跳到主要内容

鲍勃迈尔斯:指导的遗产

November 1, 2021 吉姆华纳

服务五十五年 学生人数证明了鲍勃迈尔斯对课堂和路易斯维尔大学的承诺。 管理与创业学副教授见证了商学院从 1970 年代全部门会议上的 200 人发展到今天的 XNUMX 多名教职员工。 六位学院院长在迈尔斯的职业生涯中任职。 他曾担任助理院长、系主任,在众多社区和非营利委员会任职,并激励了几代学生。 一个讲故事的人,一个值得信赖的声音,和无与伦比的慷慨,鲍勃迈尔斯体现了商学院和明天诞生的真正基础——问问任何在他的学习树下度过的人吧。  

Alum Don Snow 是众多受到 Bob Myers 教学启发的人之一。 “鲍勃是真正激励我的导师之一,”退休的 IT 和信息系统专业人士斯诺说。 在军队服役后,斯诺回到学校开始职业生涯。 他在 UofL 攻读学位期间从事全职工作,Bob Myers 对学生和工作的奉献精神一直伴随 Snow 进入他的职业生涯。 “我仍然记得 [Bob] 对工作和看到我们成功的热情。 [我觉得]他了解我来自[平衡学校]的年轻家庭和工作。”

从导师到奖学金

迈尔斯的指导和智慧对斯诺来说意义重大,以至于他被感动去尊重他的遗产和工作。 本着为有需要的人提供机会的精神,唐·斯诺以鲍勃·迈尔斯的名义设立了奖学金。 奖学金将颁发给表现出经济需求的新生——优先提供给女学生。 这些资金将留在学生身上,直到他们从商学院毕业。 “我的妻子卡罗琳和我谈到了建立这项捐赠基金对我们意味着什么,”斯诺说。 除了向迈尔斯教授致敬并为即将到来的学生提供机会之外,斯诺家族还将其视为与他人联系的机会。 “我希望 [校友] 将与我们一起发展这一捐赠。”

这份礼物体现了学院核心的良性循环。 这是迈尔斯改善周围人生活的动力的代名词。 虽然斯诺慷慨的奖学金充分说明了鲍勃迈尔斯对他的生活的影响,但斯诺只是前学生(更不用说专业同龄人)的合唱团之一,他们也有类似的看法——他们的生活随着时间的推移而变得更好、更完整在鲍勃迈尔斯面前度过。

“我们很高兴也很荣幸看到以 Bob Myers 命名的奖学金,”Dean Todd Mooradian 说。 “鲍勃对他的学生和大学的奉献是首屈一指的。 他的持续承诺已经持续了多年,现在将永远持续下去。 教师有能力改善学生的生活。 鲍勃迈尔斯是这一伟大努力的见证。 事实上,我相信鲍勃是一位通过学生的生活影响世界的充满激情的老师的缩影。”

从奖学金到遗产

对于鲍勃来说,荣誉并没有消失在他身上; 然而,他很快就会向别人表扬和赞扬。 对他来说真正重要的是建立的联系和共享的对话。 这些因素是他在 UofL 长寿的关键。 “在我在这里的这些年里,我真的很感谢我结交的朋友,以及 [与我] 保持联系的学生。” 他的墙上和钱包里都塞满了学生的照片和笔记,这些照片和笔记来自学习过课程的学生。 有订婚笔记,来自前助理、明星运动员和 CEO 的信息——同时延长和缩短时间的通信。 共同的格言是感恩。 “我教过 26 门不同的课程,为 140 家不同的公司举办过研讨会; 能够做所有这些我喜欢的事情是一种荣幸。”

支持鲍勃迈尔斯捐赠基金
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Bob Myers: A Legacy of Mentorship

November 1, 2021 Jim Warner

Fifty-five years in the service of students is a testament to Bob Myers’ commitment to both the classroom and the University of Louisville. The Associate Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship has seen the College of Business grow from thirteen people at their unit-wide meeting in the 1970s to over 200 faculty and staff today. Six College deans have served terms during Myers’ career. He has been an assistant dean, a department chair, served on numerous community and nonprofit boards, and inspired generations of students. A storyteller, a trusted voice, and generous beyond measure, Bob Myers embodies the College of Business and a true foundation that tomorrows are born from—just ask anyone who has spent time under his learning tree.  

Alum Don Snow is one of the many who was inspired by Bob Myers’ teaching. “Bob was one of those instructors who truly motivated me,” says Snow, a retired IT and information systems professional. After serving in the Army, Snow had come back to school to build a career. He was working full-time while earning his degree at UofL, and Bob Myers’ dedication to both students and the work has stayed with Snow well into his professional career. “I still remember the enthusiasm [Bob] had for the work and to see us succeed. [I felt like] he understood where I was coming from [balancing school] with a young family and a job.”

From Mentorship to Scholarship

Myers’ mentorship and wisdom meant so much to Snow that he was moved to honor his legacy and work. In the spirit of providing opportunities to those in need, Don Snow has established a scholarship in Bob Myers’ name. The scholarship will go to an incoming freshman demonstrating financial need—offered with preference to a female student. These funds will stay with the student until they graduate from the College of Business. “My wife Carolyn and I talked about what establishing this endowment meant to us,” says Snow. Beyond honoring Professor Myers and providing an opportunity to an incoming student, the Snow family saw it as an opportunity to connect with others. “I hope [fellow alumni] will join us in growing this endowment.”

This gift speaks to the virtuous cycle that is at the heart of the College. It is synonymous with Myers’ drive to better the lives of those around him. While Snow’s generous scholarship speaks volumes to how Bob Myers has touched his life, Snow is just one of a choir of former students (not to mention professional peers) who echo a similar refrain—their lives in total were made better and more whole by time spent in Bob Myers’ presence.

“We are excited and honored to see a scholarship named for Bob Myers,” says Dean Todd Mooradian. “Bob’s dedication to his students and the University is second to none. His ongoing commitment has lasted for years and will now last in perpetuity. Faculty have the ability to change the lives of students for the better. Bob Myers is a testimony to that great endeavor. In fact, I believe Bob is the epitome of a passionate teacher impacting the world through the lives of students.”

From Scholarship to Legacy

For Bob, the accolades are not lost on him; however, he is quick to offer praise and credit to others. What really matters to him is the connections made and conversations shared. These elements are the keys to his longevity at UofL. “In all my years here, I’m truly grateful for the friends I’ve made, and the students who have kept in touch [with me].” His walls and wallet are packed with pictures and notes from students who have carried lessons learned. There are engagement notes, messages from former assistants, star athletes, and CEOs—correspondences stretching and shortening time all at once. The common refrain is gratitude. “I’ve taught 26 different courses, done workshops for 140 different companies; it has been a privilege to do all these things that I enjoy.”

Support the Bob Myers Endowment
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish