跳到主要内容

万事通
商学硕士

25年2021月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
天台Charasika驻地企业家

今年一月,路易斯维尔大学宣布聘请Tendai Charasika作为研究与创新办公室的驻地企业家(EIR),他将负责将UofL与行业和初创企业联系起来。 除了担任这一新职务外,Charasika目前还担任Saling Wealth Advisors的首席战略官(CSO),因为金融行业在技术日新月异的情况下不断发展。 管理多个职责是Charasika在获得其第一学位时磨练的一项技能。


Charasika在UofL工作的时间始于1996年,当时他在JB Speed工程学院攻读了本科学位。 在获得化学工程学学士学位的过程中,他在UofL足球队效力了三年,作为起点和回头信赢得了胜利。


兼顾教育和足球这两个主要职责,为Charasika提供了宝贵的机会,可以学习如何确定最重要的事情的优先级,并知道何时为成功而牺牲。


“我必须迅速成熟,以学习如何安排自己的一天,优先考虑要完成的事情和时间,并牺牲不做我看到其他学生喜欢的事情。 这些特质等等……我已经以一种或另一种方式融入了我所参与的每个工作环境。”


Charasika于2003年完成了大学学士学位,并在美国陆军工程兵团担任环境工程师,开始在平民队伍中工作了将近四年。 他在此积累了经验,转向了萨米特能源服务(Summit Energy Services)。 在学习了大约六个月的能源行业之后,他被聘为帮助领导其可持续发展服务部的第一人。 他在那里度过了十年的美好时光,提高了技能并发现了对业务的热情。 时机成熟时,Charasika通过寻求植根于企业家精神的新企业来寻求职业转变。 对于他来说,这次转换是一个探索和改善他的家乡商业环境的机会,同时也可以发展家庭关系。 “我的父母都是企业家,所以你可以说企业家精神在我的体内,” Charasika说。


Charasika返回大学并于2009年获得商业学院的工商管理硕士学位。完成学位后,自称为“万事通,商业大师”的职业生涯又迈出了一大步,加入了大路易斯维尔公司(Greater Louisville Inc.),肯塔基州商业化与创新办公室的分支机构创新与商业化中心(ICC)主任。 对于Charasika而言,转变不是要离开一个职业领域去寻找另一个职业领域。 取而代之的是,他利用自己的丰富经验为当地经济造福。


“我很高兴我妈妈鼓励我接受获得化学工程学位的挑战……。在我看来,我从未从工程学过渡过来,我只是将自己开发的技能运用到了开,建和运营业务中。” Charasika在ICC的职位上表现出色,在那里他通过指导,将企业家与资源联系起来,并通过寻找可靠的资金和必要的增长资源来使他们长期成长来指导基于技术的初创公司走向成功。 在担任该职位的两年中,他脱颖而出,并在GLI担任企业事业部EnterpriseCorp的执行董事一年。


自2014年以来,Charasika凭借自己的经验和技能,以结果为导向的领导才能进一步发挥自己的激情和才华。 在Saling Wealth Advisors任职之前,他曾在移动应用程序公司SuperFanU担任了五年的首席执行官,负责监督其发展成为价值一百万美元的公司并改善为创新的粉丝敬业度/体育行业提供的服务。


拥有如此丰富而丰富的专业历史,Charasika随时准备迎接UofL最新的EIR迎接创新和行业挑战。 “我热爱业务,并继续每天学习和实践业务。 我的工程背景教会了我要点,要多才多艺。 EIR职位将使我能够利用我广泛的经验和网络来帮助大学内部和外部的[利用关系]。


除了最近的EIR职位外,Charasika目前还是商学院顾问委员会的成员。 作为MBA计划的产物,他知道他的角色可能会对学生产生影响。 通过鼓励其他人加入该学院,他知道,所有人的共同努力可以使我们每个人都变得更好。
“我曾在多个行业工作,对当今学生应该了解并受其训练的哪些技能是相关的和重要的想法有所了解。其他人可以通过某种方式……与[学院]建立伙伴关系,无论是通过雇用一个学生或允许学生完成贵公司的最高项目。 当我们的学院蓬勃发展时,我们的学生将会蓬勃发展,最后,他们将帮助我们的社区蓬勃发展。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Jack of all Trades
Master of Business

March 25, 2021 Ali Pfeiffer
Tendai Charasika Entrepreneur-in-Residence

This past January, the University of Louisville announced the hiring of Tendai Charasika as an entrepreneur-in-residence (EIR) with the Office of Research and Innovation, where he will be responsible for connecting UofL with industry and startups. In addition to this new role, Charasika currently works as chief strategy officer (CSO) for Saling Wealth Advisors as the financial industry evolves in the face of rapidly changing technology. Managing multiple responsibilities is a skill Charasika honed while obtaining his first degree.


Charasika’s time with UofL started in 1996 when he began his undergraduate degree with the J.B. Speed School of Engineering. While working towards a Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, he played on the UofL football team for three years as a starting and letter winning running back.


Juggling two major responsibilities, education and football, gave Charasika the valuable opportunity to learn how to prioritize what is most important and know when to make sacrifices in order to succeed.


“I had to mature quickly to learn how to organize my day, prioritize what I was going to accomplish and when, and sacrifice not doing some of the things I saw other students enjoying. These attributes, amongst others…I have infused in every work environment I have been a part of in one way or another.”


Charasika completed his undergraduate degree in 2003 and began working in the civilian ranks for nearly four years with the United States Army Corps of Engineers as an environmental engineer. He built upon his experience there with a move to Summit Energy Services. After about six months learning the energy industry, he was hired as the first person to help lead their Sustainability Services Division. He spent the better part of a decade there, refining skills and discovering a passion for business. When the time came, Charasika sought career change by pursuing new ventures rooted in entrepreneurship. For him, the switch was an opportunity to explore and improve the business landscape in his hometown, while also tapping into family ties. “Both of my parents are entrepreneurs, so you could say entrepreneurship is in my DNA,” Charasika says.


Charasika returned to the University and earned an Entrepreneurship MBA from the College of Business in 2009. After completing his degree, the self-proclaimed “jack of all trades, master of business” made his next big career leap, joining Greater Louisville Inc. as director of the Innovation and Commercialization Center (ICC), a branch of the Kentucky Office of Commercialization and Innovation. For Charasika, the switch was not about leaving one career field for another; instead, he was capitalizing on his myriad experiences for the benefit of the local economy.


“I am thankful that my mom encouraged me to accept the challenge of earning a chemical engineering degree….In my mind, I never transitioned from engineering, I just applied the skills I developed…to starting, building, and operating businesses.” Charasika excelled in his position at ICC, where his time was spent guiding technology based start-ups to success through coaching, connecting entrepreneurs to resources, and setting them up to thrive long-term by finding secure funding and the necessary resources for growth. His two years in the role took him to the top, where he served GLI as executive director in the entrepreneurship division, EnterpriseCorp, for a year.


Since 2014, Charasika has accelerated his passions and talents further, building upon his experience and putting his skills with results-oriented leadership to use. Prior to his time with Saling Wealth Advisors, he spent five years with mobile app company SuperFanU as chief executive officer, overseeing its growth to a million-dollar company and improving services for the innovative fan-engagement/sports industry.


With such an extensive and storied professional history, Charasika is ready to meet challenges head-on in innovation and industry as UofL’s latest EIR. “I love business and continue to both study it and practice it every day. My engineering background taught me to connect the dots and be resourceful. The EIR position will allow me to leverage my wide range of experiences and network to help [leverage connections], inside and outside the University.”


In addition to the recent EIR position, Charasika currently serves on the Board of Advisors for the College of Business. As a product of the MBA program, he knows the impact his role can have on students. By encouraging others to get involved with the College, he knows that a combined effort from all can empower each of us to emerge better.
“Having worked in a variety of industries, [I have] an idea of what skills are relevant and important today that our students should be aware of and trained in. Others can…partner with the [College] in some way, whether by employing a student or allowing students to complete a capstone project for your company. When our College flourishes, our students will flourish and, in the end, they are the generation that will help our community flourish.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian