跳到主要内容

秋季职业公平回报亲自

9月 2021, XNUMX - -
坐在轮椅上的招聘人员在招聘会上与学生交谈

回到校园参加超过 18 个月的第一届商学院招聘会不仅意味着有机会了解潜在的工作机会,而且还强调了网络的重要性。 乌尔默中心在过去一年举办了四场虚拟展会——2020 月是自 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月以来的第一次面对面的活动。

 “你只是亲自感受一下,”医疗保健房地产公司 Aventis 的税务合规主管斯蒂芬妮·威廉姆斯说。 “我们的活动比我预期的要多得多——甚至比之前的一些招聘会还要多——这很棒。 我喜欢我们回到[校园]。”

此次招聘会共有45家雇主来到斯维因学生活动中心,其中Aflac、Republic Finance、Confluent Health等14家企业首次加入,加入YUM等回归企业! 品牌、通用电气和安万特。

UofL 大四学生 Terrell Williams 目前在 Aventis 实习,整个下午都在他们的餐桌旁,以第一人称视角向未来的学生展示。 他很高兴能与希望开启职业生涯的学生分享他的故事。 “与[在 Aventis] 一起工作的真实世界经验非常有益……所有这一切都非常愉快!”

学生也没有忘记面对面交流的重要性。 “在这里,你可以和每个人交谈,想呆多久就呆多久。 我觉得我可以探索我的选择,”大二学生 Arielle Dixon 说。

经济学专业的雅各布布洛克花了一个下午的时间来熟悉招聘会上的雇主范围。 “我正在寻找实习机会……能够在这里看到所有这些企业有助于提醒我保持开放的心态,因为这里可能有我真正喜欢做的机会。” 

影响数字:2021 年秋季

虚拟招聘会:

  • 学生(查看/参与):56
  • 雇主:19
  • 一对一对话:87

面对面的招聘会

  • 学生:85
  • 雇主:45

恢复批评日

  • 雇主志愿者:9
  • 参加学生:23人(亲自10人,虚拟13人)

模拟面试日

  • 雇主志愿者:13
  • 参加学生:110人(虚拟44人,亲自66人)
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Fall Career Fair Returns In Person

November 9, 2021 Jim Warner
job recruiter in a wheelchair talking to a student at career fair

Returning to campus for the first College of Business career fair in over 18 months meant not just an opportunity to learn about potential job opportunities but underscored the importance of networking. The Ulmer Center has had four virtual fairs in the past year—October was the first in-person event since February 2020.

 “You just get a feel for people in person,” says Stephanie Williams, director of tax compliance for Aventis—a health care real estate company. “We’ve had a lot more activity than I expected—even more than some previous job fairs—which has been great. I love that we are back [on campus].”

The career fair saw 45 employers come to Swain Student Activities Center, including 14 first-time companies such as Aflac, Republic Finance, and Confluent Health, joining returning companies such as YUM! Brands, GE, and Aventis.

UofL senior Terrell Williams currently interns with Aventis and spent the afternoon at their table giving a first-person perspective to prospective students. He was excited to share his story with students looking to jumpstart their careers. “Getting that real-world experience working with [at Aventis] has been very beneficial…all of this been very enjoyable!”

The importance of in-person networking was not lost on the students, either. “Here, you can talk to everyone and stay as long as you like. I feel like I can explore my options,” says sophomore Arielle Dixon.

Economics major Jacob Bullock spent the afternoon getting familiar with the range of employers at the career fair. “I’m looking for an internship to get my foot in the door…being able to see all these businesses here helps remind me to keep an open mind because there could be opportunities here that I could really love doing.” 

Impact Numbers: Fall 2021

Virtual Career Fair:

  • Students (viewed/participated): 56
  • Employers: 19
  • One on One conversations: 87

In-Person Career Fair

  • Students: 85
  • Employers: 45

Resume Critique Days

  • Employer volunteers: 9
  • Student who participated: 23 (10 in person, 13 virtually)

Mock Interview Days

  • Employer volunteers: 13
  • Student who participated: 110 (44 virtually, 66 in person)
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish