跳到主要内容

马业系列大获成功

13年2020月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
汤姆·杜金(Tom Durkin)传奇名人堂播音员

今年秋天,马产业计划举办了一系列座谈会,并以演讲嘉宾为主题,围绕赛车行业的当前话题展开。 在国家赛马的帮助下,每天晚上都会为无法亲自参加的人们进行现场直播,并在他们的网站和 YouTube频道.

在每个活动的前2,500小时内,有24多人参加了小组讨论,观看直播或观看了录音。 EIP总监Sean Beirne对秋季系列在业界的好评程度感到震惊。 “很明显,需要就影响我们行业的趋势进行此类对话。 我很高兴我们的计划能够为这些讨论提供机会。”

小组:轨道表面业务

该小组深入研究了赛道表面以及对保持马匹和人类运动员安全的高度关注。 整个夜晚涵盖了各种主题。 讨论了赛车表面测试实验室的当前测试方法,以及正在开发的原型,这些原型将为赛道员工提供赛道上的即时数据,以帮助他们做出决策。 小组讨论了保养灰尘,草皮和合成表面的各种考虑因素,以及每种赛车表面的独特挑战。 该小组甚至研究了每天辛苦工作的专用设备和定制的水车。 来自默里州立大学,中途大学和西肯塔基大学的学生通过直播加入了小组讨论,甚至可以在问答环节中提问。

主持人: 吉姆·穆尔维希尔(Jim Mulvihill),丘吉尔·唐斯(Churchill Downs)高级投注信息总监

演讲嘉宾: 英国马项目总监Mick Peterson博士; 丘吉尔唐斯赛道总监杰米·理查森(Jamie Richardson); 奇夫巴赫,赛道公园总经理

与传奇汤姆·杜金的夜晚

秋季系列的第二部分带入名人堂赛道播音员汤姆·杜尔金(Tom Durkin)(如上图),谈论他的传奇职业,并在离开大学并开始职业生涯时与学生分享一些智慧的话。 德金对学生的最高建议是阅读任何您可以动手的东西。 他谈到了各种书籍如何帮助他进行比赛。 他使用的一个例子是关于大脑的书如何帮助他记忆各个领域的马匹。 在整个演讲过程中,Durkin还散布了一些他最喜欢的比赛电话的视频,从1995年育种者杯经典赛到2008年广受好评的“ Arrrr”,从他的传奇生涯中,他的一个遗憾就是他从来没有打过三冠王。皇冠冠军。

小组讨论:体育博彩和赛马

随着2018年XNUMX月PASPA的废除,各州一直在争取合法化并实施体育博彩。 该小组讨论了体育博彩及其在已经存在赛车的州对赛马的影响。 新泽西州蒙茅斯公园(Monmouth Park)的比尔·克瑙夫(Bill Knauf)表示,体育博彩对他们的比赛有积极作用。 它提高了夜间联播投注,但并未降低赛道投注。 众议员亚当·科尼格(Adam Koenig)谈到了他将在XNUMX月份提出的法案,以使肯塔基州的体育博彩合法化,以及如何使用税收。

主持人: 赛马国家首席执行官Mark Midland

演讲嘉宾: Monmouth Park轨道运营副总裁Bill Knauf; 肯塔基州众议员Adam Koenig; 霍桑赛马场助理总经理John Walsh

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Equine Industry Series a Runaway Success

January 13, 2020 Jim Warner
Tom Durkin Legendary Hall of Fame announcer

The Equine Industry Program hosted a series of panels and guest speakers this fall centered around current topics in the racing industry. With the help of Horse Racing Nation, each night was live-streamed for those that couldn’t attend in person, and a recording of the live-stream is hosted on their website and YouTube channel

More than 2,500 people attended the panels, watched the live-stream, or watched the recording within the first 24 hours of each event. EIP Director Sean Beirne was blown away by how well-received the fall series was in the industry. “It’s clear there is a need for conversations like these to be taking place about trends that affect our industry. I’m glad our program is able to provide an opportunity for these discussions to happen.” 

Panel: The Business of Track Surfaces

This panel took a deep dive into the racetrack surfaces and the high level of care that goes into keeping equine and human athletes safe. A variety of topics were covered throughout the night. A look at the current testing methods of the Racing Surfaces Testing Laboratory was discussed along with prototypes that are in development that will provide track employees with instant data on the track to assist in making decisions. The panel covered the different considerations that go into caring for dirt, turf, and synthetic surfaces along with the unique challenges for each type of racing surface. The group even delved into the specialized equipment and custom-built water trucks that are hard at work every day. Students from Murray State, Midway College, and Western Kentucky University joined the panel via the live-stream and were even able to ask questions during the Q&A portion.

Moderator: Jim Mulvihill, Churchill Downs Sr. Director of Betting Information

Panelists: Dr. Mick Peterson, UK Equine Program Director; Jamie Richardson, Churchill Downs Track Superintendent; Chip Bach, Turfway Park General Manager

An Evening with the Legendary Tom Durkin

The second part of the fall series brought in Hall of Fame track announcer Tom Durkin (pictured above) to talk about his storied career and share with students some words of wisdom as they leave college and start their careers. Durkin’s top suggestion for students was to read anything you can get your hands on. He talked about how a variety of books helped him with his race calling. One example he used was how a book on the brain helped him with his process for memorizing the horses in each field. Durkin also sprinkled videos of some of his favorite race calls throughout the presentation – everything from the 1995 Breeders’ Cup Classic to the highly quoted “Arrrr” of 2008. His one lament in his storied career is that he was never able to call a Triple Crown winner.

Panel: Sports Wagering and Horse Racing

With the repeal of PASPA in May 2018, states have been racing to legalize and implement sports wagering. This panel took a look at sports wagering and how it has affected horse racing in states where racing already existed. Bill Knauf of Monmouth Park in New Jersey said that sports wagering had been a positive addition to their track. It has boosted evening simulcast wagering and has not reduced on-track wagering. Rep. Adam Koenig talked about the bill he will be introducing in January to legalize sports wagering in Kentucky and how the tax revenue will be used.

Moderator: Mark Midland, CEO Horse Racing Nation

Panelists: Bill Knauf, Monmouth Park VP Track Operations; KY State Rep. Adam Koenig; John Walsh, Hawthorne Race Course Assistant General Manager

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian