跳到主要内容

回程轨迹

31年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

马产业计划欢迎2020年秋季的两名校友回到学校任教。 艾米·劳耶(Amy Lawyer)博士(2006年),在肯塔基大学列克星敦马匹拓展办公室工作,在英国动物科学和马匹研究计划中授课,并且正在教授马匹领导力课程。 PJ Anthony(2008)是亚马逊的一位运营经理,正在教授马的运营和管理课程。

UofL: 大学后您做了什么独特或有趣的事情?

艾米: 从大学开始,我就购买,赛跑和出售许多纯种马。 这些都没有取得过成功,但足以让我进入行业。 我还有两个孩子,乔·布拉克(8岁)和泰森(3岁)。

PJ: 毕业后,我被接纳为来自全球的12个人之一,加入Godolphin飞行启动计划,在那里我花了两年的时间学习全球赛车行业,同时在爱尔兰,英国,澳大利亚和迪拜生活和工作。

UofL: 您为什么回来教您正在教授的特定课程?

艾米律师

艾米: 通常,领导力是当前的热门话题。 人们开始意识到,仅仅因为某人处于领导地位,这并不一定意味着他们是决策,协调人员和组织或处理紧急情况方面的专家。 所有学科都需要研究领导原则。 我很高兴能够接受领导力培训,以帮助学生将这些原则应用于当前问题和马业的组织结构。

PJ: 我总是有个想在大学任教的想法。 我非常有兴趣来到UofL参加马产业计划的教学,因为这是我的母校,并且与我热爱的产业打交道。 我希望能够利用自己的经验来向学生教授马术及其日常操作。

UofL: 自毕业以来您学到了什么,这些知识可以很好地融入课堂?

艾米: 我了解了在马业中了解基本商业原则有多么重要。 有许多人都是非常有才华的骑士,他们缺乏商务技能,最终在事业上挣扎。

PJ: 在您的生活或职业中,从来没有一条直线之路,您需要适应逆境。 我一直想在马业工作,但由于机会很少,所以离开了一段时间。 我能够保持积极的态度,并最终回到我热爱的行业。 我可以将这种经历传播给我的学生,让他们知道即使梦想没有按计划进行,也永远不会偏离梦想

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Return Trajectory

August 31, 2020 Jim Warner

The Equine Industry Program welcomed two alumni back for Fall 2020 to teach as adjuncts in the program. Amy Lawyer, PhD (2006), works at the University of Kentucky in their Lexington Equine Extension office, lectures in UK’s Animal Science and Equine Studies programs, and is teaching an Equine Leadership class. P.J. Anthony (2008) is an Operations Manager at Amazon and is teaching an Equine Operations and Management class. 

UofL: What’s something unique or interesting you’ve done post-college?

Amy: Since college, I have bought, raced, and sold many thoroughbreds. None of which have been overly successful, but enough to keep me in the industry. I also have two children, Joe Brack (8), and Tyson (3).

P.J.: Upon graduation, I was accepted as one of 12 individuals from around the world to join the Godolphin Flying Start Program, where I spent two years learning about the global racing industry while living and working in Ireland, England, Australia, and Dubai.

UofL: Why did you come back to teach the specific class you’re teaching?

Amy Lawyer, PhD

Amy: Leadership, in general, is a hot topic currently. People are starting to realize that just because someone is in a leadership position, it doesn’t necessarily mean they are an expert in decision making, coordinating people and organizations, or handling emergencies. The study of leadership principles is needed in all disciplines. I am glad that I can take my leadership training to help students apply those principles to current issues and the organizational structure of the equine industry.

P.J.: I always had an idea that I wanted to teach at the college level. I was extremely interested in coming to UofL to teach in the Equine Industry Program as it is my Alma Mater and deals with an industry I love. I wanted to be able to use my experience to teach students about equine operations and how they operate on a day-to-day basis.

UofL: What’s something you’ve learned since graduation that will translate well to the classroom?

Amy: I have learned just how important it is to understand basic business principles in the horse industry.  There are numerous people who are exceedingly talented horsemen/women that lack business skills and end up struggling in their careers.  

P.J.: There is never a straight path in your life or career, and you need to adjust to adversity. I always wanted to work in the horse industry but left it for a bit due to minimal opportunity. I was able to keep a positive attitude and eventually get back to the industry that I love. I can spread this experience to my students to let them know to never stray from their dreams, even if things don’t go as planned

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian