跳到主要内容

政府政策对健康结果的影响

April 13, 2022
用保健医学图标排列木块的男士手

何塞·费尔南德斯, 博士,研究政府政策对人口健康结果的影响。 最近,他研究了 关于阿片类药物相关住院的医用大麻政策. 通过家庭种植条款或合法的娱乐性大麻不受控制地获取大麻与阿片类药物相关住院的增加有关。 但是,没有发现通过药房获得的医用大麻有关联。 这项研究表明,希望增加获得医用大麻的社区应该通过使用药房而不是家庭种植来实现。 

费尔南德斯教授还在从事两个关于自杀的项目。 第一项研究检查了限制获得止痛药的药厂立法对州自杀率的溢出效应。 结果表明,药丸厂立法与降低 4% 的自杀率、8.7% 的女性自杀率、4.2% 的白人自杀率和 14% 的药物相关自杀率有关。 

第二项研究询问验尸官和法医对自杀的判断是否不同。 体检医师是受过培训的专业人员,他们被任命。 验尸官不一定受过医学教育并且是选举产生的。 当我们比较这两种类型的验尸官时,验尸官少报了 8.6% 到 16% 的自杀死亡人数。 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Government Policies Effect on Health Outcomes

April 13, 2022
Men's hand arranging wood blocks with healthcare medicine icons

Jose Fernandez, PhD, studies the effect of government policies on population health outcomes. Recently, he has studied the effect of medical marijuana policies on opioid-related hospital admissions. Uncontrolled access to marijuana through home cultivation provisions or legal recreational marijuana is associated with an increase in opioid-related hospitalizations. However, no association is found for medical marijuana obtained through dispensaries. This research would suggest that communities who would like to increase access to medical marijuana should do so through the use of dispensaries, not home cultivation. 

Prof. Fernandez is also working on two projects about suicide. The first study examines the spillover effects of Pill Mill legislation, which limits access to pain medication, on the state suicide rate. The results show that pill mill legislation is associated with reductions in the suicide rate by 4%, the female suicide rate by 8.7%, the suicide rate among Whites by 4.2%, and the drug-related suicide rate by 14%. 

The second study asks if coroners and medical examiners determine suicide differently. Medical examiners are trained professionals who are appointed. Coroners are not necessarily medically educated and are elected. When we compare the two types of examiners coroners under-report the number of suicide deaths by 8.6 to 16 percent. 

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish