跳到主要内容

CFE:准备好面对面

November 10, 2021
Amity Shales 在 PNC Horn 礼堂发表演讲

经过近 19 个月的远程工作、虚拟课程和在线活动,自由企业中心决定在今年秋天再次提供面对面的编程。 通过参加第一次演讲,学生和社区已经为改变做好了准备。 纽约时报畅销书作家 Amity Shlaes 的演讲是本学期的第一个 CFE 课程,吸引了超过 125 名参与者。 与 Shlaes 的额外场外午餐会吸引了近 40 位当地企业高管。

“我们很高兴能亲自回来参加我们的活动,”中心主任史蒂夫·戈曼 (Steve Gohmann) 说。 “让学生有机会与演讲者、教师和他们的同龄人进行面对面的互动非常宝贵。”

查看今年 CFE 活动的照片和视频。

Gohmann 的想法得到了参加 CFE 课程的学生的回应,例如高级经济学和政治学专业的 Julianna Sims。 “去年,我很高兴我们仍然能够举办活动,但由于它们是虚拟的,因此与其他人缺乏联系。 作为今年的一名大四学生,很高兴看到我的同学和教授重新开始行动并亲自回来。”

Briant Grant 是一名高级经济学专业,他参加了阅读小组和最近关于创业的全天讨论座谈会。 “我很高兴 CFE 活动重新回到现场,因为它使我能够与坐在我周围的其他人交谈和分享想法。 能够与我的同龄人交谈是一个很大的帮助。” 

对于无法参加现场活动的人,仍会录制 CFE 节目。 有关过去活动的视频和即将播出的节目的信息,请访问 UofLFreeEnterprise.org。

2021 年影响数字

演讲者活动: 5(2 个人,3 虚拟) 总共 840 名与会者。

阅读小组: 5 人(4 人面对面,1 人虚拟) 共有 69 名学生。

讨论会: 1 个事件/11 名学生。

捐赠给自由企业中心
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

CFE: Ready To Be In Person

November 10, 2021
Amity Shales presenting at the PNC Horn Auditorium

After nearly 19 months of mostly remote work, virtual classes, and online events, the Center for Free Enterprise decided to offer in-person programming again this fall. And going by attendance at the first talk, students and the community were ready for the change. A presentation by New York Times bestselling author Amity Shlaes was the first CFE program of the semester, and it brought in more than 125 attendees. An additional off-site luncheon with Shlaes attracted nearly 40 local business executives.

“We’re thrilled to be back in person with our events,” said Steve Gohmann, director of the Center. “The opportunity for students to have face-to-face interaction with the speakers, faculty, and their peers is just so valuable.”

View photos & video from this year’s CFE events.

Gohmann’s thoughts were echoed by students who attend CFE programs, like senior economics and political science major Julianna Sims. “Last year, I was happy that we were still able to have events, but because they were virtual, there was a lack of connection with others. As a senior this year, it is exciting to see my classmates and professors back in action and back in person.”

Briant Grant is a senior economics major who participates in reading groups and a recent all-day discussion colloquium on entrepreneurship. “I am glad that CFE events are back in person because it enables me to talk and share ideas with others sitting around me. It is a big help to be able to converse with my peers.” 

CFE programs are still recorded for those who are unable to attend the live event. For videos of past events and information on upcoming programming, visit UofLFreeEnterprise.org.

2021 Impact Numbers

SPEAKER EVENTS: 5 (2 in-person, 3 virtual) Total of 840 attendees.

READING GROUPS: 5 (4 in-person, 1 virtual)  Total of 69 students.

DISCUSSION COLLOQUIUM: 1 event/11 students.

Give to the Center for Free Enterprise
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish