跳到主要内容

明天解密

1年2021月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
UofL 独联体校友 Jayna Newcomer 爆头

Janya Newcomer 是技术服务专家 迪恩·多顿. Woodford R. Porter Scholar 于 2020 年 XNUMX 月以优异成绩毕业。虽然 Janya 进入了大流行中心的就业市场,但她在学院的 CIS 教育和经验为她的成功做好了准备。 我们与 Janya 坐下来回顾她在 UofL 的时光。

您完成了工商管理学士学位,专注于 计算机信息系统 在 2020 年,您能告诉我们您毕业后的职业发展情况吗? 

我在 COVID-19 大流行开始时完成了我的学位,因此我的职业生涯受到了这一事实的影响。 在 UofL 的最后一年,我找到了一份利用我所有学位途径的工作,让我可以测试我的知识。 该公司最近被收购,但是,我仍然可以使用我从 UofL(信息安全、业务流程管理和 Web 开发)获得的所有三个学位为美国各地的许多客户提供服务。 我目前在 Dean Dorton 担任技术服务专家。 在该职位下,我是系统管理员、顾问、项目经理和开发人员。 我有深入这些领域的知识,因为在 CIS 计划下获得三重专业是多么容易。

您的 CIS 学位和在学院的时间如何为您从事技术服务职业做好准备?

我的 CIS 学位让我对技术工作的商业方面有了清晰的了解。 不是所有的编码和服务器室,而是大量的文书工作、电子邮件和谈判。 在咨询工作中,我必须以提案的形式展示我的知识,其中还加入了大量法律语言。 了解经济学、市场营销以及如何将技术用外行人的话说,对于完成我的领域中超出基础工作的任何事情都是非常宝贵的。

你为什么决定就读商学院? 告诉我们一个突出的经历或一个激励您从事技术职业的人。

我决定就读商学院,因为我想从商业角度理解技术,这样我就可以对我与之交互的技术产生影响,而不仅仅是编码或管理系统。 我父亲本人从事技术工作,这激励我追求技术职业。 他总是用最新的小工具装满房子,并花时间解释(以我的水平)每项技术或软件的作用以及它是如何做到的。 通过多年与他谈论他的工作(他戴过所有可能的 IT 帽子,今天登陆 CTO)和我们周围的世界,我发现我可以对世界产生的最大影响将是在技术领域工作——它是在我们的现代世界中将一切联系在一起的线。

您如何看待您的职业生涯在未来几年的发展? 你接下来要做什么?

在接下来的几年里,我计划深入研究网络安全领域。 我以前的公司最近被 Dean Dorton 收购,这为我提供了新的成长机会,可以真正开始在我选择的任何方向发展我的职业生涯。

作为一名应届毕业生,您对本科最后一年的学生有什么建议?

在您的工作场所或职业中寻找可以帮助您完成过渡的人。 从大学生到任何公司的正式员工都不容易。 您将有新的生活动力需要弄清楚,并且需要有人在工作中支持您。 不要害怕为你认为自己有价值的东西进行谈判,甚至更多。 另外,投资一个低年级学生,分享你多年来学到的智慧。 你永远不知道你的经历将如何帮助另一个学生取得成功。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Uncoding Tomorrow

November 1, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
UofL CIS alum Jayna Newcomer headshot

Janya Newcomer is a Technology Services Specialist at Dean Dorton. The Woodford R. Porter Scholar graduated Cum Laude with honors in May of 2020. While Janya entered the job market in the heart of the pandemic, her CIS education and experiences at the College prepared her for success. We sat down with Janya as she reflected on her time at UofL.

You completed your BA in Business Administration with a concentration in Computer Information Systems in 2020.  Can you tell us how your career is going since you graduated? 

I completed my degree at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic so my entrance to my career is skewed by that fact. During my final year at UofL, I was able to secure a job that utilized all my degree paths and let me put my knowledge to the test. That company recently got acquired, however, I am still able to use all three of the degrees that I earned from UofL (Information Security, Business Process Management, and Web Development) to service many clients around the United States. I am currently working at Dean Dorton as a Technology Services Specialist. Under that job title, I am a system administrator, a consultant, a project manager, and a developer. I have the knowledge to dive into these areas because of how easy it was to triple major under the CIS program.

How did your CIS degree and time at the College prepare you for a career in technology services?

My CIS degree gave me a clear understanding of the business side of working in technology. It is not all coding and server rooms but a lot of paperwork, email, and negotiation. Working in consulting, I have to present my knowledge in the form of a proposal with much legal language thrown in, too. Knowing economics, marketing, and how to put technology into layman’s terms is invaluable to completing anything in my field beyond groundwork.

Why did you decide to attend the College of Business? Tell us about an experience that stands out or a person who inspired you to pursue a career in technology.

I decided to attend the College of Business because I wanted to understand technology from a business perspective so that I could make a difference with the technology I interacted with and not just code or manage systems. Being in technology himself, my father inspired me to pursue a career in technology. He always filled the house with the newest gadgets and took time to explain (at my level) what each piece of technology or software did and how it did it. Through years of talking with him about his work (he has worn every IT hat possible, landing at CTO today) and the world around us, I figured out that the biggest impact I could have on the world would be working in technology – it is the thread that holds everything together in our modern world.

How do you see your professional career evolving over the next few years? What’s next for you?

Over the next few years, I plan to dive deeper into the cybersecurity field. My former company recently got acquired by Dean Dorton and this has opened me to new growth opportunities to really start growing my career in any direction that I choose.

As a recent graduate, what advice do you have for students in their final year of undergrad?

Find someone in your place of work or career that can help you along in the transition. It is not easy to go from a college kid to a full, proper employee at any company. You will have a new life dynamic to figure out and will need someone to support you at work. Do not be afraid to negotiate for what you believe you are worth, or even more. Also, invest in an underclassman and share the wisdom you learned in your years. You never know how your experiences will help another student succeed.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish