跳到主要内容

定位人才

1年 2020月 XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

UofL的校友和El Toro的联合创始人David Stadler的办公室俯瞰着大量数据流计算机。 “我不需要典型的实习生。 我需要全职员工。”

下方的开放式平面图充满了活动-当您踏入办公空间时,可以感受到活力和热情。 这种疯狂的动力是El Toro交易的产品,其中分析功能为众多企业提供了针对性的在线营销服务。 El Toro供应的需求稳定增长,几乎没有放缓的迹象。

随着El Toro计划在下一个增长期增加400个工作岗位,该公司需要稳定的人才储备。

进入UofL MSBA实习计划。

“我认为MSBA计划会竭尽所能,将资源和培训课程安排到企业社区特别要求的位置。” Stadler不仅与校友建立了融洽的关系,而且还洞悉了El Toro等企业需要保持创新的技术需求。 这是学校在过去几年中建立的众多关系之一,以确保学生按需学习技能。

学院的实习计划是MSBA计划的核心内容之一,为学生提供了在工作日中应用其课程作业的机会。 这很大程度上是一个今天要学习/明天要使用的环境,并且反映在El Toro的实习生池中。

UofL实习生Chris Spurlock说:“这是El Toro和教室之间的协作环境,” MSfba的七个实习生之一在El Toro工作。 “我们能够谈论工作中的课堂。 几乎感觉像是不公平的优势。”

鼓励实习生在工作中谈论他们的课程,因为这会立即影响他们的日常工作。 它还可以促进专业发展,使工作日的工作效率更高。

Mari Humberg在进入MSBA计划之前曾在El Toro工作。 她目前担任广告运营总监。 “我们不仅是同事,我们还在一起工作,做各种事情……这是一个真正的大家庭,一群真正彼此相爱的人。” Ad-Ops团队的几位成员曾经/曾经是MSBA实习生。

MSBA实习生和Ad-Ops团队成员Praveena Vutchula于2019年与丈夫移民到路易斯维尔地区,以追求MSBA。 能够使课堂变得真实,这使她在El Toro的生活与众不同。 “我知道编码,但并不总是(何时应用)。 我在学校所学的就是我的实际工作……您还可以看到业务挑战,并成为问题解决者。”

Ad-Ops小组成员Joe Prather补充说:“让人们与您一起完成流程是一个巨大的优势。 我与世界上最聪明的人一起工作,然后转身与他们一起上学。” MSBA是已退休的公立学校老师普拉瑟(Prather)的第二职业。 他与Vutchula建立了密切的友谊,分享了他们的家庭故事,并在他们从埃尔托罗乘车上学时互相学习了彼此的文化。

Prather说:“我们几乎每隔一周就开始实习。” “ Praveena的丈夫花了一个多小时的路程才回到[路易斯维尔]带她去上课……我说我正朝着同一方向前进,所以我们刚下班后就开始开车上课。” 路易斯维尔本地人乔已经了解了许多印度文化,政治,教育和饮食,反之亦然。

“我问了很多问题,” Praveena说。 “什么是超级碗? 乔,什么 一切…在整个开车过程中,他一直在谈论它们……XNUMX月,我第一次体验了降雪。 我非常激动。”

迄今为止,埃尔·托罗(El Toro)聘用了约80%的实习生,其中很大一部分是大卫·史达德勒(David Stadler)假定的,因为他们接受了UofL的教育。 “我发现我的实习生非常了解他们的产品和听众,” Stadler说。 “商学院培养出[雇员]商业界对……的需求……他们反应迅速。 他们(学院)如此灵活,真是不可思议。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Targeting Talent

April 1, 2020 Jim Warner

UofL alum and El Toro cofounder David Stadler’s office overlooks a sea of computers streaming data. “I don’t need a typical intern. I need full-time employees.”

The open floorplan below teems with activity—energy and enthusiasm palpable when you step in the office space. This frenetic kineticism is a product of business El Toro trades in, where analytics powers targeted online marketing services for a multitude of businesses. Demand for what El Toro supplies has grown steadily with little sign of slowing down.

As El Toro projects adding an additional 400 jobs in their next growth period, the company needs a steady talent pipeline.  

Enter the UofL MSBA internship program.

“I think the MSBA program goes out of its way to put resources and training curriculum in place that the business community specifically requests.” Stadler has built a rapport with the College beyond being an alum—offering insights into the tech demands businesses like El Toro need to stay innovative. It is one of many relationships the school has built over the past few years, ensuring students are graduating with an in-demand skill set.

One of the centerpieces to the MSBA program, the College’s internship program provides students the opportunity to apply their coursework in the workday setting. It’s very much a learn-today/apply-tomorrow environment, and is reflected in the pool of interns working at El Toro.

“It’s a collaborative environment both at El Toro and the classroom,” says UofL intern Chris Spurlock, one of seven MSBA interns working at El Toro. “We’re able to talk about class at work. It almost feels like an unfair advantage.”

The interns are encouraged to talk about their classes while at work as it immediately impacts their day to day jobs. It also increases professional development and makes for a more productive workday.

Mari Humberg had been with El Toro before entering the MSBA program. She currently serves as Director of Ad Operations. “We’re not just coworkers We do all kinds of things outside of work together…it’s a real big family and a group of people who really enjoy each other’s company.” Several members of the Ad-Ops team are/have been MSBA interns.

MSBA intern and Ad-Ops team member Praveena Vutchula emigrated with her husband to the Louisville area in 2019 to pursue an MSBA. Being able to make the classwork real has made all the difference to her at El Toro. “I know coding but not always [when to apply it]. What I learn at school is what I actually do… You also get to see the business challenges—and get to be a problem solver.”

Fellow Ad-Ops team member Joe Prather adds, “Having people going through the process with you is a huge advantage. I work with the smartest people in the world and then turn around and go to school with them.” The MSBA is a second act-career for Prather, who is a retired public school teacher. He has developed a close friendship with Vutchula sharing stories of their families and learning about each other’s cultures as they carpool from El Toro to school.

“We pretty much started at our internship a week apart,” says Prather. “Praveena’s husband was making a trip that was over an hour just to come back [to Louisville] pick her up and take her to class…I said I’m heading in the same direction, so we just started driving to class together after work.” A Louisville native Joe has learned a lot about Indian culture, politics, education, and food, and vice-versa.

“I ask a lot of questions,” says Praveena. “What’s Super Bowl? Joe, what’s everything…and throughout the drive, he just keeps talking about them… I got to experience snow for the first time in November. I was super excited.”

To date, El Toro has retained about 80% of the interns they’ve hired due in large part, posits David Stadler, to their education at UofL. “I find that my interns understand their products and audience very well,” says Stadler. “The College of Business produces [employees] that the business community has a demand for…They’re very responsive. It’s incredible how nimble they [the College] are with this program.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian