跳到主要内容

寻找立足点

7年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
UofL学生梅根·穆图

Meagan Moutoux首先是一位舞者。 无论职务,市场营销学位或社交媒体上的状态更新如何,有关她的一切都与节奏和动作产生共鸣。 两年后,舞蹈激发了她转到UofL的麻烦,加入了瓢虫乐队并与她以前的舞蹈教练团聚。 “这不仅仅是我要做的事情,舞蹈是我本人的一部分。”

梅根(Meagan)在商学院期间,将对舞蹈的热情转化为成功的社区拓展项目。 事实证明,该项目是在专业领域找到立足之本的第一步-在工作室和办公室之间架起一座桥梁。

去年秋天,Meagan与助理教授Jenna Haugen博士一起参加了MGMT 490。 该课程的特色是社区服务,学生可以直接与当地的非营利组织合作。 “与翅膀共舞是我的第一选择。” Meagan说:“我以前从未与非营利组织合作过,但是[与翅膀共舞]给我留下了深刻的印象,以至于我知道我想与他们合作。”

Dreams With Wings为有智力/发育障碍和自闭症的人提供服务,为Louisville地区的300个人提供服务。 在梅根(Meagan)的《带翅膀的梦想》(Dreams With Wings)期间,她与客户进行了各种活动,最终编排了舞蹈节目,以居民和梅根的瓢虫队友为特色。 “起初,要让人们参与是一个真正的挑战,但是一旦客户知道他们将成为Jack O'Lantern Stroll [带翅膀的梦想签名活动]的一部分,每个人都会感到兴奋。”

她在“带翅膀的梦想”中成功的MGMT 490项目使Meagan毕业后继续与他们合作。 “我兼职加入了Dreams With Wings,并帮助改造了他们的网站和社交媒体。 我还为他们写了一些资助计划。”最近,梅根(Megan)加入iHeartRadio,担任数字策略师。 仍然是她在“有翅膀的梦想”和学院中的经历,这为她提供了获得新职位所需的经验。

“如果不是针对商学院的教授和人员,我现在的职位(无论是工作还是个人)都不会。 我觉得我可以应付自己所遇到的任何问题。 ”

梅根(Meagan)也已经开始教授舞蹈课。 “现在,我在Rainbow Dance Academy执教Tiny Tots团队和迷你爵士团队。 我在“有翅膀的梦想”中度过的时光帮助我意识到了我一生中需要跳舞的时间……当我走进那些工作室的门,看到那些面孔时,我在想的就是对这些女孩产生影响,以便他们能够爱跳舞。”

将艺术融入自己的生活可能是一个挑战,但是当与目标感无可避免地联系在一起时,牺牲就消散了,以得到回报。 对于梅根(Meagan)来说,如果不是她的管理阶层,那么这样的启示就不会变得显而易见。 “能够与非营利组织合作是我从未想到的事情,它彻底改变了我的生活。 豪根博士让我有机会与《有翅膀的梦想》合作,我感到非常高兴。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Find a Foothold

November 7, 2019 Jim Warner
UofL student Megan Moutoux

Meagan Moutoux is a dancer, first and foremost. Regardless of the job title, her Marketing degree, or a status update on social media, everything about her resonates with rhythm and movement. Dance inspired her transfer to UofL after two years away, joining the Ladybirds and reuniting with her former dance coaches. “It is more than something I just do—dance is a part of who I am.”

Meagan translated her passion for dance into a successful community outreach project during her time at the College of Business. The project proved to be the first step in discovering her footing in the professional world—building a bridge between the studio and the office.  

Last fall, Meagan took MGMT 490 with Assistant Professor Jenna Haugen, Ph.D. The course features a community service component where students work directly with area nonprofits. “Dreams with Wings was my number one choice.” Meagan says, “I had never worked with a nonprofit before but was so impressed by [Dreams with Wings] that I knew I wanted to work with them.”

Empowering individuals with intellectual/developmental disabilities and autism, Dreams With Wings serves over 300 individuals in the Louisville area. During Meagan’s time at Dreams With Wings, she engaged the clients with a variety of activities, culminating in a choreographed dance routine featuring the residents and Meagan’s Ladybird teammates. “At first it was a real challenge to get people to participate, but once the clients knew they were going to be a part of the Jack O’Lantern Stroll [a Dreams With Wings signature event], everyone got excited.”

Her successful MGMT 490 project at Dreams With Wings led to Meagan continuing to work with them after her graduation. “I joined Dreams With Wings part-time and helped revamp their website and social media. I also wrote several grant proposals for them.” Recently, Megan joined iHeartRadio as a Digital Strategist. Still, it was her experiences at Dreams With Wings and the College, which gave her the experience she needed to land her new position.

“I wouldn’t be in the position I am now—job-wise or person-wise—if it weren’t for the professors and people at the College of Business. I feel like I can handle anything thrown my way. ”

Meagan has also begun teaching dance classes. “I coach a Tiny Tots team and a mini-Jazz team now at Rainbow Dance Academy. My time at Dreams With Wings helped me realize how much I need to keep dance in my life… When I walk through those studio doors and see those faces, all I’m thinking about is making an impact on these girls so that they’ll love dance.”

Incorporating art into the flow of one’s life can be a challenge, but when inexorably linked to a sense of purpose, sacrifice melts away to reward. For Meagan, such a revelation would not have been made tangible if it were not for her Management class. “Being able to work with a nonprofit was something I never expected to do and it changed my life completely. I am so glad that Dr. Haugen gave me the chance to work with Dreams with Wings.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian