跳到主要内容

进取的对话

7年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
UofL自由企业中心的斯蒂芬·高曼(Stephan Gohmann)在阳光明媚的下午站在弗雷泽大厅的中庭。

在高等教育世界中,对知识的追求只是图片的一半。 学习成功的制度的真正衡量标准不仅在于获得知识,还在于渗透其中的话语和对话。 这次对话还推动了自由企业中心在商学院的探索使命。

自由企业中心希望通过引人入胜的计划吸引整个大学,这可能会吸引商学院内外的学生,教职员工和教职员工。 “暴露于不同的观点,信念和讨论会增加学生的体验深度,”该中心市场与活动经理Donna Clark说。 “当他们走出职场时,这些学生会接受各种思维过程,并发展了他们的批判性思维能力。”

对于克拉克和中心主任史蒂芬·高曼(Stephan F. Gohmann)而言,合作一直是扩大中心演讲者系列观众的核心。 “我认为,当中心与移民部的哲学部门合作,或讨论有关向大学运动员付款的讨论时,人们会感到惊讶。”在过去的一年中,CFE与众多部门合作,包括田径,法学院和泛非研究。

“乍一看,我们举办的某些活动似乎不在中心的范围之内,”克拉克说。 “但是,作为商学院经济系的一部分,我们研究企业,经济自由,企业家精神,您可以追踪到这些对世界上大多数事情的影响。”

去年秋天,该中心与音乐学院合作,带来了音乐家和作家Rob Kapilow的演讲 所有您需要做的就是听 来到康斯托克音乐厅,将互动表演和演讲融为一体。 “罗布谈到在领导力,关系,业务发展中倾听可能性的重要性。 聆听是一个感动房间中每个人的话题。”这就是聆听的方面,它为理解和进行富有成效的对话提供了机会。

此外,经济学本身就是一门社会科学,是对决策及其意外后果的研究。 它是一门广泛的学科,可应用于包括健康,教育,移民等更多主题。 这些基本考虑部分是为什么Gohmann总是鼓励学生将该课程视为该领域的主要课程,或者至少是未成年人课程。

春季活动日历正在逐步成形,以继续扩大其受众范围。 2020年BB&T演讲者系列的特刊作者James Otteson博士 荣誉企业公正人文社会中的企业框架。 该中心还将涵盖的其他主题包括与普利策提名的作家克利夫顿·陶伯特(Clifton Taulbert)的黑人历史月以及有关学校选择主题的小组讨论。

Donna希望演讲者系列会在一个日益分化的世界中继续提供对话和民间话语的空间。 “最后,这与您所关注的问题无关。 关键在于拥有足够的信息来做出明智的决定或意见。” Clark说。 “我们致力于提供平衡的信息。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Inspire Conversation

November 7, 2019 Jim Warner
Stephan Gohmann of the Center for Free Enterprise at UofL standing out in the atrium of Fraizer Hall on a sunny afternoon.

In the world of higher education, the pursuit of knowledge is only half the picture. The true measure of an institution for learning’s success comes from not only attaining knowledge but the discourse and conversation which permeates it. That conversation also serves as a driver of the Center for Free Enterprise’s mission of exploration at the College of Business.

The Center for Free Enterprise looks to engage the university at large with compelling programming — potentially reaching students, staff, and faculty within and beyond the College of Business. “Exposure to differing opinions, beliefs, and discussions adds to the depth of a student’s experience,” says Donna Clark, Marketing and Events Manager for the Center. “When they get out in the working world, these students are open to a variety of thought processes and have developed their critical thinking skills.”

For Clark and Center director Stephan F. Gohmann, collaboration has been at the heart of extending the audience at the Center’s speaker series. “I think people are surprised when the Center collaborates, with say, the Philosophy department on an immigration event, or a discussion on paying college athletes.” In the past year, the CFE has partnered with a vast range of departments, including Athletics, the Law School, and Pan African Studies.

“At first blush, it may seem like some of the events we host aren’t within the scope of the Center,” says Clark. “But as part of the Economics Department in the College of Business, we study enterprise, economic freedom, entrepreneurship, and you can trace the impact of those to most anything happening in the world.”

This past fall, the Center worked with the School of Music, bringing musician and author Rob Kapilow’s presentation All You Have to Do is Listen to the Comstock Concert Hall for an engaging blend of interactive performance and lecture. “Rob spoke about the importance of listening for possibility, in leadership, in relationships, in business development. Listening is a topic that touches everyone in the room.” It’s that aspect of listening, which provides an opportunity for understanding and productive conversation.

Further, Economics is itself a social science—a study of decision-making and its unintended consequences. It is a broad discipline with applications in a wide variety of topics, including health, education, immigration and more. Those fundamental considerations are, in part, why Gohmann always encourages students to consider the program as a major, or at the very least, a minor in the field.

The spring event calendar is shaping up to continue widening the scope of its audience. The 2020 BB&T Speaker Series features Dr. James Otteson, author of Honorable Business A Framework for Business in a Just and Humane Society. Additional topics the Center will cover include Black History Month with Pulitzer-nominated author Clifton Taulbert and a panel discussion on the subject of school choice.

Donna hopes the speaker series will continue to provide a space for conversation and civil discourse in an increasingly polarized world. “In the end, it isn’t about which side of an issue you fall on. It’s more about having enough information to make an informed decision or opinion,” says Clark. “We are committed to providing balanced information.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian