跳到主要内容

明天解密

November 1, 2021
UofL 独联体校友 Jayna Newcomer 爆头

Jayna Newcomer 是 Dean Dorton 的技术服务专家。 Woodford R. Porter Scholar 于 2020 年 XNUMX 月以优异成绩毕业。作为一名积极进取的学生,她获得了 UofL 提供的三个计算机信息系统专业的学位——数据分析、信息安全和网络开发。 当她在大流行的中心进入就业市场时,这种三重威胁技能组合让她为成功做好了准备。

“在 UofL 的最后一年,我找到了一份可以利用我所有学位途径的工作,并让我将我的知识用于测试,”Jayna 说。 她在毕业前找到了一份工作。 几个月后,该公司被 Dean Dorton 收购。 她目前担任公司的技术服务专家,这个职位可能无法完全描述 Jayna 的职责范围和规模——为美国各地的客户提供服务。 “在这个职位下,我是系统管理员、顾问、项目经理和开发人员。 我有深入研究这些领域的知识,因为在 CIS 项目下升三倍专业是多么容易。”

在 CIS 项目中的经历有助于培养她对职业道路的业务和技术方面的理解。 Jayna 解释说:“这并不全是编码和服务器机房,而是大量的文书工作、电子邮件和谈判。 在从事咨询工作时,我必须以提案的形式展示我的知识,并加入大量的法律语言。” 事实证明,她在学院的课程中获得的这些软技能与她学到的任何数据工具一样重要。 “了解经济学、营销学以及如何将技术通俗易懂地应用到外行的术语中,对于完成我所在领域以外的任何事情都是非常宝贵的。”

虽然 Jayna 教育的商业部分在 Dean Dorton 为她提供了很好的帮助,但她对技术的热爱激发了她在 CIS 攻读学位。 “我决定就读商学院,因为我想从商业角度理解技术,这样我就可以通过我与之交互的技术产生影响,而不仅仅是编码或管理系统。 本人从事技术工作,父亲激励我从事技术事业,”Jayna 反映道。 “他总是用最新的小玩意填满房子,并花时间解释(在我的水平上)每件技术或软件的作用以及它是如何做到的。 通过
多年与他谈论他的工作 [在 IT 领域] 和我们周围的世界,我发现我可以对世界产生的最大影响将是在技术领域工作——它是将我们现代世界中的一切联系在一起的主线。 ”

由于她在 Dean Dorton 的职业生涯可能刚刚开始,Jayna 已经计划更深入地涉足网络安全领域。 前进的道路是敞开的,但她为本科生在最后几年提供了一些及时的建议。 “在你的工作或职业生涯中找到可以帮助你度过过渡期的人。 从一个大学生到任何公司的正式员工都不容易。 你将有一个新的生活动力来弄清楚,并且需要有人在工作中支持你。 另外,投资一个低年级学生
并分享您多年来学到的智慧。 你永远不知道你的经历将如何帮助另一个学生取得成功。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Uncoding Tomorrow

November 1, 2021
UofL CIS alum Jayna Newcomer headshot

Jayna Newcomer is a technology services specialist at Dean Dorton. The Woodford R. Porter Scholar graduated Cum Laude with honors in May of 2020. A highly-motivated student, she earned degrees in the three Computer Information Systems tracks offered at UofL—data analytics, information security, and web development. While she entered the job market in the heart of the pandemic, this triple-threat skillset prepared her for success.

“During my final year at UofL, I was able to secure a job that utilized all my degree paths and let me put my knowledge to the test,” says Jayna. She secured a job before graduating. That company was acquired by Dean Dorton a few months later. She currently serves as a technology services specialist for the company, a position that may not fully describe the scope and scale of Jayna’s role—serving customers across the US. “Under that job title, I am a system administrator, a consultant, a project manager, and a developer. I have the knowledge to dive into these areas because of how easy it was to triple major under the CIS program.”

That experience in the CIS program helped cultivate an understanding of both the business and the technology sides of her career path. Jayna explains, “It is not all coding and server rooms but a lot of paperwork, emails, and negotiation. Working in consulting, I have to present my knowledge in the form of a proposal with much legal language thrown in, too.” These soft skills gained in her classes at the College have proven as essential as any data tools she learned. “Knowing economics, marketing, and how to put technology into layman’s terms is invaluable to completing anything in my field beyond groundwork.”

While the business component to Jayna’s education has served her well at Dean Dorton, her love of technology inspired her to pursue a degree in CIS. “I decided to attend the College of Business because I wanted to understand technology from a business perspective so that I could make a difference with the technology I interacted with and not just code or manage systems. Being in technology himself, my father inspired me to pursue a career in technology,” reflects Jayna. “He always filled the house with the newest gadgets and took time to explain (at my level) what each piece of technology or software did and how it did it. Through
years of talking with him about his work [in IT] and the world around us, I figured out that the biggest impact I could have on the world would be working in technology – it is the thread that holds everything together in our modern world.”

As her career with Dean Dorton may be at its start, Jayna is already planning to dive deeper into the cybersecurity field. The path ahead is wide open but she offers some timely advice for undergrads in their final years. “Find someone in your place of work or career that can help you along in the transition. It is not easy to go from a college kid to a full, proper employee at any company. You will have a new life dynamic to figure out and will need someone to support you at work. Also, invest in an underclassman
and share the wisdom you learned in your years. You never know how your experiences will help another student succeed.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish