跳到主要内容

UofL,合作伙伴组成了生物医学技术的新区域加速器中心

3年2018月XNUMX日
该中心得到了美国国立卫生研究院(NIH)国家综合医学研究所(NIGMS)的联邦资助。

路易斯维尔大学以及东南部学术界和工业界的合作伙伴正在建立一个新的加速器中心,旨在更快地将新的生物医学技术推向市场。

该中心得到了美国国立卫生研究院(NIH)国家综合医学研究所(NIGMS)的联邦拨款的支持,该研究所三年内可能总价值达到3.5万美元,接近$ 500,000第一年获得资助。

“在路易斯维尔大学,我们坚信我们可以通过合作解决困扰我们地区的问题,”UofL总裁Neeli Bendapudi博士说。 “这种与私营部门的合作伙伴关系以及一个令人印象深刻的地区学术机构联盟将有助于加速医疗技术向市场的突破性进展,从而使公民更健康,经济更加强大。”

领导该项资助的是XLerateHealth,LLC,这是一家位于路易斯维尔的医疗技术加速器,专注于初创公司和商业化。 该中心还加入了由UofL,肯塔基大学和西弗吉尼亚大学领导的24学术机构。

他们将共同创建一个“加速器中心” - 由NIGMS资助的四个中的一个 - 用于东南地区机构发展奖(IDeA)地区的生物医学技术,其中包括肯塔基州,阿肯色州,路易斯安那州,密西西比州,波多黎各,南卡罗来纳州和西弗吉尼亚州。 。

作为中心的一部分,资助合作伙伴将创建所有参与机构可以使用的在线教育,资源和商业化工具。 此外,还将有重点知识产权和技术转让支持,以协助目前无法提供这些服务的地方。

“我们感谢NIH委托我们的团队获得这项资助,以便我们能够将科学发现从实验室转移到商业产品中,最终改善患者护理并改善人类健康,”联合创始人兼首席执行官Jackie Willmot说。 XLerateHealth。 “我们的中心将为研究人员和创新者提供创业知识和技能,使他们能够创造成功的可持续企业并将其商业化。”

根据大学技术经理协会(AUTM)的2016年度调查,东南IDeA地区的学术机构在联邦政府资助的研究中表现超过10亿美元,并创建了1.5创业公司。 参与此项拨款的机构占该区域研究的38百分比和该地区新许可的创业公司的66百分比。

例如,UofL已经开发了一个强大的转化研究,商业化和创业基础设施。 它是该国唯一一所获得四个着名转化研究项目的研究型大学:创新团队(I-Corps)和AWARE:通过国家科学基金会获得ACCESS,通过NIH获得REACH / ExcITE,以及Wallace H. Coulter转化合作伙伴关系。

“这项拨款的合作伙伴在商业化方面取得了巨大成功,提供了创业支持和实施其他转化研究项目,”UofL研究与创新临时执行副总裁兼该项资助的首席研究员Robert S. Keynton博士说。 “通过扩大对这些资源的多州,多机构接入,我们相信我们可以产生巨大的国家影响。”

查看今天宣布区域生物医学技术加速器中心的新闻发布会的视频:

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

UofL, partners form new regional accelerator hub for biomedical technologies

December 3, 2018
The hub is backed by a federal grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), a division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The University of Louisville, along with partners from academia and industry across the Southeast, is creating a new accelerator hub aimed at getting new biomedical technologies to market faster.

The hub is backed by a federal grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), a division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is potentially valued at a total of $3.5 million over three years, with nearly $500,000 in funding the first year.

“At the University of Louisville, we firmly believe that we can solve the problems that plague our region through collaboration,” said UofL President, Dr. Neeli Bendapudi. “This partnership with the private sector and an impressive consortium of area academic institutions will help speed groundbreaking advances in health care technology to the market, resulting in healthier citizens and a stronger economy.”

Leading the grant is XLerateHealth, LLC, a Louisville-based healthcare technology accelerator that focuses on startups and commercialization. The hub also joins 24 academic institutions led by UofL, the University of Kentucky and West Virginia University.

Together, they will create an “accelerator hub” — one of four funded by NIGMS — for biomedical technologies in the Southeast Institutional Development Award (IDeA) region, which includes Kentucky, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, South Carolina and West Virginia.

As part of the hub, the grant partners will create online education, resources and tools for commercialization that all the participating institutions can use. There will also be focused intellectual property and technology transfer support to assist where those services are not currently available.

“We are grateful to the NIH to have entrusted our team with this grant so that we can move scientific discoveries out of the lab and into commercial products, ultimately improving patient care and enhancing human health,” said Jackie Willmot, co-founder and CEO of XLerateHealth. “Our hub will provide researchers and innovators with entrepreneurial knowledge and skills that will enable them to create and commercialize successful, sustainable businesses.”

According to Association of University Technology Managers (AUTM)’s 2016 Annual Survey, academic institutions in the Southeast IDeA region performed more than $1.5 billion in federally-funded research and generated 38 startup companies. The institutions participating in this grant made up 66 percent of that research and 82 percent of the region’s newly licensed startup companies.

UofL, for example, has developed a robust translational research, commercialization and entrepreneurship infrastructure. It is the only research university in the country to receive four prestigious translational research programs: Innovation Corps (I-Corps) and AWARE: ACCESS through the National Science Foundation, REACH/ExCITE through NIH, and the Wallace H. Coulter Translational Partnership.

“The partners on this grant have had great success with commercialization, providing startup support and implementing other programs for translational research,” said Dr. Robert S. Keynton, UofL’s Interim Executive Vice President for Research and Innovation and a principal investigator on the grant. “By expanding multi-state, multi-institutional access to those resources, we believe we can have a big national impact.”

Check out video from today’s press conference announcing the Regional Biomedical Technology Accelerator Hub:

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian