跳到主要内容

通过变革保持稳定

4年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
凯瑟琳·海恩斯,商业学院

凯瑟琳·海恩斯(Katherine Haynes)于2002年开始在商学院学习。在UofL的18年中,她曾在三位教务长(外加一名临时教务长)的工作下,看到弗雷泽·霍尔(Frazier Hall)扩展到包括马术和企业家精神部门,并观察了无数的计划适应大学发展和发展以满足学生需求的变化和变化。 凯瑟琳说:“我在学院遇到了一些最有才华和最敏感的教职员工。” “有些事已经过去了,但是我将永远感激认识他们。”

即使学院已经适应冠状病毒大流行,但凯瑟琳仍然是固定的,无论是在虚拟会议中作为多样性和包容性委员会的成员还是在会计办公室进行远程工作。 凯瑟琳的经历和同情心引起了学生的共鸣-许多人都将她视为导师。 对她的工作和在职学生的奉献使她获得了凯瑟琳大学商学院优秀员工奖(2011年和2018年再次授予她)。 我们最近与Katherine谈了她在学院的时间。

  • T让我们了解您的商学院之路。 从公共部门向高等教育的过渡对您意味着什么?

在1973年获得社会工作学士学位后,我在KY州儿童福利局担任了社会工作者,但工作短暂。 我对普通民众的状况感到惊讶-我尽了我所能帮助,但是却在情感上给我造成了损失。 因此,我决定通过进入商业世界以其他方式帮助人们。 在零售行业中,我与买家合作,了解了销售,市场营销,纺织行业,时装和广告的知识。 我通过帮助消费者做出购买决定来了解客户服务,这意味着我必须非常了解产品。 我最终成为我们计算机库存部门的助理总监。 我曾与联邦政府下属的人口普查局合作-培训非常广泛,但我发现这项工作非常有趣。 我换了工作,在保险业工作,那里的客户关心风险管理。 我在第一国民银行的一家银行子公司工作了19年,该公司的会计业务由旅行服务部门管理。 这个部门很大,每周处理和管理数百个旅行服务帐户和大约1万份文档。 在处理其他领域(例如应收账款部门,欺诈部门和广告部门)的许多公司业务的帐户时,我学到了很多有关业务运作的知识。 一方面,我们中的一些人被选来帮助企业家发展一家如今价值数百万美元的支付处理公司。

当我进入工作世界时,我从一台打字机开始,但是经过多年的培训,他才掌握了几乎所有东西的计算机化技术。 我和我丈夫是三个孩子的父母时,不得不处理工作/生活问题。 没有上帝的恩典,没有家人和朋友,邻居和学校的支持,我无法保持这种步伐。 此外,我遇到了非常出色的人才并与他们合作,他们提供了很棒的团队合作,灵感,帮助和合作。

到我来UofL时,我已经有29年的工作经验。 当我来到这个机构工作时,步伐似乎越来越慢,因此我不得不适应。 它更有利于思考和学习。

  • 许多学生将您视为导师和值得信赖的知己。 这些年来,您如何与学生建立这种关系?

与学生合作一直是有益的。 当他们开始了解周围的世界时,看到他们发生转变是令人满足的。 我试图为工作经验有限的本地和国际学生提供机会,因为作为助教工作是学习和养成良好工作习惯的好时机。 当然,有些人为成绩苦苦挣扎,但我一直鼓励他们继续努力。 我还认为工作应该很有趣,所以我确保他们被包括在学院的某些职能中,而且他们知道庆祝和幽默很重要。 一名学生评论说,他感谢我有兴趣让他感到自己属于自己。 这些学生非常聪明-我为他们(完成任务后)提供了一个安静的学习场所,并坚持要他们利用它。 现在,许多人都有成功的职业生涯-有些人已经获得了高级学位。 有些人回来并向我提及,我树立了树立良好的职业道德意味着什么的良好榜样。

  • 您认为这对您在大学中长寿的关键是什么?

这是一个学习的机构,有很多机会可以这样做。 这里也是一个家庭友好的地方,除此之外,我很幸运地与财务主任和会计学院院长一起工作,从中学到了很多。 此外,我们还有一位院长在乎。

  • 知道您现在知道的知识后,您将为那些开始其职业生涯的人提供哪些建议?

做出最佳选择,善待他人,并帮助他人。 但是,如果您犯了错误,请不要打败自己-没有人是完美的。 这个世界是关于建筑,维修和前进的。 尽量不要对别人有判断力,但要了解他们。 学习所有可能并保持健康。 对大学所在的社区产生兴趣,并尝试帮助它成为一个更好的社区。 到最后,您希望能够说:“我很高兴自己做到了。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Constancy Through Change

February 4, 2021 Jim Warner
Katherine Haynes, College of Business Staff

Katherine Haynes started at the College of Business back in 2002. In her 18 years at UofL, she has worked under three deans (plus an interim dean), seen Frazier Hall expand to include an Equine and Entrepreneurship wing, and observed a myriad of programmatic shifts and changes consistent with a College growing and evolving to meet student needs. “I have met some of the most talented and sensitive faculty and staff at the College,” says Katherine. “Some have passed on, but I will forever be grateful for having known them.”

Even as the College has adjusted to the Coronavirus pandemic, Katherine remains a fixture, be it in virtual meetings as a member of the Diversity and Inclusion committee or working remotely for the Accountancy office. Katherine’s experience and compassion have resonated with students — many of whom see her as a mentor. This dedication to both her work and serving students earned Katherine the College of Business Staff Excellence Award (given to her in 2011 and again in 2018). We spoke to Katherine recently about her time at the College.

  • Tell us about your path to the College of Business. What did that transition from the public sector to higher education mean to you?

After receiving a BA in Social Work in 1973, I had a short stint as a social worker with the KY State Department of Child Welfare. I was astounded at the condition of the general population — I did what I could to help, but it took a toll on me emotionally. So, I decided to help people in other ways by venturing into the world of business. In the retail industry, I worked with buyers, where I learned about sales, marketing, the textile industry, fashion, and advertising. I learned about customer service by helping consumers with purchasing decisions, which meant I had to know the product well. I ultimately became assistant director of our computer inventory department. I worked with the department of the Census, a branch of the Federal government -the training was extensive, but I found this work very interesting. I changed jobs and worked in the insurance industry, where customers were concerned with risk management. I spent 19 years working in a banking subsidiary of the 1st National Bank, where accounting operations were managed in the travel services department. This was a large department that processed and managed hundreds of travel service accounts and about two million documents per week. I learned a lot about how businesses operate as we handled accounts for many corporate businesses in other areas such as the accounts receivables department, the fraud department, and the advertising departments. At one point, several of us were selected to help an entrepreneur develop a payment processing company, which is worth millions today.

When I entered the work world, I started with a typewriter but had to train on the job through the years to master the computerization of nearly everything. My husband and I had to juggle work/ life issues while being parents to three children. Without the grace of God, support from family and friends, neighbors, and school, I could not have maintained this pace. Additionally, I had met and worked with incredibly talented people who provided awesome teamwork, inspiration, assistance, and cooperation.

By the time I came to UofL, I had 29 years of work experience. The pace seemed to be slower and calmer when I came to work in this institution, and I had to adjust to that. It’s more conducive to thinking and learning.

  • Many students have seen you as a mentor and trusted confidant. How have you built these relationships with students over the years?

Working with the students has been rewarding. To see them transform when they began to understand the world around them is gratifying. I tried to give chances to local and international students who had limited work experience because working as a student assistant is a great time to learn and build good work habits. Of course, some struggled with grades, but I always encouraged them to keep trying. I also believe that work should be fun, so I made sure they were included in some of the functions of the College, plus they knew that celebrations and humor were important. One student commented that he appreciated my interest in making him feel that he belonged. These students were pretty intelligent — I provided them a quiet place to study (after completing their tasks) and insisted that they take advantage of it. Many now have successful careers — some have gone on to earn advanced degrees. And some have come back and mentioned to me that I had set a good example of what it means to develop a good work ethic.

  • What do you feel has been the key to your longevity at the College?

This is an institution of learning, and there are so many opportunities to do so. It’s also a family friendly place to be, and aside from that, I’ve been fortunate to work with the chair of Finance and director of the School of Accountancy, from whom I have learned so much. In addition, we have a Dean who cares.

  • Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give to those starting their professional career?

Make the best choices that you can, be kind, and help others. However, don’t beat yourself up if you made mistakes — no one is perfect. This world is about building and repairing, and moving on. Try not to be judgmental of others, but try to understand them. Learn all that you can and keep yourself healthy. Become interested in the community where the University is located and try to help it become a better community. At the end of the day, you want to be able to say, “I’m glad I did that.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian