跳到主要内容

实习生倡导者

April 1, 2022 吉姆华纳
Katie Jo Glesing 坐在户外,背景是 Ekstrom 图书馆。

研究生实习 顾问 Katie Jo Glesing 在过去十年中从事的工作数量令人印象深刻。 从与珍奇动物打交道到成为法庭记者,再到担任殡葬学院的招生官,凯蒂的简历和她从工作经历中分享的故事一样有趣。 “当我在美国中部殡葬服务学院工作时,我必须了解一些关于太平间科学实习的背景知识,”凯蒂乔说。 当有机会加入学院时,她抓住了机会。 “实习听起来很合适。”

在她与学院的角色中,Katie Jo 充当了企业和学生之间的联络人。 虽然 Katie Jo 不会直接将学生安排在实习中,但她会帮助学生找到可靠的机会。 她还为实习生提供有关学生和雇主之间担忧的资源。 在很多方面,对广泛的职业进行抽样,使她成为实习生的理想顾问——当谈到她的实习生可能经历的事情时,没有什么新奇或令人震惊的。

从这一系列的专业经验中,凯蒂·乔学到的最重要的收获之一就是宣传的重要性。 探索、理解并最终寻求工作中需要的支持可能不是职业发展中最先想到的专业技能之一。 对于凯蒂·乔来说,倡导直接源于被诊断出患有 Ehlers Danlos 综合征 (EDS)。

看不见的疾病变得可见

EDS 是一组主要影响结缔组织的遗传性疾病。 目前公认的 EDS 有 13 种子类型。 Katie Jo 患有 Hypermobile EDS,他解释说:“基本上,我的大多数关节经常脱臼,导致偏头痛和昏厥等反应,这些反应只是使人丧失能力。” 最终,她在明尼苏达州罗切斯特的梅奥诊所花了两周时间才得到诊断。

“在我最初的几份工作中,我不知道自己有什么残疾。 我直到 26 岁才发现自己拥有什么,所以我遇到了问题。” 此外,由于 EDS 是一种看不见的疾病——一种可能不可见或不存在外部症状的疾病,因此与雇主有关的这些问题变得更具挑战性。 那些患有无形疾病的人经常因他们的名字而遭受歧视和社会偏见。 这种能力主义的范围可以从公共场所缺乏可访问性到关于他们的残疾的侵入性问题。

从诊断到倡导

“我知道 [在 UofL] 的一些人可能已经注意到我有一张无障碍停车证,并且可能已经走了,‘嗯。 她看起来很正常; 为什么她有那个? 这是因为我的臀部、膝盖和脚踝经常脱臼或半脱位,这会导致走路困难。” Katie Jo 在她的办公室里有几个方便使用的设备,包括手杖、鞋垫、颈托和多达 16 种不同的牙套——所有这些都可以让 Katie Jo 完成她的工作。 “我的首饰是牙套,”凯蒂乔补充道。 “我的手指变形了……这会使打字变得更加困难。 我以前肯定有人评论过我的‘丑戒指’,但不知道它们是牙套。” 

在她确诊后的三年里,凯蒂乔的经历帮助她在工作场所发出了声音——无论是为自己还是为他人辩护。 “我明白,从雇主的角度来看,雇主不能直接问你是否残疾。 他们不能说“你怎么了?” 但您可以自愿披露以获得您可能需要的帮助。” 谨记,Katie Jo 也不会直接询问学生他们的可能条件或住宿需求。 “我通常喜欢在我们的调查中留下一个开放式问题:我们还应该了解关于你的其他信息以帮助你完成实习过程吗?” 虽然 Katie Jo 没有直接与雇主沟通住宿需求,但她确实提供了实习生策略和支持,让他们自己参与对话。 “我真的很高兴知道我们对社区产生了影响。”

所有人的无障碍

今年秋天,Katie Jo 的旅程仍在继续,她在学院开始了在线 MBA 课程,并探索了创办 UofL 超自然现象研究小组的愿望。 追求这些激情已经形成了一条引人注目的职业道路。 不管接下来会发生什么,她的倡导意识将引领潮流。

“如果我们能够让一代人进入劳动力市场,他们了解合理的住宿条件,而且不是每个人都拥有相同的身体,这将通过提高工作保障来极大地造福当地劳动力市场和劳动力。 我们都只是需要住宿的一次事故或诊断,“凯蒂乔说。 “如果我们的社区变得更容易获得,它只会让大多数有这些残疾并且不想谈论它的人的生活更轻松。 即使您有身体残疾,没有住宿或无法完成工作也会影响您的心理健康。 如果我们可以共同努力,提出一些解决方案,我们就有义务这样做。 这是我们的责任。”

.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Advocate for Interns

April 1, 2022 Jim Warner
Katie Jo Glesing sitting outdoors with the Ekstrom library in the background.

Graduate internship advisor Katie Jo Glesing has had an impressive number of jobs over the past ten years. From working with exotic animals to being a court reporter to serving as an admissions officer for a funeral college, Katie’s resume is as interesting as the stories she could share from her work experiences. “When I worked at Mid-America College of Funeral Services, I had to get a bit of background on internships for mortuary science,” says Katie Jo. When the opportunity arose to join the College, she jumped at the chance. “Internships sounded like a good fit.”

In her role with the College, Katie Jo serves as a connector between businesses and students. While Katie Jo does not directly place students within internships, she helps students find solid opportunities. She also serves as a resource for interns regarding concerns between students and employers. Sampling a wide range of careers, in many ways, makes her an ideal advisor for interns—there will be nothing novel or shocking when it comes to what her interns may experience.

From this range of professional experiences, one of the most critical takeaways Katie Jo learned was the importance of advocacy. Exploring, understanding, and ultimately asking for the support one needs in a job may not be one of the first professional skillsets that jump to mind in career development. For Katie Jo, advocacy directly resulted from being diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos syndrome (EDS).

Invisible Illness Made Visible

EDS is a group of inherited disorders that primarily affect connective tissues. There are 13 sub-types of EDS currently recognized. Katie Jo suffers from Hypermobile EDS, explaining, “basically most of my joints dislocate regularly causing [reactions such as] migraines and fainting that are just incapacitating.” It eventually took two weeks spent at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, to receive her diagnosis.

“At my first couple of jobs, I didn’t know what disability I had. I didn’t find out what I had until I was 26, so I was running into issues.” Moreover, these issues with employers were made more challenging to navigate as EDS is an invisible illness—a medical condition that may not be outwardly visible or present external symptoms. Those suffering from invisible illnesses often experience discrimination and social prejudices by their very name. This ableism can range from lack of accessibility in public spaces to invasive questions about their disabilities.

From Diagnosis to Advocate

“I know that some [at UofL] have probably noticed that I have an accessible parking pass and probably have gone, ‘Huh. She looks normal; why does she have that?’ And it’s because both of my hips, knees, and ankles regularly dislocate or sublux, which can make it hard to walk.” Katie Jo has several accessible devices in her office, including a cane, shoe inserts, a cervical collar, and up to 16 different braces—all reasonable accommodations that allow Katie Jo to do her work. “My jewelry are braces,” Katie Jo adds. “My fingers are deformed…which can make typing a bit more difficult. I’ve definitely had people comment about my ‘ugly rings’ before, not knowing that they’re braces.” 

In the three years since her diagnosis, Katie Jo’s experiences have helped give her a voice in the workplace—both for herself and to advocate for others. “I understand that from an employer side, an employer cannot ask you outright if you’re disabled. They cannot say ‘What’s wrong with you?’ but you can voluntarily disclose to get the help you might need.” Being mindful, Katie Jo also does not directly ask students about their possible conditions or need for accommodations. “I usually like to leave an open-ended question on our survey: Is there anything else we should know about you to help with your internship process?” While Katie Jo does not directly communicate a need for accommodations with employers, she does offer interns strategies and support to engage in the conversation themselves. “I really enjoy knowing that we have an impact on the community.”

Accessibility for All

This fall, Katie Jo’s journey continues as she begins her MBA online at the College, and explores a desire to start a UofL paranormal research group. Pursuing those passions has already made for a compelling career path. Regardless of what’s next, her sense of advocacy will lead the way.

“If we can bring a generation into the workforce who understands reasonable accommodation and that not everyone has the same body, it will greatly benefit the local labor market and labor force by increasing job security. We are all just one accident or diagnosis away from needing accommodations,” says Katie Jo. “If our community becomes more accessible, it will only make life easier for most people who have these disabilities and don’t want to talk about it. Even if you have a physical disability, not having accommodations or being able to do your job impacts your mental health. If we can work together, come up with some solutions, we’re obligated to do so. It’s our responsibility.”

.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish