跳到主要内容

商业艺术

28年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

艾莉森·艾迪(Alison Addie)具有三重威胁,将艺术与商业敏感性相结合,并着眼于社区参与。 这位长笛演奏家最初是俄亥俄州立大学的音乐表演专业学生,但在学校和她的道路上,感觉有些东西丢失了。 “我没有得到艺术界的实践方面,企业家或商业方面的帮助。” 经过一番深思和消磨时间后,艾莉森决定离开哥伦布,回到路易斯维尔。

回到家乡,不仅仅意味着熟悉的环境; 它使艾莉森(Alison)能够找到她在规划自己的未来时一直在寻找的路口。

当她最终决定转学到UofL时,她的母亲建议从学校开始的一项新计划,即商学院的工商管理学士学位(BBA)。 此建议带有一些第一手的见解-艾莉森(Alison)的妈妈梅琳达·艾迪(Melinda Addie)是德尔福中心的在线注册服务经理。 “ [我的妈妈]是使BBA成为计划的过程的一部分,她鼓励我以双专业的身份来做。” 除了向Alison提供她所寻找的业务敏锐度之外,在线组件还使她能够灵活地继续在UofL学习音乐。

“这是一项调整,[学习商务课程]…教科书章节共五十页,您必须阅读,做笔记,然后进行的作业要比在[音乐]上填写笔记要长一些。职员。”

尽管她仅仅在BBA的一个学期中学习了一个学期,但她已经觉得这些课程为她提供了她在商业课程中寻找的背景。 新的大学领域为她提供了多种技能,可以满足她迅速发展的兴趣。 “我一直对艺术行政抱有非常强烈的热情-已经(演变为)城市艺术和文化规划,”艾莉森说。 “我认为,对于艺术家而言,拥有业务面非常重要,因为您必须能够进行自我营销,并交流如何将自己的技能应用于其他领域。 我还认为,商人需要有创造力并了解他们的创造力,以便双方能够相互反弹。”

在教室之外,艾莉森(Alison)在艺术基金会获得了实习的第一手经验。 艾莉森(Alison)是最早获得实习的BBA专业人士之一,每周花12个小时与路易斯维尔最活跃的艺术组织之一合作。 “在寒假期间,我一直在寻找暑期实习机会,而且确实有足够的[艺术基金会]为春季实习机会开放。” 从许多方面来说,加入艺术基金会是艾莉森的绝配。 2018年杰克·肯特·库克(Jack Kent Cooke)青年艺术家奖得主在整个高中期间都非常活跃于当地的艺术和音乐界(包括与泰迪·艾布拉姆斯(Teddy Abrams)和路易斯维尔乐团合作以及在WUOL上表演)。

艾莉森(Alison)是艺术影响团队基金的一部分。 “我们分配从艺术基金会从捐助者和其他机构获得的不同赠款中筹集的资金。 最近,我们刚刚发布了一项名为ArtsMatch的赠款。 该基金与众筹平台的捐款相匹配,金额在500美元到20,000美元之间。 该赠款有一个主题,今年它是促进种族平等,多样性和包容性的赞助计划。” 她在Impact团队中的部分职责包括与组织合作以推广ArtsMatch。 “这让我希望知道,在杰斐逊县内外,如此众多的组织正在努力在这个困难时期推广艺术,并为社区提供了这些资源。” Alison可以直接在此实习中应用她在CIS 305(决策用数据分析)中的经验。 “我很高兴参加该课程-我对使用[基金的]软件充满信心,因为我已经通过CIS中的Excel完成了各种任务。” 

艾莉森(Alison)专注于艺术及其帮助塑造社区观念的能力,因此在组合中增加了第三个专业-专注于城市社会学的城市研究。 “对我来说,我一直在努力寻找自己的社区……我真的很珍惜那种家的感觉和位置感,并在您周围拥有强大的支持系统,”艾莉森说。 除了上课外,Alison还参与了UofL妇女中心和PEACC中心。 在UofL任教,使Alison有了基础,信心和能力,可以进一步在自己选择的三个专业的交汇处找到自己,并重返艺术界。 “我很高兴在UofL建房。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

The Art(s) of Business

February 28, 2021 Jim Warner

Alison Addie is a triple threat, offering a mix of the arts with a business sensibility with an eye towards community engagement. Originally a music performance major at The Ohio State University, the flutist felt something was missing —  at the school and in her path. “I wasn’t getting the practical side, that entrepreneurial or the business side of the arts community.” After some soul-searching and time away, Alison decided to leave Columbus and come home to Louisville.

Being back in her hometown meant more than just familiar surroundings; it allowed Alison to find that intersection she’d been looking for in mapping out her future.

When she ultimately decided to transfer to UofL, her mother recommended a new program just starting at the school, the Bachelors of Business Administration (BBA) at the College of Business. This recommendation came with some first-hand insight — Alison’s mom, Melinda Addie, is the Online Enrollment Services manager at the Delphi Center. “[My mom] was part of the process of making the BBA a program, and she encouraged me to do it as a double major.” Beyond giving Alison the business acumen she was looking for, the online component allowed her the flexibility to continue her music studies at UofL.

“It’s been an adjustment [taking the business courses]…the textbook chapters are fifty pages, and you have to read it, take notes, and then you’re doing assignments that are a bit lengthier than filling in notes on a [music] staff.”

While she has only been in the BBA track for a little over a semester, Alison already feels like the courses give her the background she was looking for in a business program. The new College tract provides her with a diverse complement of skills which matches her burgeoning interests. “I’ve always had this really strong passion for arts administration — which has [evolved into] urban arts and cultural planning,” says Alison. “I think it’s really important for artists to have a business side because you’ve to got to be able to market yourself and communicate how your skillset can be applied into other areas. I also think business people need to be creative and understand their creativity—so the two sides can bounce off one another.”

Beyond the classroom, Alison is getting first-hand experience with her internship at the Fund for the Arts. One of the first BBA majors to land an internship, Alison spends 12 hours a week working with one of the most active arts organizations in Louisville. “Over winter break, I was looking for a summer internship, and sure enough [the Fund for the Arts] had an opening for a spring internship.” Being a part of the Fund for the Arts is, in many ways, a perfect match for Alison. The 2018 Jack Kent Cooke Young Artist award winner was very active in the local arts and music scene throughout high school (including doing a program with Teddy Abrams and the Louisville Orchestra and performing on WUOL).

Alison is a part of the Fund for the Arts Impact Team. “We distribute the money raised from different grants that the Fund for the Arts receives from donors and other institutions. Recently we just released a grant called ArtsMatch. The Fund matches donations made from a crowdfunding platform, between $500 to $20,000. The grant has a theme, and this year it’s sponsoring programs that promote racial equity, diversity, and inclusion.” Part of her duties with the Impact Team includes reaching out to organizations to promote ArtsMatch. “It brings me hope knowing that so many organizations—within and outside Jefferson County— are working to promote the arts in these difficult times, and that there are these resources out there for communities.” Alison has been able to apply her experience in CIS 305 (Data Analysis for Decision Making) directly in this internship. “I’m glad I took that class — I’m much more confident using [the Fund’s] software just because I’ve done all kinds of assignments through Excel in CIS.” 

With this focus on arts and its capacity to help shape a community’s perception, Alison has added a third major into the mix — urban studies with a concentration in urban sociology. “For me, I’ve always struggled to find my community…I just really value that sense of home and sense of place and having a strong support system around you,” says Alison. Along with her classes, Alison has also been involved at the UofL Women’s Center and the PEACC Center. Being at UofL has given Alison the grounding, confidence, and capacity to further find herself at the intersection of her three chosen majors, as well as return to the arts community. “I’m glad I’m making a home here at UofL.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish