跳到主要内容

保护社区

2年 2020月 XNUMX日 吉姆华纳

最成功的企业家将始终指出他们将机会视为成功的基本要素的能力。 由商学院创立,该学院的毕业生Pablo Hernandez和Matthew Brown 安全面具 公司成立是为了在COVID-19之后满足公众对舒适,可重复使用的口罩的需求。 但这不仅是机会,它是准备,资源和连接点的最高潮,这些点使机会成功。

“我一直具有企业家精神,我相信这是我父母的精神,”高级市场营销专业的埃尔南德斯说。 在UofL期间,他曾与多家合资企业一起测试过创业水域,包括摄影和拥有咖啡烘焙师Herns Coffee。 埃尔南德斯(Hernandez)的父母涉足纺织品和制造业,这种直接联系有助于迅速启动“安全面具”。

马修·布朗(Matthew Brown)对金融和投资的热情帮助他们建立了坚实的财政基础。 像Pablo一样,Matthew已经建立了成功的企业-自2016年以来一直是票务经纪人。 它还教会了我现金流和管理库存的重要性。”

目前,库存管理已占用了Pablo的大部分公寓。 “我们将所有物品从我的公寓中运出。 到处都有盒子。”

库存增加与需求增加并驾齐驱。 最初,面具订单来自路易斯维尔都会区。 “当我们刚开始销售口罩时,我通常会花一天的时间在汽车上运送口罩,”帕勃罗说。 “但是当我们开始在电视上做广告时,一切都改变了。” 布朗和埃尔南德斯在宾夕法尼亚州费城的一家电视台接受采访时便开始与一家本地媒体公司合作。 “采访之后,我们开始从各地获得订单。 昨晚,Pablo与来自洛杉矶的回头客通了电话。 人们总是在打电话询问订单。”布朗说。 这家当地媒体公司还帮助他们在中西部以外的多个市场投放了两人的电视广告,包括在夏威夷投放广告。

增加的形象意味着增加团队。 Secure Mask拥有六到十名兼职员工,其中许多人还属于UofL本科生。 “在商学院当实习生,使我学会了很多与人合作的知识,”埃尔南德斯说。 “直接与Sharon Handy和市场团队合作,使我了解了项目管理和团队合作的重要性。”

布朗还将其事业的成功归因于他在大学期间的经历。 “我遇到了很多在不同经济领域工作或认识的人。 我的教授帮助我展示了一个真正的工作场所的样子。” 埃尔南德斯表示同意,并补充说:“他们一直不仅仅是教授。 我将在教室外面与他们交谈,并且知道如果我对任何问题有任何疑问,我可以找他们。 他们比教授要多。”

当Pablo和Matthew看到商机时,Secure Mask公司了解到,这不仅仅是制造口罩。 “他们(帕勃罗的父母)已经开展了多项业务,并且看到他们如何开展业务,总是引起我的注意。” 这种做生意的权利包括支持社区中最弱势的群体。 安全口罩网站上有一个部分,允许人们为面临医疗或经济困难的人们免费获得口罩。

随着即将到来的学年即将来临,帕勃罗和马修都继续在工作,学校和生活之间取得平衡。 “随着我们开始扩大规模,获得资本的机会将是一个巨大的挑战。 马修说:“安全面罩必须保持大量库存,因此我们必须有大量资本来投资库存并进行日常运营。” “在课堂内外都有很多东西要学习。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Securing A Community

July 2, 2020 Jim Warner

The most successful entrepreneurs will always point to their capacity to recognize opportunity as a fundamental element of their success. Founded by College of Business undergrads Pablo Hernandez and Matthew Brown, The Secure Mask company was founded to meet the public demand for comfortable, reusable face masks in the wake of COVID-19. But it can’t just be an opportunity—it’s a culmination of preparedness, resources, and connecting the dots which move opportunity into success.

“I always had an entrepreneurial spirit, which I believe comes from my parents,” says Hernandez, a senior marketing major. He has tested the entrepreneurial waters with several ventures during his time at UofL, including photography and owning coffee roaster, Herns Coffee. Hernandez’s parents have been involved in textiles and manufacturing—a direct connection that helped to jumpstart The Secure Mask.

Matthew Brown’s passion for finance and investment has helped to give the duo a solid fiscal foundation. Like Pablo, Matthew has already built a successful enterprise—he has been a ticket broker since 2016. “Building my ticket brokerage allowed me to learn how to interact with both business-to-business clients and business to consumers. It also taught me the importance of cash flow and managing inventory.”

That inventory management currently occupies much of Pablo’s apartment. “We ship everything out from my apartment. There are boxes everywhere.”

Ramping up inventory has gone hand-in-hand with an increase in demand. Initially, mask orders were from the Louisville metro area. “When we first started selling the masks, I used to spend part of the day delivering them in my car,” says Pablo. “But that all changed when we started doing ads on television.” Brown and Hernandez began working with a local media company when they were interviewed by a television station in Philadelphia, PA. “After that [interview], we started getting orders from all over. Pablo was on the phone with a repeat customer from LA last night. Folks call at all hours about orders,” said Brown. The local media company has also helped place television spots for the duo in a variety of markets beyond the Midwest, including running ads in Hawaii.

The increased profile means increasing the team. The Secure Mask has between six to ten part-time employees, many of them also UofL undergrads. “Being an intern at the College of Business taught me a lot about working with people,” says Hernandez. “Working directly with Sharon Handy and the marketing team helped me understand the importance of project management and teamwork.”

Brown also attributes their venture’s success to his time at the College. “I’ve met a lot of people [who] work or know people in different sectors of the economy. My professors have helped show me what a real workplace looks like.” Hernandez agreed, adding, “They have always been more than just professors. I will talk to them outside of the classroom and know that if I had any questions about anything, I could come to them. They are more mentors than professors.”

While Pablo and Matthew saw a business opportunity, The Secure Mask company understands it is much more than just making masks. “They [Pablo’s parents] have started multiple businesses, and seeing how they do business, always called my attention.” That sense of doing business right includes supporting the most vulnerable in the community. The Secure Mask website features a section that allows people to receive free masks to those facing medical or financial hardship.

With an upcoming school year just around the corner, both Pablo and Matthew continue to strike a balance between work, school, and life. “As we begin to scale, gaining access to capital will be a big challenge. The Secure Mask has to keep a lot of inventory on hand, so we have to have a lot of capital to invest in inventory and run the day to day operations,” says Matthew. “There’s a lot to learn both in and out of the classroom.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian