Direkt zum Inhalt

Unternehmungslustiges Gespräch

7. November 2019 Jim Warner
Stephan Gohmann vom Center for Free Enterprise bei UofL im Atrium der Fraizer Hall an einem sonnigen Nachmittag.

In der Welt der Hochschulbildung ist das Streben nach Wissen nur die Hälfte des Ganzen. Das wahre Maß für den Erfolg einer Institution für das Lernen ist nicht nur das Erlangen von Wissen, sondern auch der Diskurs und die Konversation, die es durchdringen. Dieses Gespräch dient auch als Treiber für die Forschungsmission des Center for Free Enterprise am College of Business.

Das Center for Free Enterprise möchte die Universität mit überzeugendem Programmangebot einbeziehen, das potenziell Studenten, Mitarbeiter und Fakultäten innerhalb und außerhalb des College of Business erreichen kann. „Unterschiedliche Meinungen, Überzeugungen und Diskussionen tragen zur Tiefe der Erfahrungen eines Studenten bei“, sagt Donna Clark, Marketing- und Veranstaltungsmanagerin des Zentrums. „Wenn sie in die Arbeitswelt eintreten, sind diese Studenten offen für eine Vielzahl von Denkprozessen und haben ihre Fähigkeiten zum kritischen Denken entwickelt.“

Für Clark und den Center-Direktor Stephan F. Gohmann stand die Zusammenarbeit im Mittelpunkt der Erweiterung des Publikums bei den Vortragsreihen des Centers. „Ich denke, die Leute sind überrascht, wenn das Zentrum beispielsweise mit der Abteilung Philosophie bei einem Einwanderungsereignis oder einer Diskussion über die Bezahlung von Hochschulsportlern zusammenarbeitet.“ Im vergangenen Jahr hat das CFE mit einer Vielzahl von Abteilungen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Leichtathletik, die Law School und Pan African Studies.

"Auf den ersten Blick sieht es so aus, als ob einige der Veranstaltungen, die wir veranstalten, nicht im Rahmen des Zentrums liegen", sagt Clark. "Aber als Teil der Wirtschaftsabteilung des College of Business untersuchen wir Unternehmen, wirtschaftliche Freiheit und Unternehmertum, und Sie können deren Auswirkungen auf fast alles auf der Welt nachvollziehen."

Im vergangenen Herbst arbeitete das Zentrum mit der Musikschule zusammen und brachte die Präsentation des Musikers und Autors Rob Kapilow mit Alles was Sie tun müssen, ist zuzuhören in der Comstock Concert Hall für eine ansprechende Mischung aus interaktiver Performance und Vortrag. „Rob sprach darüber, wie wichtig es ist, auf Möglichkeiten zu hören, in Führungspositionen, in Beziehungen, bei der Geschäftsentwicklung. Zuhören ist ein Thema, das jeden im Raum berührt. “Es ist dieser Aspekt des Zuhörens, der Gelegenheit zum Verständnis und zu produktiven Gesprächen bietet.

Further, Economics is itself a social science—a study of decision-making and its unintended consequences. It is a broad discipline with applications in a wide variety of topics, including health, education, immigration and more. Those fundamental considerations are, in part, why Gohmann always encourages students to consider the program as a major, or at the very least, a minor in the field.

The spring event calendar is shaping up to continue widening the scope of its audience. The 2020 BB&T Speaker Series features Dr. James Otteson, author of Honourable Business Ein Rahmen für Unternehmen in einer gerechten und humanen Gesellschaft. Weitere Themen des Zentrums sind der Black History Month mit dem von Pulitzer nominierten Autor Clifton Taulbert und eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema Schulwahl.

Donna hofft, dass die Vortragsreihe in einer zunehmend polarisierten Welt weiterhin Raum für Gespräche und zivilen Diskurs bietet. „Letztendlich geht es nicht darum, auf welche Seite eines Problems Sie fallen. Es geht mehr darum, genügend Informationen zu haben, um eine fundierte Entscheidung oder Meinung zu treffen “, sagt Clark. "Wir verpflichten uns zu einer ausgewogenen Information."

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Inspire Conversation

November 7, 2019 Jim Warner
Stephan Gohmann of the Center for Free Enterprise at UofL standing out in the atrium of Fraizer Hall on a sunny afternoon.

In the world of higher education, the pursuit of knowledge is only half the picture. The true measure of an institution for learning’s success comes from not only attaining knowledge but the discourse and conversation which permeates it. That conversation also serves as a driver of the Center for Free Enterprise’s mission of exploration at the College of Business.

The Center for Free Enterprise looks to engage the university at large with compelling programming — potentially reaching students, staff, and faculty within and beyond the College of Business. “Exposure to differing opinions, beliefs, and discussions adds to the depth of a student’s experience,” says Donna Clark, Marketing and Events Manager for the Center. “When they get out in the working world, these students are open to a variety of thought processes and have developed their critical thinking skills.”

For Clark and Center director Stephan F. Gohmann, collaboration has been at the heart of extending the audience at the Center’s speaker series. “I think people are surprised when the Center collaborates, with say, the Philosophy department on an immigration event, or a discussion on paying college athletes.” In the past year, the CFE has partnered with a vast range of departments, including Athletics, the Law School, and Pan African Studies.

“At first blush, it may seem like some of the events we host aren’t within the scope of the Center,” says Clark. “But as part of the Economics Department in the College of Business, we study enterprise, economic freedom, entrepreneurship, and you can trace the impact of those to most anything happening in the world.”

This past fall, the Center worked with the School of Music, bringing musician and author Rob Kapilow’s presentation All You Have to Do is Listen to the Comstock Concert Hall for an engaging blend of interactive performance and lecture. “Rob spoke about the importance of listening for possibility, in leadership, in relationships, in business development. Listening is a topic that touches everyone in the room.” It’s that aspect of listening, which provides an opportunity for understanding and productive conversation.

Further, Economics is itself a social science—a study of decision-making and its unintended consequences. It is a broad discipline with applications in a wide variety of topics, including health, education, immigration and more. Those fundamental considerations are, in part, why Gohmann always encourages students to consider the program as a major, or at the very least, a minor in the field.

The spring event calendar is shaping up to continue widening the scope of its audience. The 2020 BB&T Speaker Series features Dr. James Otteson, author of Honorable Business A Framework for Business in a Just and Humane Society. Additional topics the Center will cover include Black History Month with Pulitzer-nominated author Clifton Taulbert and a panel discussion on the subject of school choice.

Donna hopes the speaker series will continue to provide a space for conversation and civil discourse in an increasingly polarized world. “In the end, it isn’t about which side of an issue you fall on. It’s more about having enough information to make an informed decision or opinion,” says Clark. “We are committed to providing balanced information.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian