跳到主要内容

奠定基础:生活在TILE

20年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
三个UofL女性新生商业专业互锁武器和站在Frazier Hall中庭。

只有我们本科生学到的一小部分来自于在课堂上; 考虑数学:一个学期的平均学生在12和15学分之间学习。 在一个二十四小时的时钟里,一名学生(充其量)将每天上课三到五个小时。 为学生的其余部分提供编程和支持是莱因哈特学术中心等计划的核心。 

商学院希望学生成为终身学习者,灌输这种知识欲望的最佳方法之一就是确定成长和受教育时刻相交的地方。 考虑我们的学生如何将他们的未来融入课桌后,还远远不够; 学生需要看到他们的未来反映在学生生活的各个方面,包括尤其是宿舍。 对于许多人来说,住宅生活是对自由的第一次品味和考验。

Living Learning Communities(LLC)是一个住宿计划,允许拥有共同兴趣的不同学生群体共同生活和组成社区。 学生参加共享课程和课程,作为他们初步过渡到大学社区的一部分。

LLC,TILE(通过领导力和企业家精神实现兴旺和创新)中的计划专为希望发展个人领导风格的企业的学生而设计,同时与领导者,企业家和未来商业专业人士的LLC群体进行交流。 TILE还强调了学术参与,驾驭生活转型以及如何利用创新来解决问题的重要性。 TILE的参与者住在同一楼层,一起上课,并接受专注于学术,商业职业和社交活动的专业课程。

莱因哈特学术中心协调TILE的活动和生活安排。 从他们最初的接触到新生入学和编程到一年之前,学术辅导员努力确保这种体验令学生难忘并改变生活。

'22的等级

今年的TILE学生花了几分钟的时间,你会听到几个关键词在他们的情绪中得到回应:合作,社区,
支持,友谊。 他们通往UofL的路径与他们的品味和兴趣不同,但TILE课程分享了一条直线,即成为学生的愿望。

“我是一个非常有信心的高中生,所以我认为我会上大学,只是参加所有这些课程,结交很多朋友,并在我的新生一年结束之前统治这个校园,而这些都没有行销专业的新生Coliwe Mhlanga说。 经过一阵思乡之情和孤独感,Coliwe依靠自己的TILE伙伴,发现她的同龄人也经历了类似的经历。 “当她[同住伴侣Emma Bussabarger]谈论自己的感觉时,我感到非常惊讶……知道我并不孤单,可以与她交谈是如此重要。”

建立联系

在2018-19学年,TILE由居住在路易斯维尔大厅的40全职新生商业专业人士组成。 他们都采用了CAMP 100(一般定向类)和CIS 250。 TILE学生还参加了春季学期的ECON 202。

会计专业Abby Hall已经开始欣赏她的TILE-mates的可访问性。 “很高兴知道我可以随时向LLC中的某人发送关于我的家庭作业的快速文本,并且他们也可以给我留言......我认为我没有机会觉得我可以依靠这些人如果我不在TILE。 走下大厅并互相交谈是如此容易。“学会伸出援手并互相帮助,不仅让学生们能够像同龄人一样更加接近,而且学生们在TILE的时间也有助于阐明他们自己的技能。 通过合作,该单位变得更加强大。

作为一名来自戏剧艺术背景的学生,Shelby Nasser了解不同的特质如何能够共同构建一个成功的节目 - 或者在这种情况下 - LLC。 “与具有不同优势的人在同一楼层非常重要,因为我们中的一些人是更好的笔记或更有组织的课堂......其他人更有创造力的思想家,因此能够将这些不同的优势结合在一起使我们更加成功。 “这些经历有助于编纂她的信念,即在商学院做正确的决定。 “许多艺术家都没有商业头脑和TILE,辅导员帮助向我展示了如何将这些技能融入艺术并获得成功。”

社区领导

在课堂之外,TILE的学生们有幸听取了路易斯维尔商业界的许多当地领导人的声音,包括安妮·哈洛和莱斯利·威尔逊(Hi-Five Doughnuts的创始人),查克·丹尼(Chuck Denny)(PNC银行区域行长)和马克·霍曼(Mark Hohmann(肯塔基州善意工业公司首席财务官)。

“会见这些领导人对我来说非常重要,”营销专业谢尔比纳赛尔说。 “这些专业人士告诉我们,到处都有商业场所,如果你努力工作并相信自己,你就可以成为一名企业家。 听力确实对我有所帮助。“

最近,他们对海涅兄弟的实地考察意味着另一种学习经历,导航TARC。 “这是我第一次[在TARC上]并且不确定 - 或者它与学生班车有什么不同。 这只是几站,但这是我们一起经历的事情,“纳赛尔,Mhlanga和Bussabargers在这次旅行中分享了一些笑声。

宿舍生活

学习合作只是TILE旨在教导其学生的体验的一部分。 协商公共空间也就是宿舍生活。 “我只和家人一起生活,所以学习其他人如何在共享空间中生活是一个很棒的经历。” 安娜·布萨巴格(Anna Bussabarger)和她的双胞胎妹妹爱玛(Emma)可能在同一屋檐下长大,但在这里,他们不得不彼此远离地寻找室友的经历。 在改变的同时,也赋予了两者成长为个体的机会。 对于Emma来说,拥有这样的空间很重要,“我想和一个我不认识的人住在一起,并且还必须克服这些挑战。 有时候压力很大,但完全值得。”

TILE后的生活

在这些TILE学生的一年即将结束之际,他们中的许多人将作为室友一起前进,选择了包括The Nine在内的各种学生宿舍,并保证了游戏之夜,并与Frazier的走廊外保持联系大厅。 不管他们从这里开始的旅程如何,今年的TILE不仅使从高中到大学的过渡变得更加容易,而且还使这群积极进取的学生在商业世界上有了真正的开端,这将变得更具挑战性且竞争日益激烈。

“看着这些学生一年中成长真是一种乐趣,”学术顾问凯蒂·埃瑟里奇说。 “从CAMP到现在,它一直很精彩,是莱因哈特学术中心工作中最好的部分之一。”

“大学可以感觉你是唯一一个经历过它的人,但实际上,我们都在搞清楚,发现自己是大学生。 我们也在想弄清楚我们想要做些什么,以及能为这个社区带来什么,“Coliwe Mhlanga带着认真的微笑说道。 “在TILE中帮助我建立联系和联系。 这是一次了不起的经历。“

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Laying the foundation: Life in TILE

May 20, 2019 Jim Warner
Three UofL female freshman business majors interlocking arms and standing in the Frazier Hall atrium.

Only a fraction of what our undergrads learn comes from being in the classroom; consider the math: an average student is taking between 12 and 15 credit hours a semester. In a twenty-four hour clock, a student (at best) will be in class for three to five hours a day. Offering programming and support for the remainder of a student’s life is core to programs such as the Reinhardt Academic Center. 

The College of Business wants its students to be lifelong learners, and one of the best ways to instill this desire of knowledge is to identify where growth and teachable moments intersect. It is not nearly enough to think about how our students engage their future behind a school desk; students need to see their future reflected in all aspects of student life, including and especially the residence hall. For many, residential living is the first taste, and test, of freedom.

Living Learning Communities (LLC) are residential programs that allow a diverse group of students who share in a common interest to live and form a community together. Students participate in shared courses and programs as part of their initial transition into the greater college community.

A program within LLC, TILE (Thriving and Innovation through Leadership and Entrepreneurship) is designed for students majoring in business who want to develop individual leadership styles while engaging with leaders, entrepreneurs, and the LLC cohort of future business professionals. TILE also emphasizes the importance of academic engagement, navigating life’s transitions, and how to use innovation to solve problems. Participants of TILE live on the same floor, take classes together, and receive specialized programming focusing on academics, business careers, and social engagement.

The Reinhardt Academic Center coordinates TILE’s activities and living arrangements. From their initial contacts predating Freshmen orientation and programming through the year, the academic counselors work to ensure this experience is memorable and life-changing for the students.

The Class of ‘22

Spend more than a few minutes with this year’s TILE students, and you will hear a few key words echoed in their sentiments: collaboration, community,
support, friendship. Their paths to UofL are as different as their tastes and interests, but the TILE class shares a through-line, the desire to succeed as students.

“I was a very confident high school student, so I figured that I would come to college and I would just take all these classes, have a ton of friends, and dominate this campus by the end of my freshmen year, and none of that happened,” says freshmen marketing major Coliwe Mhlanga. Through bouts of homesickness and loneliness, Coliwe came to lean on her TILE-mates, discovering that her peers were going through similar experiences.  “When she [TILE-mate Emma Bussabarger] talked about feeling how she was feeling, I was so surprised… to know I wasn’t alone and could talk to her was so important.”

Making Connections

In the 2018-19 academic year, TILE consists of 40 full-time Freshmen business majors who live in Louisville Hall. They have all taken CAMP 100 (a general orientation class) and CIS 250. TILE students also took ECON 202 in the Spring semester.

Accounting major Abby Hall has come to appreciate the accessibility to her TILE-mates. “It’s nice to know that I can shoot a quick text to someone in the LLC about my homework anytime and that they can message me as well… I don’t think I would have had a chance to feel like I could lean on these people if I wasn’t in TILE. It’s so easy to go down the hall and talk to one another.” Learning to reach out and help one another has not only allowed for the students to grow closer as peers, but the students’ time in TILE has helped illuminate their own skillsets. Through collaboration, the unit becomes stronger.

As a student who comes from a theater arts background, Shelby Nasser understands how different traits can pull together to build a successful show — or in this case — LLC. “Being on the same floor with people who have different strengths has been important since some of us are better note takers or more organized for the classroom… others are more creative thinkers so being able to put these different strengths together make us all more successful.” These experiences have helped codify her belief that being at the College of Business was the right decision. “A lot of artists are not business minded and TILE and the counselors have helped to show me how you can take these skills into the arts and be successful.”

Community Leadership

Beyond the classroom, TILE students have had the opportunity to hear a variety of local leaders from Louisville’s business community including Annie Harlow & Leslie Wilson (founders of Hi-Five Doughnuts), Chuck Denny (Regional President, PNC Bank), and Mark Hohmann (CFO, Goodwill Industries of Kentucky).

“Meeting these leaders has been so important to me,” says marketing major Shelby Nasser. “These professionals have told us there is a place for business everywhere and you can be an entrepreneur if you work hard and believe in yourself. Hearing that has really helped me the most.”

Recently, their field trip to Heine Brothers meant another learning experience, navigating TARC. “It was on my first time [on TARC] and wasn’t sure about it—or how it’d be different from the student shuttle. It was only a few stops, but it was something we got to experience together,” as Nasser, Mhlanga, and the Bussabargers shared a laugh over the trip.

Dorm Life

Learning to work together is only part of the experience TILE aims to teach its students. There is also the aspect of negotiating the communal space that is dorm life. “I’ve only lived with my family, so learning how other people live in a shared spaced has been a great experience.”  Anna Bussabarger and her twin sister Emma may have grown up under the same roof, but here they had to discover the roommate experience away from one another. While a change, it’s given both an opportunity to grow as individuals. For Emma it was important to have that space, “I wanted to live with someone I didn’t know and had to work through those challenges as well. It’s been stressful at times but totally worth it.”

Life After TILE

While the year for these TILE students is drawing to a close, many of them are going to move on together as roommates, opting for a variety of student housing including The Nine, with promises of game nights and keeping in touch beyond the hallways at Frazier Hall. Regardless of their journey from here, this year in TILE has not only made the transition from high school to college easier, but it has also given this highly motivated group of students a true head start on a business world which becomes more challenging and increasingly competitive.

“It is truly a pleasure watching these students grow over the year,” says Academic Counselor, Sr. Katie Etheridge. “From CAMP to now, it’s been wonderful and is one of the best parts of my job here at the Reinhardt Academic Center.”

“College can feel like you’re the only one going through it, but in reality, we are all figuring it out and discover ourselves as college students. We are also figuring out what we want to do with our lives, and what can bring to this community,” Coliwe Mhlanga says with an earnest smile. “Being in TILE has helped me connect and bond. It’s been an amazing experience.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian