跳到主要内容

新管理专业

2020年5月25日 吉尔Wegenast
Carl Maertz博士,管理总监

着眼于项目管理以及定量技能,新的管理专业希望通过提高其在就业市场上的竞争优势的技能来为其毕业生定位。

“在进一步强调项目管理的同时,我们的学位将使[我们的学生]为更多的工作做好准备-可能使他们的前景翻倍或翻倍,”管理学系主任Carl Maertz博士说。

“传统上,其他学校的管理学位集中于人力资源或组织策略/行为,这实际上限制了您的选择。” Maertz称赞UofL对项目管理的高度重视是向前迈出的重要一步,“基本上,作为管理专业,您正在寻找HR的职业,为家族企业工作或去读研究生。”

项目管理已经从IT /技术领域发展而来,与大学的“培养本科生经验”(CUE)结合使用时,被视为必不可少的。 “项目管理与CUE一起,不仅为我们的学生提供了真实的体验,而且基于项目/团队驱动的特性恰恰是企业在查看组织结构图时希望从候选人中看到的东西,” Maertz说。 此外,管理计划还提供三种不同的CUE课程供您选择:策略,社区外展咨询和小型企业咨询。

随着企业继续在候选人中寻找认证基准,管理学位还为学生准备了在初三时就参加CAP-M考试的准备。 针对具有项目管理敏锐度的本科生,CAP-M认证可以视为迈向PMP的垫脚石。 “鼓励参加CAP-M预备课程的学生在完成课程后的一个月内参加考试,” Maertz说。 “在我们的专业范围内接受此[CAP-M]意味着我们的学生已准备好在毕业后处理从低级项目管理到入门级操作职位的管理培训课程。”

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

New Management Major

May 21, 2020 Jill Wegenast
Carl Maertz, PhD, Director of Management

With a focus on project management as well as quantitive skills, the new management major looks to position its graduates with skills that increase their competitive advantage in the job market.

“With an added emphasis on project management, our degree will prepare [our students] for a larger variety of jobs—perhaps doubling or tripling their prospects,” says Management Department Chair, Carl Maertz, PhD.

“Traditionally, management degrees at other schools have focused on human resources or organizational strategy/behavior, which really limits your options.” Maertz totes the UofL’s increased focus on project management as a significant step forward, “Basically, as a management major, you’re looking at a career in HR, working for a family business, or heading to graduate school.”

Project management has evolved out of the IT/tech world to be seen as essential when paired with the University’s Culminating Undergraduate Experience (CUE). “Project management, alongside CUE, gives our students not only real-world experience, but its project-based/team-driven nature is exactly what businesses want to see in its candidates as they look at their org charts,” says Maertz. Additionally, the management program offers a choice of three different CUE courses: Strategy, Community Outreach-Consultation, and Small Business Consulting.

As businesses continue to look for certification benchmarks in their candidates, the management degree also prepares students to take the CAP-M exam as early as their Junior year. Geared towards undergraduates with project management acumen, the CAP-M certification can be seen as a stepping stone towards a PMP. “Students who take the CAP-M prep are encouraged to take the exam within a month of completing the course,” says Maertz. “Taking this [CAP-M] within our major means our students are ready to handle low-level project management to entry-level ops positions to management training programs upon graduation.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian