跳到主要内容

赛车调查员证书

3年2020月XNUMX日
约翰·韦恩和其他ROAP官员

马业计划与国际赛车专员协会(ARCI)合作,于5年6月2020日至100日主办了有史以来的第一个赛车研究者证书计划。超过XNUMX个行业专家参加了包括马和马房安全,搜索,未经批准的比赛和同等下注。 会议由行业专家主持,包括内布拉斯加州赛车委员会执行主任汤姆·塞奇(Tom Sage),ARCI总裁兼首席执行官埃德·马丁(Ed Martin)和萨姆·休斯顿赛马场(Sam Houston Race Park)安全和停车主管Don Donrens。

赛马场和赛车委员会雇用调查人员检查违反规则,进行讯问并在赛马场进行取证活动。 最初,调查员是由纯种赛车保护局(TRPB)雇用的,在现场聚会期间被安排在成员赛道上。 TRPB建立了诸如唇纹身之类的控件来帮助识别赛马,并通过更透明的产品帮助该行业向前发展。 多年来,种族调查员一直与赛道管理,执法和监管机构合作,以阻止种族固定,虐待动物,洗钱,下注诈骗等等。  

种族调查员培训计划的想法来自行业资深人士,已故的约翰·韦恩(上图,中部)。 他被认为是美国赛车规则方面最重要的权威之一。 韦恩的职业生涯包括数十年的经验,曾在美国和加拿大的28个赛道担任首席研究员,并最终担任特拉华州纯种赛车委员会的执行总监。 他具有非凡的赛车知识,并且以其正直而闻名。 第一次培训是献给他的。

随着资深调查人员退休,他们无法指导和培训年轻的调查人员,ARCI的领导层意识到有必要为新一代调查人员提供更好的教育。 ARCI的领导层设想培训将演变为类似于赛车官员认证计划(ROAP)的全面认证计划,作为发展未来赛车调查员的途径。 UofL马产业计划还与一群行业利益相关者共同制定了ROAP。 它为赛马业的所有赛车官员,管家和裁判提供认证和继续教育。

对于参加培训的人员,下一步是在获得证书之前通过考试。 最终目标是使赛车委员会和赛道要求所有研究人员完成“赛车调查员证书计划”并参加以后的继续教育课程。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Racing Investigator Certificate

December 3, 2020
John Wayne and other ROAP officials

The Equine Industry Program, in collaboration with the Association of Racing Commissioners International (ARCI), hosted the first-ever Racing Investigator Certificate Program virtually on October 5-6, 2020. Over 100 industry professionals participated in sessions that included horse and barn safety, searches, unsanctioned racing, and pari-mutuel wagering.  Sessions were led by industry professionals including Tom Sage, Executive Director of the Nebraska Racing Commission, Ed Martin, President and CEO of ARCI, and Don Ahrens, Director of Security and Parking at Sam Houston Race Park.

Investigators are employed by racetracks and racing commissions to examine rules violations, perform interrogations, and conduct evidence-gathering operations at racetracks. Originally, investigators were hired by the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau (TRPB) and were placed at member tracks during live meets. The TRPB instituted controls like lip tattoos to help with racehorse identification and helped the industry move forward with a more transparent product. Over the years, race investigators have worked with track management, law enforcement, and regulatory agencies to stop race-fixing, animal abuse, money laundering, wagering scams, and more.  

The idea for a race investigator’s training program came from industry veteran, the late John Wayne (pictured above, center). He was considered to be one of the foremost authorities on racing regulation in the United States. Wayne’s career encompassed decades of experience working as lead investigator at 28 tracks across the U.S. and Canada and culminated in him serving as the Executive Director for the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission. He had phenomenal knowledge of racing and was known for his integrity. This first training was dedicated to him.

With veteran investigators retiring before they could mentor and train younger investigators, ARCI’s leadership saw the need for better education for a new generation of investigators. ARCI’s leadership envisions the training to evolve into a full accreditation program similar to the Racing Officials Accreditation Program (ROAP) as a pathway for developing future race investigators. The UofL Equine Industry Program also developed the ROAP with a group of industry stakeholders. It provides accreditation and continuing education to all racing officials, stewards, and judges in the horse racing industry.

For those who attended the training, their next step is to pass an exam prior to receiving their certificate. The eventual goal is for racing commissions and racetracks to mandate that all investigators complete the Racing Investigator Certificate Program and participate in future Continuing Education sessions.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian