跳到主要内容

体育部门转型

15年 2019月 XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
路易斯维尔红衣主教Vince Tyra道德领导力公告

积极领导力项目很荣幸以多种方式与路易斯维尔大学体育系合作,包括帮助该系确定其目标和核心信念,然后参与将这些目标和核心信念整合到系统,结构中的过程,整个组织中员工的政策,程序和行为。 当文斯·泰拉(Vince Tyra)在3年2017月XNUMX日被聘为体育部临时体育总监时,他和其他员工孜孜不倦地工作-在该部历史上最困难的时期之一-不但克服了麻烦,而且了解如何使该部门在运动美德方面保持领导才能,例如诚信,服务,包容,透明,野心和热情。 合规至关重要,该部门坚持合规,但目标是超越“足够”的道德准则,追求美德和卓越。 这样的愿景不是一朝一夕就能实现的,但新闻部一直不懈地追求这一愿景。

积极领导项目通过多种举措帮助新闻部实现了这一愿景。 其中之一是确定目标和核心信念的过程。 我们与组织中各部门的代表一起制作了初稿,然后对声明进行了审核和编辑,首先是与部门负责人,然后是与整个组织通过调查反馈。 部门目标和核心信念的最终清单是:

部门目标:

在2023年底,路易斯维尔大学运动系将能够在过去三年中这样说:

  1. 与该部门有关联的任何人都没有违反1级或2级NCAA。
  1. 我们已经赢得了NCAA和ACC冠军。
  1. 每年以财政盈余结束。
  1. 信任和协作已成为该部门下属每个人的常态。
  1. 我们做出了有意识的努力,以促进部门内部多样性,公平性和包容性的改善。

我们的核心信念:

  1. 我们选择诚信。 我们要求取胜,但绝不能通过在运动,人际交往,智力和财务上损害诚信。
  1. 我们支持学生运动员。 我们有责任帮助学生成为比赛和生活中的冠军。
  1. 我们一起赢。 我们庆祝多元化,公平和包容是成功团队的重要基石。 通过信任和尊重,我们珍惜彼此的想法,背景和贡献,这些想法,背景和贡献为我们的体育部门和大学带来了组织上的成功。
  1. 我们都从事客户服务。 即使是我们都做出的小决定,也会影响粉丝和捐助者对我们提供的体验的兴奋程度。
  1. 我们一直在寻求进步。 我们始终通过反馈,教育和创新来寻求和鼓励学习,以成长为个人,运动部门和大学而又具有韧性。
  1. 我们共享组织手册。 从道德上讲,我们在财务信息和组织决策方面保持透明,因为它可以提供更快的解决方案,建立信任并激励我们所有人承担责任。
  1. 我们也是粉丝。 我们很高兴观看红雀队的体育比赛,并很高兴在这个体育部门工作。

确定战略目标和核心信念与实现目标和核心信念并不相同。 这些目标和信念必须嵌入组织的结构和文化中。 因此,我们还参与了许多并行的过程,包括对领导团队和组织中其他人员的培训,根据员工的意见寻求并确定变更的优先级,创建员工发展系统,重新调整薪酬体系,改善组织的策略和举措之间的沟通方式,并设计和收集与组织的目标和核心信念相关的绩效指标。 积极领导项目在所有这些举措的帮助下取得了进展,这是由于参与员工的英勇努力所致。

尽管转型还没有完成(在某些方面永远不会完成,因为这样的愿景必须实现并一次又一次地实现),但路易斯维尔大学运动系已经取得了令人振奋的进步。 例如,在大西洋海岸会议上,学生运动员的成绩和社区服务时间现在是最高的。

如果您有兴趣与路易斯维尔大学合作,以超越道德上的充实,并在自己的运动系中脱颖而出,请 点击此处详细了解。.

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Athletic Department Transformation

April 15, 2019 Jim Warner
Louisville Cardinal Vince Tyra Ethical Leadership announcement

The Project for Positive Leadership is proud to partner with the University of Louisville Athletic Department in multiple ways, including helping the Department to identify its goals and core beliefs, and then engage in the process of integrating those goals and core beliefs into the systems, structures, policies, procedures, and behavior of employees throughout the organization. When Vince Tyra was hired as the interim athletic director for the athletic department on October 3, 2017, he and the other employees worked tirelessly—during one of the most difficult periods in the Department’s history—to not only overcome their troubles, but also to learn how to make the department a leader among athletic departments in in living virtues such as integrity, service, inclusion, transparency, ambition and enthusiasm with excellence. Compliance is critical, and the department insists on compliance, but the goal was to go beyond “sufficient” ethics to pursue virtues and excellence. A vision like this is not achieved overnight, but the Department has been relentless in its pursuit of this vision. 

The Project on Positive Leadership has helped the Department in pursuit of this vision through multiple initiatives. One of these was a process for identifying goals and core beliefs. With a cross-section of representatives from the organization, we generated a first draft, and then vetted and edited the statement, first with Department leaders, and then with the entire organization through survey feedback. The final list of department goals and core beliefs is: 

Department Goals: 

At the end of 2023, the University of Louisville Athletic Department will be able to say that, in the past three years: 

  1. There have been no level 1 or level 2 NCAA violations by anyone affiliated with the department. 
  1. We have won NCAA and ACC championships. 
  1. Every year has ended with a financial surplus. 
  1. Trust and collaboration have become the norm among everyone affiliated with the department. 
  1. We have made an intentional effort to foster the improvement of diversity, equity, and inclusion within the department. 

Our Core Beliefs: 

  1. We choose integrity first. We demand winning, but never by compromising integrity…athletically, interpersonally, intellectually, and fiscally. 
  1. We support our student-athletes. We are accountable for helping our students become champions in competition and in life. 
  1. We win together. We celebrate diversity, equity, and inclusion as essential cornerstones of a successful team. Through trust and respect, we value each other’s ideas, backgrounds, and contributions that drive organizational success for our athletics department and university. 
  1. We all work in customer service. Even the small decisions we all make affect how excited fans and donors are about the experience we provide. 
  1. We always seek to improve. We consistently seek and encourage learning through feedback, education, and innovation to grow and be resilient as an individual, an athletic department, and a university. 
  1. We share the organizational playbook. We are transparent as ethically appropriate with fiscal information and organizational decisions because it enables faster solutions, builds trust, and motivates all of us to be responsible. 
  1. We are fans too. We have fun watching Cardinals sports and make it fun to work in this athletic department. 

Identifying strategic goals and core beliefs is not the same thing as living the goals and core beliefs. These goals and beliefs need to be embedded in the structure and the culture of the organization. Therefore, we also engaged in a number of parallel processes, including training for the leadership team and for others in the organization, seeking and prioritizing a list of changes based on employee input, creating a system for employee development, re-vamping the compensation system, improving the way in which the strategy and initiatives of the organization get communicated, and designing and collecting measures of performance relative to the goals and core beliefs of the organization. the Project on Positive Leadership assisted with all of these initiatives, and made progress because of the heroic efforts of the employees who participated. 

              Although the transformation is not complete—and in some ways never will be because a vision like this must be accomplished and re-accomplished again and again—the University of Louisville Athletic Department is already seeing some thrilling improvements. For example, student athlete grades and community service hours are now the highest in the Atlantic Coast Conference. 

If you are interested in working with the University of Louisville to move beyond ethical sufficiency to excellence in your own athletic department, please click here

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian