跳到主要内容

2020年教职员工奖

2020年5月25日 吉姆华纳

随着2020年春季学期在COVID-19隔离下结束,商学院花时间上网确认了今年杰出的师资力量。 在团队中举行的颁奖仪式可能与学院历史上的任何颁奖活动都不一样。 留下并引起共鸣的是当之无愧的赞誉,得到了我们的学生和同龄人的认可。

学院奖

马赫什古普塔

教师研究奖 由过去四年中在研究方面做出最大贡献的教职员工(以研究出版物的数量和质量衡量)。 今年的获胜者可以实现发布一流研究的挑战。 在过去的四年中,[Mahesh]发表了2019篇总部期刊文章和XNUMX篇优秀期刊文章-仅在XNUMX年就有XNUMX篇刊物。”

教师研究奖: 马赫什古普塔


珍娜·豪根照片

本科教学奖 授予在本科教学中表现出色的教职员工。 今年,两名教师非常出色,委员会根本无法打破平局。”

本科教学奖: 珍娜·豪根(Jenna Haugen)和格雷格·莱因哈特(Greg Reinhardt)


获胜者 研究生教学奖 授予在研究生教学中表现出色的教职员工。 当然,获胜者在学生中获得了很高的教学分数。 评论包括“伟大的教授。 绝对非常易于交流,易于上手……使课程内容与现实生活相关,易于理解且充满乐趣!”

研究生教学奖: 安德鲁马尼卡斯


珍娜·豪根照片

获胜者 教师服务奖 向表现出强烈服务承诺的教职员工致敬。 今年的优胜者曾在大学,学院,大学,社区和学科系工作。 珍娜·豪根(Jenna Haugen)率领我们的“波特兰提升计划”,这是商学院的标志性合作伙伴关系。 她将我们的枢机主教与波特兰小学学生联系起来,通过诸如柠檬水日,鲨鱼坦克,地球日和职业日之类的活动来帮助教授商业原则的重要性。 詹娜(Jenna)也是BUILD项目的一部分,曾在多个搜寻委员会任教,并主持两个国家委员会,其中包括一次学生写作比赛。 她热衷于回馈并找到让弱者屈服的方法。

教师服务奖: 珍娜·豪根(Jenna Haugen)


史蒂夫·高曼
史蒂夫·高曼

获胜者 整体教师卓越奖 授予在所有工作领域都表现出色的教师。 今年的优胜者在研究,教学和服务方面表现出色。 这个人在教室里都是优秀的,无论是本科生还是研究生。 此人是一位强大的研究人员,并发表了精湛的著作和其他著作。 这个人住了一年的服务-成为受邀的审稿人,主持委员会,进行教师搜索,在全国各地的大学中发表演讲并领导我们学院中最活跃的中心之一。

优秀教师: 史蒂夫·高曼


员工奖

员工卓越奖: 唐娜·克拉克(Donna Clark)

“唐娜一直是中心的冷静而坚定的助手。 她总是很积极,专注于解决方案,向他人展示光芒,并且似乎永无止境地提供“可以做”的态度……她还是经济学系,商学院和大学的声援啦啦队长总的来说……她使学院每天都成为一个更好的工作场所。”


红衣主教奖: 艾琳·戴维斯(Eileen Davis),诺拉·斯科比(Nora Scobie),史黛西·斯科恩(Stacy Schoen)

“我看到艾琳的盘子全年都超载。 但是,尽管她有个人和专业上的工作,但她总是有时间说话,不仅可以与我交谈,还可以与任何出现在门口的工作人员或学生交谈……她会为Ulmer的工作人员打球,但是FUMM中的其他工作人员。 简而言之,与Eileen合作很愉快。 我不知道我们办公室里没有人觉得艾琳曾尝试与他们建立关系并以有爱心的个人身分出现。”

“史黛西(Stacy)始终乐于为我们所走的道路提供帮助并找到解决方案! 一个积极的举止,看着玻璃杯充满了一半,充满了乐观!”

“ [诺拉]致力于帮助学生,教职员工,教职员工和准学生的承诺是首屈一指的……她还是对学生和父母富有同情心的顾问,详尽的计划者,体贴而有爱心的监督者,以及不懈的倡导者他们没有声音。”


特别表彰奖: 梅利莎·坎贝尔(Melissa Campbell),凯西·戈瑟(Kathy Gosser),艾比·科尼希(Abby Koenig),戴尔·麦金托什(Dale McIntosh)和安德鲁·怀特(Andrew Wright)(在COVID-19期间为教师构建在线课程资源的工作)

阿比盖尔·科尼格(Abigail Koenig)
凯瑟琳·戈瑟照片

“当COVID-19危机袭来时,我们必须在线设置课程并开始运行,而且必须快速完成! 从角度来看,我们必须在大约十天的时间内从提供在线30堂课变为160堂课。 而且我们大多数的教师以前从未教过在线课程……我无法想象在危机重重的时候,其他许多人可能会散发出更多的积极性。 谁可以通过指导和建立信任来更好地提高同龄人; 他们本该更关心如何维持我们在大学中的高质量教育的关键使命,并且更关心这些新的在线课程中人类的教与学; 谁能在移动众所周知的山脉方面做得更好呢?”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

2020 Staff and Faculty Awards

May 29, 2020 Jim Warner

As the Spring 2020 semester ended under COVID-19 quarantine, the College of Business took time online to recognize this year’s outstanding faculty and staff. The award ceremony, presented in Teams, may have been unlike any awards event in the College’s history. What remains and resonates are the much-deserved accolades, as recognized by our students and peers.

Faculty Awards

Mahesh Gupta

“The winner of the Faculty Research Award goes to the faculty member who has made the greatest research contribution over the past four years—as measured by both the number and the quality of research publications. This year’s winner lives up to that challenge of publishing top-notch research. In the past four years, [Mahesh] published ten HQ journal articles and two elite journal articles–with four of those publications in 2019 alone.”

Faculty Research Award: Mahesh Gupta


Jenna-Haugen photo

“The winner of the Undergraduate Teaching Award goes to the faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching. This year, TWO faculty members were so excellent, the committee simply couldn’t break the tie.”

Undergraduate Teaching Award: Jenna Haugen and Greg Reinhardt


The winner of the Graduate Teaching Award goes to the faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in graduate teaching. Of course, the winner has received high teaching scores from their students. Comments include “Great professor. Definitely very communicative and easy to approach…Makes the course content relevant to real life, understandable, and FUN!”

Graduate Teaching Award: Andrew Manikas


Jenna-Haugen photo

The winner of the Faculty Service Award goes to the faculty member who has demonstrated a strong commitment to service. This year’s winner served the Department, College, University, Community, and Discipline. Jenna Haugen spearheads our Elevate Portland initiative, the Signature Partnership for the College of Business. She connects our Cardinals with Portland Elementary school students to help teach both the importance of business principles through events such as Lemonade Day, Shark Tank, Earth Day, and Career Day. Jenna also teaches as part of Project BUILD, has served on multiple search committees, and chairs two national committees including a student writing competition. She is passionate about giving back and finding ways to give a leg up to the underdog.

Faculty Service Award: Jenna Haugen


Steve Gohmann
Steve Gohmann

The winner of the Overall Faculty Excellence Award goes to the faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in all areas of their work. This year’s winner delivered in research, teaching, and service. This person was excellent in the classroom—both undergraduate and graduate. This person is a strong researcher with an elite publication and other work under review. And this person lived a year of service – being an invited reviewer, chairing committees, running faculty searches, delivering talks at universities around the country, and leading one of our most active Centers in the College.

Outstanding Faculty Member: Steve Gohmann


Staff Awards

Staff Excellence Award: Donna Clark

“Donna has been the Center’s cool and steady hand. She is always positive, solution-focused, shines a light on others, and appears to have a never-ending supply of ‘can do’ attitude…She is also a vocal cheerleader for the Economics department, the College of Business, and the University as a whole…She makes the College a better place to work, every day.”


Cardinal Spirit Award: Eileen Davis, Nora Scobie, Stacy Schoen

“I have seen Eileen’s plate get overloaded throughout the year. However, despite her personal and professional load, she has ALWAYS made time to speak, not only with me but with any staff member or student who comes to pop in her doorway… She goes to bat for her staff in Ulmer, but as well for other staff members in FUMM. In short, Eileen is a joy to work with. I don’t know anyone in our office that has not felt that Eileen has tried to build a relationship with them and come across as a caring individual.”

“Stacy is always willing to help and find a solution to whatever comes our way! A positive demeanor and looks at the glass as half-full and full of optimism!” 

“[Nora’s] commitment to helping students, staff, faculty, and prospective students is second to none… She is also a compassionate advisor to students and parents, a detailed planner, a thoughtful and caring supervisor, and a tireless advocate for anyone who feels they have no voice.”


Special Recognition Award: Melissa Campbell, Kathy Gosser, Abby Koenig, Dale McIntosh, and Andrew Wright, (for their work on building online course resources for instructors during COVID-19)

Abigail Koenig
Kathleen Gosser Photo

“When the COVID-19 crisis hit, we had to get our courses up and running online, and we had to do it FAST! To put it in perspective, we had to move from offering about 30 classes online to 160 classes in about ten days. And most of our faculty had never taught online courses before… I can’t imagine any other group of individuals who could have exuded more positivity in a time of crisis when so many other people were stressed out; who could have elevated their peers better through mentoring and confidence-building; who could have cared more about sustaining our critical mission of quality education in the College AND cared more about the human beings teaching and learning in these new online classes; and who could have done a better job at moving the proverbial mountains to get it done.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian