跳到主要内容

大流行结束后影响我们生活世界的决定

13年 2020月 XNUMX日 Ryan Quinn博士
社会距离

COVID-19时代的佼佼者:MBA学生的故事:参赛作品#3

通过这次谈话,他感到很害怕失去工作。 …但是,他在这次谈话之后同意,他继续去办公室的理由不再有效。

MBA学生“爱子”

在大流行时期,社会隔离至关重要。 对于那些正在遭受苦难或曾经爱过一个正在遭受苦难或垂死的人,那些拒绝参加社会疏离的人充其量似乎充其量,而充其量却是冷酷的。 不难理解人们为什么会有这种感觉。

同时,英国广播公司(BBC)记者Heiler Chung指出了一种新兴现象,这种现象可以理解,但可能无效,被称为 “隔离检疫。” 当人们批评,尴尬或使用其他方法使他人对自己认为违反社会距离的行为感到羞耻时,就会发生隔离隔离。 这是人类的自然反应。 毕竟,社会科学家观察到,只要我们一直是人类,人类就一直在使用羞辱来执行社会规范。 但是,仅仅因为某事有效并不意味着没有更好的方法来做到这一点。

考虑一下我另一位MBA学生的故事,我将其称为Aiko。

即使下达了关闭非必要业务的命令,我的一名关闭导师仍继续进入办公室工作。 作为办公室的负责人,他几周前指示所有员工在家中工作。 但是,他仍然和他的业务伙伴一样,仍然有必要每周几天进入办公室来执行某些任务并就正在进行的业务进行协作。 声称即使按订单要求,他们的业务也至关重要。

在直接就我对他继续在办公室工作的担忧向导师讲话之前,我知道他认为有必要的一些原因。 但是,我从未真正承认这些原因。 几次,我都挖了脚跟,只是说他在做一个错误的选择,而且是不负责任的。 在我心中,我什至以为他是一个可怕的领袖。 我认为他和他的伴侣所做的一切都可以远程完成。 没有任何借口。

当我开始考虑有一个不同的思考过程和其他要考虑的因素时,我意识到在解决这种情况时我需要停止使用自己的情绪。 如果我想说服他,留在家中是最佳选择,那么我需要改变自己的做法。

我要求一些时间让我们具体谈谈他仍然需要进入办公室的原因。 我觉得这是重点讨论,而不是我们在其他谈话中刚刚谈到的内容,这一点很重要。 我听了他不得不说的话-真的听了。 我问没有议程的问题。 我确保他知道他可以将所有东西摆在桌子上,我会听。

通过这次谈话,他感到很害怕失去工作。 他让自己的恐惧来控制自己的行动。 他觉得如果不在办公室里,他将失去所有控制权。 他说,他正在尽一切可能的预防措施,以确保与他人的互动受到限制。 他很小心。 但是,他在这次谈话后同意,他继续去办公室的理由不再有效。 他需要一些其他资源来帮助他在家中做生意时感到更自在。 我们一起对可用的各种工具进行了一些研究,他开始定期使用它们。 他还提到,即使情况恢复正常,这些工具也可能对企业很有用! 在这种情况下,恐惧是一个重要因素。 有时,只有有人倾听并承认您的恐惧才能迈向变革。

想象一下,Aiko表现出了她最初的情感,当她挖掘自己的脚跟时与他交谈,对他进行评判,并指责他为不负责任和可怕的领袖。 对话可能如何展开? 我怀疑她的导师会通过挖他的脚跟来回应,称她为判断力或愚蠢的人,并重新致力于他最初的行动,或者他会停止工作,但会不情愿地做事,怀有负面情绪对爱子的感觉,也许也可以将它带给其他人。

将此回应与Aiko的实际做法进行对比。 她花时间去反思和改变自己的感受。 她与导师共度时光,让他分享自己的想法和感受。 她利用这段时间,他们留出时间聆听,没有任何判断力或任何议程,并且出于尊重和安全的考虑,能够说出他真正在思考和感受的一切。 她帮助他感到足够安全,使他能够认识并承认自己的恐惧。 这种情况很少发生在正常的谈话中,我怀疑它是否曾经发生在责备与羞辱的谈话中。 此外,命名我们的恐惧的有力作用之一就是,我们的恐惧会失去他们对我们的控制。 我们大多数人都不想因恐惧而过我们的生活-我们根本不认识到这就是我们正在做的事情。 一旦我们认识到它,我们就想停止。 没有阻力,没有苦恼,只是想做得更好,并且对发现新的业务工具感到兴奋。

在我上一次提出的领导力定义“什么是领导力”中,我建议领导力是一种影响力,其他影响力包括管理,交换或控制等过程。 领导与其他影响过程不同的一种方式是实现影响的机制。 羞耻感是我们实现控制的一种机制。 相比之下,领导才能是通过其他赞美的情感来实现的,例如感激,升华,钦佩,尊重或敬畏。 我们只有爱子的故事版本,所以我们不确定她的导师感觉如何,但是我很自信地说他可能对艾子花时间没有议程的情况表示感谢和尊重,帮助他命名了他的名字。恐惧,并帮助他找到了采取不同行动的动力。

然而,爱子的故事不仅仅是关于她如何启发导师而不是羞辱导师的故事。 她的故事也是我们现在生活的故事的缩影。 上周我读 一篇文章 大西洋 该研究分析了COVID-19大流行可能以何种方式结束,以及它对我们的社会可能产生什么长期影响。 它描述了大流行消失后可能仍然存在的负面和正面结果。 一方面,精神健康问题可能会持续存在,诸如“中国流感”之类的词可能会产生持续的偏见,并且恐慌和疏忽的周期可能会长期存在。 另一方面,当我们添加旧的聚会方式时,我们发现的新聚会方式可能会增强我们的社区,我们可能会保留新的健康习惯,新的远程工作能力可能会使边缘化人群的工作场所更具包容性,共同价值观可能与个人主义价值观一样普遍。 我相信,我们看到的结果将由像Aiko这样的人决定,他们在领导和鼓舞人心还是控制与羞辱之间做出选择。

说我们应该选择领导和启发而不是控制和羞辱是一回事。 这是另一回事。 这个故事中的男人是爱子的良师益友:过去曾经对她很好的对待,并且受到她的尊重,但是在故事开始时,她却对他怀有消极的感觉。 如果我们可以对我们敬佩和尊重的人怀有消极的感觉,那么我们就可以对任何人怀有消极的感觉。 唯一的出路是通过宽恕。 当我们质疑自己的美德而不是质疑别人的美德时,就会原谅,承认我们可能存在错误的方式,将他人的错误放在眼前,试图理解一个人为什么会像他们那样行事,并考虑如何做。他们这样做的时候可能有良好的意图,想象别人的不良行为可能是受伤害或恐惧驱动的,与我们不怀有负面情绪的人共度时光,让自己以慈善冲动来感受和行动他们开始再次出现。 如果我们能从周围的人身上得到一些小烦恼,小事骚扰和轻微的烦恼,就可以宽恕他人,那么当人们对我们造成重大伤害时,我们会做得更好。 每次我们原谅,无论大小罪行,我们都选择在大流行结束时拥有什么样的世界。

有关此现象的另一有用观点,请参见 这篇评论 来自Jason Jay和Gabriel Grant。


关于博客

该博客中的条目考察了我的领导力故事 工商管理硕士 的学生 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 在美国开始社会隔离之后不久,我们就领导力课程开始了。 我被要求为学院制作内容,这将有助于个人和组织努力应对鉴于COVID-19大流行而我们都面临的新的,棘手的和复杂的问题,但是起初,我担心我会除了我见过的许多其他精彩内容之外,几乎没有什么可以提供的。 然后,我的学生开始报告他们在我班上表现出的领导才能。 他们面临的挑战是多种多样的,但他们的努力却鼓舞人心。 因此,我现在分享他们的一些经验以及对他们的经验的一些分析。 我希望这既能激发读者的灵感,又能给读者具体的想法,使他们在困难时期也能表现出卓越的领导才能。


关于积极领导项目

积极领导力项目是路易斯维尔大学商学院的一项举措,其使命是通过增强世界上的积极领导力来使生活变得更加重要和成功。 为此,我们创建和传播用于教授和学习积极领导力的工具,支持对积极领导力的研究,并与承担相同或相似任务的其他人建立联系,以增强彼此的影响力。 我们还与 高管教育 向希望增强领导能力的管理人员提供这些工具。


关于作者

瑞安·奎因博士

瑞安·奎因(Ryan W.Quinn) 是管理学副教授和积极领导力项目的学术主管。 路易斯维尔大学商学院。 他撰写了有关领导力和相关主题的书籍和学术文章,以期了解如何帮助个人和组织发挥潜力。 他还教高管,MBA学生,并为世界各地的组织提供咨询。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Decisions that Affect the World We Live in When the Pandemic is Over

April 13, 2020 Ryan Quinn, PhD
Social Distancing

LEADING IN THE TIME OF COVID-19: STORIES FROM MBA STUDENTS: Entry #3

It came out through this conversation that he was terrified of losing his job. … However, he agreed after this conversation that the reasons he had for continuing to go to the office were no longer valid.

“Aiko,” MBA Student

In a time of pandemic, social distancing is critical. For those who are suffering, or who have loved ones who are suffering or dying, the people who refuse to participate in social distancing seem inconsiderate at best, and callous at worst. It is not hard to understand why people might feel this way.

At the same time Heiler Chung, a BBC reporter, identifies an emerging phenomenon that is understandable, but perhaps not effective, called “quarantine shaming.” Quarantine shaming occurs when people criticize, embarrass, or use other methods to cause others to feel shame over doing something that they perceive to be a violation of social distancing. It is a natural human response. After all, social scientists observe that humans have used shame to enforce social norms for probably as long as we have been human. However, just because something works does not mean that there are not better ways to do it.

Consider the following story from another one of my MBA students, whom I will call Aiko.

A close mentor of mine was continuing to go into the office for work even after the order for non-essential businesses to close was issued. As the leader of the office, he instructed all employees, several weeks ago, to work from home. However, he still felt it necessary, as did his business partner, to go into the office several days a week to perform certain tasks and collaborate on on-going business. The claim was that their business was essential, even according to the order.

Prior to addressing my mentor directly about my concerns about him continuing to work in the office, I knew of a few reasons he felt it was necessary. However, I never really acknowledged these reasons. Several times, I dug my heels in and just said he was making a bad choice and was being irresponsible. In my mind, I was even thinking he was being a terrible leader. My opinion was that everything he and his partner did could be done remotely; there was no excuse.

When I started to consider there was a different thought process and other factors to consider, I realized I needed to stop using my emotions when addressing the situation. If I wanted to convince him that staying home was the best option, I needed to change my approach.

I requested some time for us to talk specifically about his reasons for needing to still go into the office. I felt it was important that this be a focused conversation as opposed to something we just touched on during other conversations. I listened to what he had to say – really listened. I asked questions without an agenda. I made sure he knew he could lay everything out on the table and I would listen.

It came out through this conversation that he was terrified of losing his job. He was allowing his fears to control his actions. He felt if he wasn’t in the office, he would lose all control. He said he was trying to take every precaution he could to make sure his interactions with others was limited. He was being careful. However, he agreed after this conversation that the reasons he had for continuing to go to the office were no longer valid. He needed some additional resources to help him feel more comfortable doing business from home. Together, we did some research on different tools available and he has started using them regularly. He also mentioned these tools could be great for business even when things go back to normal! Fear is a big factor in situations like these. Sometimes it just takes someone listening and acknowledging your fears to take a step towards change.

Imagine that Aiko had acted on her original emotions, talking to him while she was digging her heels in, judging him, blaming him as irresponsible and as a terrible leader.  How might the conversation have unfolded? I suspect that her mentor would have either responded by digging his heels in, labeling her as judgmental or stupid, and re-committed to his original course of action, or he would have stopped going into work but would have done so grudgingly, harboring negative feelings toward Aiko, and maybe taking it out on others as well.

Contrast this response with what Aiko actually did. She took the time to reflect and change how she felt. She set aside time with her mentor to allow him to share his thoughts and feelings. She used that time that they set aside to listen without judgment or an agenda, and with the respect and safety needed to be able to say everything he was really thinking and feeling. She helped him feel sufficiently safe that he was able to recognize and confess his fears. That seldom happens in normal conversation, and I doubt it ever happens in conversations of blame and shame. Further, one of the powerful things about naming our fears is that then our fears lose much of the control they have over us. Most of us do not want to live our lives succumbing to our fears — we simply do not recognize that this is what we are doing. Once we recognize it, we want to stop. There was no resistance, no grudging, just a desire to do better and excitement about discovering new business tools.

In the definition of leadership that I proposed in my last entry, “What is Leadership,” I suggested that leadership is a type of influence and that other types of influence include processes such as management, exchange, or control. One way in which leadership differs from these other influence processes is the mechanism through which influence is achieved. Shame is a mechanism through which we achieve control. Leadership, by contrast, is achieved through other-praising emotions such as gratitude, elevation, admiration, respect, or awe. We only have Aiko’s version of the story, so we do not know for sure how her mentor felt, but I feel pretty confident in saying that he probably felt gratitude and respect that Aiko took the time to listen without an agenda, helped him name his fears, and helped him find the motivation to act differently.

Aiko’s story is more than just a story about how she inspired her mentor instead of shaming her mentor, however. Her story is also a microcosm of the story we are all living right now. Last week I read an article in The Atlantic that analyzed the different ways in which the COVID-19 pandemic might end, and what long-term consequences it might have in our society. It described both negative and positive outcomes that could remain when the pandemic is gone. On one hand, mental health problems may linger, terms such as “Chinese flu” may spawn ongoing prejudice, and cycles of panic and neglect may be perpetuated. On the other hand, the new ways we have found to come together may strengthen our communities when we add old ways of coming together back in, we may retain new health habits, new remote work capabilities may make the workplace more inclusive for marginalized people, and communal values may become as prevalent as the values of individualism. I believe that which outcomes we see will be determined by people like Aiko, who choose between leading and inspiring versus controlling and shaming.

It is one thing to say we should choose leading and inspiring over controlling and shaming. It is another thing to do it. The man in this story was Aiko’s mentor: someone who had treated her well in the past, and who she respected, and yet at the beginning of her story, she was harboring negative feelings toward him. If we can harbor negative feelings toward someone we admire and respect, then we can harbor negative feelings toward anyone. The only way out is through forgiveness. Forgiveness happens when we question our own virtue instead of questioning others’ virtue, admitting that there might be ways in which we might be wrong, putting the other person’s mistakes in perspective, trying to understand why a person would behave as they did and considering how they might have had good intentions when they did it, imagining how others’ bad actions may have been driven by hurt or fear, spending time with others for whom we do not harbor negative emotions, and allowing ourselves to feel and act on charitable impulses as they begin to emerge again. If we can practice forgiveness in the little annoyances, the petty disturbances, and the minor irritations we experience from the people around us, we will be much better at forgiving when people hurt us in significant ways. Each time we forgive, for large or small offenses, we are choosing what kind of world we will have when the pandemic is done.

For another useful take on this phenomenon, please see this commentary from Jason Jay and Gabriel Grant.


About the Blog

The entries in this blog examine stories of leadership performed by my Masters of Business Administration students at the University of Louisville College of Business. Our classes on leadership began shortly after social distancing began in the United States. I was asked to produce content for the College that would be helpful to individuals and organizations struggling to manage the new, jarring, and complex problems we all face in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, but at first, I worried that I would have little to offer beyond the wonderful content I have seen so many others produce. Then, my students began to report on the leadership efforts they exhibited in my class. The challenges they face are diverse and wide-ranging, but their efforts are inspiring. Therefore, I am now sharing some of their experiences, as well as some of my analyses of their experiences. My hope is that this will both inspire readers and also give readers concrete ideas about how they too can exhibit exceptional leadership during these difficult times.


About the Project on Positive Leadership

The Project on Positive Leadership is an initiative within the University of Louisville’s College of Business with a mission to make lives more significant and successful by increasing positive leadership in the world. We do this by creating and disseminating tools for teaching and learning positive leadership, by supporting research on positive leadership, and by connecting with others who embrace the same or similar missions, in order to enhance each other’s impact. We also work in conjunction with Executive Education to deliver these tools to managers wishing to enhance their leadership capability.


About the Author

Dr. Ryan Quinn

Ryan W. Quinn is an Associate Professor of Management and the Academic Director of the Project on Positive Leadership at the University of Louisville College of Business. He has written books and academic articles on leadership and related topics, with an interest in understanding how to help individuals and organizations unleash their potential. He also teaches executives, MBA students, and consults for organizations around the world.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian