跳到主要内容

再次回到鞍中:马产业计划的校友返回校园

2019年1月11日 吉姆华纳
马校友Mike Recio

能够以明矾的形式回馈的形式有很多种。 最有效的方法之一是以演讲嘉宾的身份回到教室。 让马科学生从事潜在的职业,不仅使课堂体验更加活跃,而且来宾校友增加了理想的因素-学生可以与那些穿鞋的人保持联系。

今年的马类演讲者系列有XNUMX位来自UofL毕业生的嘉宾演讲,其中包括XNUMX位来自马术行业计划(EIP)的校友。 演讲者来自行业的各个方面,包括监管,初创企业,技术和媒体。

从事件管理和款待到繁殖和培训,今年秋天的课程探讨了马学位可以提供的职业范围和多样性。 下面重点介绍了一些过去的毕业生,以及他们在马科学生中涉及的主题。

苏珊·哈里斯** –苏珊(Susan)在肯塔基州的Prospect拥有Spring Run Farm,并在马术表演世界中戴很多帽子,教美国小马俱乐部的学生,比赛,盛装舞步,基本狩猎位,骑马和跳跃。 她与学生讨论了自小就在肯塔基州演出的类型和质量如何变化以及拥有一个可耕作农场的现实。 学生们了解了Spring Run商业模式的不同方面–登上马匹,上课,诊所,表演以及新的床和早餐,可以举办婚礼和公司会议等活动。

迈克·雷西奥* (如上图所示)– Mike是EIP的毕业生,并拥有自己的纯血统销售公司South Point Sales。 他与学生讨论了在泰勒玛德农场(Taylor Made Farm)的血液/销售世界中起步以及他从他们那里学到的客户管理技巧。

罗伯特·凯克* – Rob是EIP的另一名毕业生,他的职业生涯曾在肯塔基州列克星敦的Crestwood Farms工作。 罗布(Rob)探索了血统书的世界,以及种马和母马配对时繁殖者的目光。 他还谈到了种马场出售公马的做法,以及确保种公书满载的不同育种激励措施。

马克·米德兰* –马克(Mark)是“赛马国家”和“德比战争”的联合创始人兼首席执行官。 马克与学生们谈论了他的职业生涯,开始在赛道工作,然后如何将最初的爱好变成自己的事业。 这些学生对企业家如何与一家初创公司进行了深入的了解,以及马克对他们如何利用分析来评估网站性能和制定决策的深入了解。

额外的演讲嘉宾

  • 乔纳森·朗,肯塔基州马公园
  • 美国小跑协会Mike Tanner
  • 肯塔基州众议院众议员亚当·科尼希(Adam Koenig)
  • Loren Hebel-Osborne **,Quint活动
  • Andy Lonnon *和Vic Harrison,联合手提袋
  • 美国马术从业者协会Sally Baker
  • 尼尔·霍华德(Neil Howard),纯种教练
  • 全国草皮作家和广播协会杰西·奥斯瓦尔德(Jessie Oswald)**和EJ克拉克(EJ Clark)
  • 特德·尼科尔森(Ted Nicholson),肯塔基唐斯

(* COB明矾/ ** UofL明矾)

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Back in the saddle again: Equine Industry Program alums return to campus

January 13, 2020 Jim Warner
equine alum Mike Recio

Being able to give back as an alum can take many forms. One of the most effective ways is to return to the classroom as a guest speaker. Exposing Equine students to potential careers not only makes the classroom experience more dynamic, but guest alums add the aspirational factor—students can connect with those who have been in their shoes.

This year’s equine speaker series featured seven guest speakers who are UofL graduates, including three alumni from the Equine Industry Program (EIP). The speakers come from all facets of the industry—regulatory, start-ups, technology, and the media.

From event management and hospitality to breeding and training, this fall’s class explored the range and diversity of careers an Equine degree can offer. A few of the past graduates are highlighted below, along with topics they covered with the Equine students.

Susan Harris** – Susan owns Spring Run Farm in Prospect, KY, and wears many hats in the horse show world, teaching US Pony Club students, eventing, dressage, basic hunt seat, equitation, and jumping. She spoke with students about how the types and quality of shows have changed in Kentucky since she was a kid and the realities of owning a working farm. The students learned about the different pieces of Spring Run’s business model – boarding horses, lessons, clinics, shows, and a new Bed and Breakfast that can host events like weddings and corporate meetings.

Mike Recio* (pictured above) – Mike is a graduate of the EIP and owns his own Thoroughbred sales company, South Point Sales. He talked to the students about getting his start in the bloodstock/sales world at Taylor Made Farm and the skills he learned from them about client management.

Robert Keck* – Rob is another graduate of the EIP and has spent his career working for Crestwood Farms in Lexington, KY. Rob explored the world of pedigrees and what breeders look at when pairing stallions and mares. He also talked about what breeding farms do to market their stallions as well as different breeding incentives to ensure stallion books fill.

Mark Midland* – Mark is the co-founder and CEO of Horse Racing Nation and Derby Wars. Mark talked to the students about starting his career working for race tracks and then what it took to turn what had started as a hobby into his own business. The students received great insight into what an entrepreneur goes through with a start-up company, along with the deep-dive that Mark gave them on how companies use analytics to evaluate website performance and make decisions. 

Additional Guest Speakers 

  • Jonathan Lang, Kentucky Horse Park
  • Mike Tanner, US Trotting Association
  • Rep. Adam Koenig, KY House of Representatives
  • Loren Hebel-Osborne **, Quint Events
  • Andy Lonnon* and Vic Harrison, United Tote
  • Sally Baker, American Association of Equine Practitioners
  • Neil Howard, Thoroughbred Trainer
  • Jessie Oswald** and EJ Clark, National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association
  • Ted Nicholson, Kentucky Downs

(*COB alum/ **UofL alum)

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian