跳到主要内容

球场之外的目标

1年2022月XNUMX日 阿里·菲佛
凯拉·迪克曼

Kaela Dickerman 于 2018 年毕业于商学院。五年后,她担任 UofL 的营销和传播助理总监 校友关系办公室. Kaela 从毕业到职业的道路绝非一般。 她分享了年轻校友不应该放弃的故事。

告诉我你在 UofL 的本科经历以及你是如何决定攻读市场营销学位的。

我最初来自爱荷华州锡达拉皮兹,但我知道我想出国学习。 当 UofL 的足球教练对我表现出兴趣时,我就来参观并立即爱上了校园和城市。 我喜欢我在 UofL 的四年 [所以] 毕业后我知道路易斯维尔将成为我的新大本营!

我最初上学时是生物专业的,打算去医学院成为一名麻醉师。 我参加了其中一门“淘汰”课程,它把我淘汰了。 大一那年春天,我不得不寻找其他选择,在高度评价商学院的队友的帮助下,我搬到了 市场营销!

你在女子足球队几年了? 在那支球队里是什么样的,你从你在职业生涯中发扬光大的大学运动队中学到了什么?

从 2014 年到 2018 年,我为 UofL 效力了四年。我一生都在踢足球,所以我继续接受教育并继续从事我喜欢的运动非常合适。 加入团队确实是我身份的一部分,并且每年都能让 24 岁左右的其他人经历与我相同的事情,这让我无论作为学生还是运动员都取得了很大的成功。

我在大学运动队中学到了很多东西,但我在职业生涯中能够认识到的最重要的事情是忠诚和团队合作。 如果您相信自己的职业生涯,您就会有动力留下来,并且您将有信心发挥创造力和创新精神。 如果你能够与志同道合的人一起朝着同一个目标努力,那么成功就不是能否成功的问题,而是何时的问题。

告诉我们你大学毕业后的第一份工作。 你现在在哪里,你的学位如何让你为这些机会做好准备?

当我 2018 年从 UofL 毕业时,我心里清楚我的足球生涯还没有结束。 我在瑞士和冰岛踢了两个半赛季的职业足球,直到 2021 年初。试图被招募到职业球队踢球是营销自己的速成课程,所以我能够使用很多东西我学到了,尤其是从数字营销的角度来看。

我于 2021 年开始为 UofL Alumni Relations 兼职工作,并在早期有很多机会在社交媒体营销方面工作。 即使在毕业几年后,我仍然会想起我从一些营销课程中得到的建议。

你目前在大学的角色是什么,你的职责是什么?

我是 UofL 校友关系办公室营销与传播部的助理主任。 一些职责包括社交媒体营销、网站维护、创意内容制作以及为我们的社交活动和 UofL 杂志撰写故事。

我很高兴能够有希望地让更多的年轻校友参与我们的社交活动、网站和活动! 即使在这里工作了很短的时间,我也了解到校友关系比我最初预期的更注重参与和活动。 从后端看到办公室为让我们的校友保持联系和联系而制定的一些计划很酷。

你未来的职业目标是什么?

这很有趣,因为一个足球赛季通常长达 3-5 个月,具体取决于您在哪里踢球。 在获得 UofL 的这份工作之前,我从来没有机会将“未来”看作超过几个月的时间。 说了这么多,我不确定我是否已经决定了我的职业目标! 我喜欢我在 UofL 担任营销和传播角色,因为我认为它结合了一些爱好:营销、内容创作,当然还有 UofL!

你对年轻的校友有什么建议?

在踢了两年多一点的职业足球之后——也就是没有获得任何职业工作经验——我在找工作时遇到了难以置信的困难。 即使是入门级职位,根据以前的经验,我也没有资格。 这真的很难,有时我会后悔打职业比赛,毕业后没有立即开始工作。 但是,即使经过几个月的搜索,我还是能找到一个降落的地方。 在整个搜索过程中,我有很多时刻怀疑自己是否能找到工作。 对于可能处于同一职位的年轻校友来说,工作世界里有一个适合你的位置,虽然现在可能感觉不到,但它会的。 我现在说起来容易,但我知道这是一条非常艰难的道路,我只能说,你明白了,不要放弃!

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Goals Beyond the Pitch

June 1, 2022 Ali Pfeiffer
Kaela Dickerman

Kaela Dickerman graduated from the College of Business in 2018. Five years later, she landed a role as assistant director of Marketing and Communications for UofL’s Alumni Relations Office. Kaela’s path from graduation to career was anything but average. She shares her story of how young alumni should never give up.

Tell me about your undergraduate experience at UofL and how you decided on a marketing degree.

I am originally from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, but I knew I wanted to go out of state to study. When the soccer coach at UofL showed interest in me, I came to visit and immediately fell in love with the campus and city. I loved my four years at UofL [so] after graduating I knew Louisville would be my new home base!

I originally went to school as a biology major, with the intent to go to medical school to become an anesthesiologist. I took one of those “weed out” classes and it weeded me out. I had to look for other options in the spring of my freshmen year and with help from teammates who spoke highly of the business school, I moved over to marketing!

What years were you on the Women’s soccer team? What was being on that team like and what did you learn from being on a college sports team that you have carried forward in your career?

I played for UofL all four years from 2014 to 2018. I’ve played soccer all my life, so it fit well that I got to continue my education and continue playing the sport I love. Being on a team is truly a part of my identity and getting to have 24-ish other people experiencing the same things I was every year allowed me to have a lot of success, both as a student and an athlete.

I learned many things from being on a college sports team, but the biggest things that I’ve been able to recognize in my career are loyalty and teamwork. If you believe in what you’re doing as a career, you’ll feel motivated to stay and you’ll have the confidence to be creative and innovative. If you are able to work with like-minded people towards the same goal, success is not a question of if, but when.

Tell us about your first job out of college. Where are you now and how did your degree prepare you for these opportunities?

When I graduated from UofL in 2018, I knew in my heart my soccer career was not over. I played professional soccer for two and a half seasons in Switzerland and Iceland, up until the beginning of 2021. Trying to get recruited to play on a professional team is a crash course in marketing yourself, so I was able to use a lot of what I learned, especially aspects from a digital marketing perspective.

I started working part-time for UofL Alumni Relations in 2021 and had a lot of opportunities early on to work in the social media marketing side of it. Even a few years out from graduating, there are still moments where I am reminded of the advice I got from some of my marketing courses.

What is your current role at the University and what are your responsibilities?

I am the assistant director of Marketing & Communications in the Alumni Relations office for UofL. Some responsibilities include social media marketing, website maintenance, creative content production, and writing stories for our socials and the UofL Magazine.

I’m excited to get to hopefully engage more young alumni with our socials, website, and events! Even working here for a short period of time I’m learning that alumni relations is more focused on engagement and events than I initially expected. It’s cool to see from the back end some of the plans the office has for keeping our alumni around and connected.

What are your future career goals?

It’s kind of funny, because a soccer season is usually 3-5 months long, depending on where you play. Before getting this job with UofL I never had the opportunity to look at “future” as longer than a few months. All that to say, I’m not sure I’ve decided on my career goals yet! I love that I get to be in a marketing and communications role here at UofL, because I think it combines a few loves: marketing, content creation, and of course, UofL!

What advice do you have for young alumni?

After spending a little over two years playing professional soccer – also known as, not getting any professional work experience – I had incredible difficulties finding a job. Even for entry-level positions, I didn’t qualify based on previous experience. It was really hard and sometimes I regretted playing professionally and not immediately starting a job after graduating. BUT, even after months of searching, I was able to find a place to land. Throughout the search, I had many moments of doubt that I’d ever find a job. To the young alumni who may be in the same position, there is a spot for you in the working world, and although it may not feel like it right now, it will. Easy for me to say now, but I know it’s a very difficult path and all I can say is, you got this, don’t give up!

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish