跳到主要内容

连接社区

7年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
Sunny Dronawat在他的家中和三个国际学生在一起。

并非所有机会都存在于我们社区的尽头。 通常,我们追求卓越的愿望意味着逃脱速度要大于家乡的引力。 当您计算机会更改的不是英里数而是时区时,请放大此风险/奖励; 不是在州和河流,而是在大陆和海洋。 以随身携带一切的想法为交换,以将一切(也许每个人)都抛在后面的想法换掉-想想手提箱而不是Uhaul。 机会就是这样,这个空间不能保证付出努力和牺牲,但潜在的回报是您生活方式的巨大转变。

MBA创业校友Sunny Dronawat,博士。 了解国际学生来到路易斯维尔以推进其教育追求所面临的挑战。 “当我来到这个国家时,我不认识一个人,而国际中心是一个巨大的帮助。 他们派人去机场接我,并用我有限的资源帮助我适应了新的环境。”作为路易斯维尔大学(University of Louisville)的两个学位的明矾,桑尼从一个有抱负的工程系学生(Speed School)成长为联合创始人。 POS on Cloud的首席执行官与他在大学期间为他开启的大门紧密地联系在一起。


尽管他拥有化学工程学位,这为他提供了技术基础,但Sunny的MBA是该学位的理想补充。 “工程学可以教您解决问题的能力,而MBA则可以教您商务的语言,而两者的结合则是通往领导者的简便之路。” Sunny的旅程包括跨各种业务的多产途径-从Samiteion IT Services到West Wind Power到业务合作伙伴Bellweather软件和Guari酒店集团。 Dronawat表示:“我在商学院的时间里,对网络,团队合作和财务模型的学习非常有趣。” 从很多方面来说,企业家精神MBA都是专为这位连续创业者量身定制的,为他提供了建立业务需求的工具。 “我可以为初创企业筹集资金,有效地营销和销售产品,同时建立具有良好文化的组织。”

建立良好的组织文化使Sunny成为包括全国小企业协会,路易斯维尔水务公司,杰斐逊社区和技术学院在内的多个组织的董事会成员。 最近,Sunny已将商业董事会顾问学院添加到这个令人印象深刻的列表中。

“董事会很棒,那里有很多经验,我们希望使我们的商学院成为该国的顶尖学校。 我是董事会的新成员,但我仍在向其他董事会成员学习。” Sunny受Dean Mooradian的邀请加入董事会。 “ [院长]很棒,觉得我可以从学生的经历中为董事会做出贡献; 特别是作为国际学生。”

Sunny的利益和努力很多,但始终是最重要的领域–希望帮助那些在1992来到美国时发现自己和家人的人的地方。 为此,Sunny向商学院的国际人口开放了他的住所(无论是形象上的还是字面上的意思),成为事实上的欢迎之车,并为这些学生提供了与更大的同学,教职员工和人际网络接触的机会商界。

“我希望国际学生感到他们不仅在路易斯维尔在路易斯维尔受到欢迎,不仅在大学而且在社区本身。”

企业家。 导师。 亲善大使。 Sunny Dronawat确实是“路易斯维尔”的“代表”,体现了商学院的独特之处以及其利用海洋涟漪改变生活的能力。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Connect Communities

November 7, 2019 Jim Warner
Sunny Dronawat in his home with three international students.

Not all opportunities reside at the end of our neighborhood. More often than not, our aspirations to excel mean reaching an escape velocity greater than the gravity of hometowns. Amplify this risk/reward when you count a chance to change not in miles but time zones; not in states and rivers, but continents and oceans. Trade the thought of taking everything with you in for the thought of leaving everything (and perhaps everyone) behind—think suitcase instead of Uhaul. Chance is just that, a space where there is no guarantee to effort and sacrifice but the potential payoff is a dramatic paradigm shift in your way of life.

MBA Entrepreneurship alum Sunny Dronawat, PhD. understands the challenges international students face coming to Louisville to advance their educational pursuits. “When I came to this country, I knew no one, and the international center was an immense help. They sent someone to pick me up from the airport and helped me adjust to the new environment with limited resources I had.” As an alum with two degrees from the University of Louisville, Sunny’s rise from aspiring engineering student (at Speed School) to cofounder and CEO of POS on Cloud has been inexorably linked to the doors his time at the University helped him open.


While his degree in chemical engineering gave him the technical grounding, Sunny’s MBA was an ideal complement to the degree. “Engineering teaches you problem-solving and MBA teaches you the language of business and combination of both is an easy path for leadership.” Sunny’s journey includes a prolific path across a variety of businesses—from Samiteion IT Services to West Wind Power to business partnerships Bellweather Software and Guari Hospitality Group. “My time at College of Business was a great learning experience about networking, teamwork, and using financial models,” says Dronawat. In many ways, the MBA in Entrepreneurship was tailor-made for this serial entrepreneur, providing him with the tools to build his business needs. “I could raise money for startups, effectively market and sell products and while building an organization with great culture.”

Building great organizational culture has led Sunny to serve on the board of directors for several organizations including the National Small Business Association, Louisville Water Company, and Jefferson Community and Technical College. Recently, Sunny has added the College of Business Board Advisors to this impressive list.

“The Board is amazing, there is so much experience there and we want to make our business school a top school in the country. I am new to the board and I am still learning from other board members.” Sunny was invited to join the board by Dean Mooradian. “[The Dean] is amazing and felt like I could contribute to the Board from my experiences as a student; especially as an international student.”

Sunny’s interests and endeavors are numerous, but one area that has always been at the forefront — a desire to help those who find themselves where he and his family did when they came stateside in 1992. To this effect, Sunny has opened his home (both figuratively and literally) to the College of Business’ international population, serving as a de facto welcome wagon, and providing opportunities for these students to meet fellow classmates, faculty, and network with the larger business community. 

 “I want the international students to feel that they are welcome here in Louisville not only in the University but in the community itself.”

Entrepreneur. Mentor. Ambassador of goodwill. Sunny Dronawat is truly “of Louisville” and embodies the College of Business’ points of distinction and its capacity to change lives with ocean-size ripples.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian