跳到主要内容

可持续的成功

1年2022月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
马克·斯皮格尔,明矾

“我们在建立公司的同时也在学习,”Marc Spiegel 笑着说。 “我们曾经开车去法兰克福只是为了注册 LLC,因为我们不知道你可以在网上注册。”

联合创办近14年 鲁比康科技 与高中朋友 Nate Morris 一起,Marc 取得了长足的进步。 Marc Spiegel 是路易斯维尔人,现居住在佐治亚州亚特兰大,在 COVID-19 大流行之前,Rubicon 曾在那里担任领导办公室。 两届毕业生 路易斯维尔大学, Marc 获得了体育管理本科学位和公共管理研究生学位。

“我想学习体育生意……我的计划是大学毕业后去法学院做一名体育经纪人,”他说。 这些计划发生了变化,马克开始涉足废物管理家族企业。

超越家族企业

他的家人自 1909 年以来一直从事固体废物和回收行业。在完成本科学位后,他开始与表弟一起开展一个新项目,并激发了灵感。 “我有机会与表弟一起创业,并意识到有机会使用数据技术彻底改变 [废物和回收] 体验。”

Marc 与 Nate 重新建立了联系,他们两人开始建造后来成为 Rubicon 的东西。 “我们借鉴了我在固体废物和回收领域的经验,并问道,‘我们如何在关注可持续成果的同时,通过使用数据和技术重新构想这个行业?’”

于是,卢比孔诞生了。 如今,它是废物和回收行业基于云的解决方案的领先供应商,为世界各地的企业和政府提供服务。 通过该公司的软件解决方案套件,各种组织都可以监控他们的废物是如何管理的,跟踪他们的回收率,并了解他们从垃圾填埋场转移了多少废物。 Rubicon 通过其数字平台收集、分析和呈现这些信息,以便客户可以就他们的废物运营做出更明智的决策,并执行他们的可持续发展目标。

该公司自成立以来取得了巨大的成功。 如果马克对这一成功有任何疑问,那么当他在 40 年被列入亚特兰大商业纪事的 40 位 2016 岁以下人士名单时,他们就被抛弃了,这距离公司在该市开设办事处仅五年。

“无论何时你搬到某个地方,你都必须有机会创建自己的网络并创建自己的名字,”马克说。 “那是我喜欢的东西。 这是一种尊重的表现,社区中的人们认可了我们所做的一些事情,不仅是我,还有我们令人难以置信的团队。”

保持联系

Marc 仍然对路易斯维尔和 UofL 充满热情。 他经常访问并随时了解大学发生的事情。 “我和我的妻子把路易斯维尔放在心上。 只要有可能,我们就会为卡片欢呼。 作为一所大学,我们需要有抱负。 每次招聘时,我们都需要弄清楚谁是绝对最好的,以及如何才能得到他们。 然后我们需要尽我们所能来获得它们。 我们需要全面地这样思考。”

Marc 对 UofL 的任何学生、教职员工、员工或校友的最佳建议是不要卖空自己。 “我认为,当你身边有志向远大的人时,你往往会出类拔萃,因为你追求伟大而不是接受平庸。 有时你需要相信你的人的额外推动,但你必须有能力自己去做。 它能给你带来多少,真是太疯狂了。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Sustainable Success

May 1, 2022 Ali Pfeiffer
Marc Spiegel, Alum

“We were learning as we were building the company,” says Marc Spiegel, with a laugh. “We once drove to Frankfort just to register the LLC because we didn’t know you could do that online.”

In the nearly 14 years since co-founding Rubicon Technologies with high school friend Nate Morris, Marc has come a long way. A native of Louisville, Marc Spiegel now lives in Atlanta, GA where, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, Rubicon once maintained a leadership office. A two-time graduate of the University of Louisville, Marc obtained his undergraduate degree in sports administration and a graduate degree in public administration.

“I wanted to learn the business of sport…my plans were to go to law school after college and be a sports agent,” he says. Those plans changed, and Marc got involved with the family business of waste management.

Beyond the Family Business

His family has been in the solid waste and recycling industry since 1909. After completing his undergraduate degree, he started working with his cousin on a new project and inspiration struck. “I had the opportunity to work with my cousin on a startup and realized that there was an opportunity to use data technology to revolutionize the [waste and recycling] experience.”

Marc reconnected with Nate and the two of them started building what would become Rubicon. “We took my experience in the solid waste and recycling space and asked, ‘How can we reimagine this industry through the use of data and technology while focusing on sustainable outcomes?’”

Thus, Rubicon was born. Today it is a leading provider of cloud-based solutions for the waste and recycling sector, serving businesses and governments around the world. Through the company’s suite of software solutions, organizations of all kinds can monitor how their waste is managed, track their recycling rates, and understand how much waste they are diverting from landfills. Rubicon collects, analyzes, and presents this information via its digital platform so customers can make more informed decisions about their waste operations, and execute their sustainability goals.

The company has seen great success since its inception. If Marc had any doubts about that success, they were cast aside when he was named to the Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 40 Under 40 list in 2016, a mere five years after the company opened its office in the city.

“Whenever you move somewhere, you have to have the opportunity to create your own network and create your own name,” Marc says. “That was something I relished. It was a sign of respect that the people in the community recognized some of what we were doing, not just me, but our incredible team.”

Staying Connected

Marc is still very involved in and passionate about Louisville and UofL. He frequently visits and stays informed on what’s happening at the University. “My wife and I hold Louisville close to our hearts. We cheer for the Cards whenever we can. We as a university need to be aspirational. With every hire we make, we need to figure out who is the absolute best and what will it take to go get them. And then we need to do everything in our power to get them. We need to think like that across the board.”

The best advice Marc has for any student, faculty member, staff, or alumni from UofL is to not sell yourself short. “I think when you surround yourself with people who are aspirational, you tend to excel because you chase greatness instead of accepting mediocrity. Sometimes you need that extra push from somebody who believes in you, but you have to be empowered to do it yourself. It’s wild how much that can bring you.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish