跳到主要内容

为您的员工自动化:日常AI

28年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
在一张木桌上的亚马逊Alexa Echo加上与绿色植物在背景中

作为'80s的孩子,我喜欢记住New Coke,Rubik's Cubes和MTV播放实际音乐之类的东西。 我还记得底特律是汽车业的一个主宰。 我的阿姨和叔叔都受雇于通用汽车,燃烧时间,并加班加点88和Impalas。 在我去年夏天访问1986并在1994的毕业聚会上看到它们之间的某个地方,汽车城的世界发生了变化。 

这些因素很多,但是我的家人已经(并且还在继续)的谈话中不断回归,“我们正在被机器取代。”

最后,我的阿姨和叔叔能够重新站起来 - 愿意搬迁和学习帮助他们渡过难关。 我也知道不是每个人都是幸运的。

The stark fate of automation has long since placed America’s middle class in its crosshairs. As we find ourselves at the onset of the Age of AI, the bullseye has grown larger, seeing collars white and blue equal parts of the target. More and more, the demand for C-suite understanding of AI and technology means adaptation not at just the worker-bee level. Leadership needs to have increased knowledge of technology and its ramifications in the adoption/adaptation phase.

这只是未来的震撼吗? 80经济衰退时代的失业会议科幻反乌托邦的宿醉? 我们是否正朝着终结者/天网般的未来迈进? 我们应该期待机器人霸主的不安拥抱吗?

也许从人工智能和自动化已经应用于当今业务的地方可以看到一个不那么黯淡的前景。 自动化和人工智能正致力于简化当前流程和工作流程。 随着所有Alexas和Siris在家中,人工智能正在迅速改变客户服务的功能并响应消费者。 机器学习正在推动个性化 - 为客户提供更详细的选择。 

AI增加了对具有更高水平认知技能的员工的需求。 它还越来越重视社交技能。 劳动力需要配备传统的软技能,并以清晰,简洁的语言进行报告。

根据麦肯锡全球研究所的报告通过2030,对更高认知技能的需求将增加19%,包括创造力和批判性思维。

Typically, we only think about technological skills as the high demand skillset moving forward for our workforce. The truth of the matter is that those who can think creatively, communicate effectively, and work collaboratively will be essential to business growth. The most successful companies will be able to have leadership that can bring such a team together, with an increased focus on agile, adaptable team dynamics. This concept is only accented by AI’s increased implementation into the daily workflow.

在这一点上,领导能够看到人工智能是什么 - 一种工具,它为您最宝贵的资源(您的人员)提供思考,适应和解决问题的时间。 像你的团队一样,时间是一种有限的资源。 能够通过重复动作从手中增加创意时间,意味着一个更强大,更有效的工作者,有时间超越反身动作。

人工智能是变革的合作伙伴,不仅仅是一个独立的代理人,而且确实不是我们命运的主人。 

管理人工智能时代的变革 是由UofL Executive Education于10月16举办的为期半天的研讨会th。 此次研讨会对于希望获得并保持竞争优势的企业领导者,经理和高管而言至关重要,因为他们成功地将AI和技术进步融入其业务战略中。 做好准备并与提供的研讨会见解保持联系,以帮助决策者大规模采用AI。

有关更多信息和注册: https://business.louisville.edu/aiworkshop


Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Automatic for your people: Everyday AI

August 28, 2019 Jim Warner
Amazon Alexa Echo Plus on a wooden table with green plants in the background

As a child of the ’80s, I fondly remember things like New Coke, Rubik’s Cubes, and MTV playing actual music. I also remember Detroit as a juggernaut of the car industry. My aunt and uncle were both employed by GM, burning hours, and collecting overtime turning out 88s and Impalas. Somewhere between my last summer visit with them in 1986 and seeing them at my graduation party in 1994, the world changed for the Motor City. 

The factors were numerous, but one refrain kept coming back in the conversations my family had (and continued to have), “we’re being replaced by machines.”

Eventually, my aunt and uncle were able to get back on their feet—a willingness to relocate and learn helped them weather the storm. I also know that not everyone was as fortunate.

The stark fate of automation has long since placed America’s middle class in its crosshairs. As we find ourselves at the onset of the Age of AI, the bullseye has grown larger, seeing collars white and blue equal parts of the target. More and more, the demand for C-suite understanding of AI and technology means adaptation not at just the worker-bee level. Leadership needs to have increased knowledge of technology and its ramifications in the adoption/adaptation phase.

Is this just future shock? A hangover from 80s recession-era unemployment meeting sci-fi dystopia? Are we marching towards a Terminator/Skynet-esque future? Should we anticipate the uneasy embrace of robot overlords?

Perhaps a less bleak outlook can be gleaned from where AI and automation are already being applied in business today. Automation and AI are working to streamline current processes and workflows. With all the Alexas and Siris in the home, AI is rapidly bringing change to how customer service functions and responds to consumers. Machine learning is driving personalization—offering the customer more detailed choices. 

AI has increased demand for staff with higher-level cognitive skills. It has also placed increased importance on social skills. The workforce will need to be equipped with those traditional soft skills and reporting in clear, concise language.

According to the McKinsey Global Institute report, by 2030, there will be a 19% increase in the demand for higher cognitive skills, including creativity and critical thinking.

Typically, we only think about technological skills as the high demand skillset moving forward for our workforce. The truth of the matter is that those who can think creatively, communicate effectively, and work collaboratively will be essential to business growth. The most successful companies will be able to have leadership that can bring such a team together, with an increased focus on agile, adaptable team dynamics. This concept is only accented by AI’s increased implementation into the daily workflow.

At this point, leadership which can see AI for what it is — a tool which gives your most valuable resource (your personnel) the time to think, adapt, and problem solve. Time, like your team, is a finite resource. Being able to add hours to the creative clock by taking the repetitive act out of their hands means a stronger, more efficient worker, with time to act beyond reflexive motion.

AI is a partner of change, not just an independent agent, and indeed not the master of our destiny. 

Managing Change in the Age of Artificial Intelligence is a half-day workshop presented by UofL Executive Education on October 16th. This workshop is essential for business leaders, managers, and executives looking to gain and maintain their competitive advantage as they successfully integrate AI and technological advances into their business strategy. Be prepared and stay relevant with workshop insights presented to assist decision-makers with embracing AI adoption at scale.

For more information and to register: https://business.louisville.edu/aiworkshop


Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian