint, she’s ensured that Advance Ready Mix elevates others who may need a little extra help.

“I find something that I should be doing is [trying] to hire people who need the opportunity, so we [hire] and [train] people actually… We’ve sought out people who needed a hand up…we would pay for their driving license and then in turn, they sign a contract to work with us for a few years… It’s phenomenal.”

While pushing herself and her employees to help the community where help is needed, she also stresses the importance of preparing oneself to work hard, especially for recent graduates and women in leadership. She advises grads to remember that they will have to work hard and find the unique ways to set themselves apart.

“Put yourself in a position to be the person they want to see… You find the right place in these companies and educate yourself on that, whether it’s getting an MBA, whether it’s getting more licenses… that make you more valuable to your company, that’s important.”

 She understands that while sometimes help needs to be given, it also has to be sought. 

“Ask for help,” she recommends. “When you can learn from [others] who are doing what you’re doing, there’s always the opportunity to improve yourself.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian