跳到主要内容

利用经验

27年2022月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
Julio Rodriguez,MBA 学生

最近的 MBA 毕业生 Julio Rodriguez 了解他的学位对他的职业生涯的价值和影响。 这是毕业前几个月吸取的教训。 “我是一个技术主管,但感觉就像我看到了矩阵代码。” 就像电影一样,胡里奥的 MBA 让他看到了他工作的所有方面如何与摩托罗拉解决方案的更大商业模式相互作用。 这种背景有助于使这个世界成为焦点。 结果,距离正式获得文凭还有不到一个学期的时间,摩托罗拉解决方案将 Julio 提升为战略客户业务发展经理。 Julio 相信这个改变游戏规则的机会部分是由他在在线 MBA 项目中的经验提供的。

时机就是一切

时机对胡里奥·罗德里格斯的职业生涯起到了重要作用。 当他准备攻读 MBA 时,Julio 知道他想回到 UofL。 “[商学院]是众所周知的。 它备受推崇,非常有市场。 我知道这将有助于我在摩托罗拉解决方案的职业生涯,因为当他们进入管理层时,他们会在他们的领导者中寻找 MBA 之类的东西。” 这种返回路易斯维尔的愿望恰逢在线 MBA 课程的发展。

该课程的实际结构不仅符合胡里奥的日程安排,而且他还发现在线 MBA 是对他学习风格的补充。 胡里奥被诊断出患有多动症。 “事实上,这些课程是连续的,一次一节课……所有这些事情都为我安排好了,”胡里奥说。 “这只是一个主题的五周,无论我喜欢还是讨厌它,它只会是五周......这是一个非常压缩的时间表,你知道,多动症,这很有帮助,因为帮助我的第一件事做某事是迫在眉睫的最后期限。 好像是一个很短的期限。” 与传统的 15 周学期相比,在线 MBA 课程表让 Julio 不仅可以更轻松地计划和准备,而且可以在课堂上表现出色。

除了课程结构,Julio 还认为队列模型帮助他在项目中取得成功。 “我是销售和营销。 [在我们的队列中] 还有另一个销售和营销人员,”Julio 解释道。 “我们有一名质量控制工程师和一名采购人员……我们都有自己的优势。” 能够利用彼此的技能组合意味着对彼此的成长和成功进行更高水平的投资。

甚至在他在摩托罗拉系统公司获得晋升之前,他就已经取得了个人成功。 胡里奥直播 摩托罗拉解决方案 每周五,谈论来自整个公司的科技新闻和产品。 “我可以永远使用我的书呆子力量,”胡里奥笑着说。 

从推广到灵感

虽然他的升职和毕业对 Julio 来说意义重大,但他在 UofL 期间最珍惜的时刻与他的家人直接相关。 

“我想说我最自豪的成就是我成功地驾驭了对我来说如此陌生的东西,比如 MBA,”胡里奥说。 “我父亲和祖父都从福特退休。 我的祖父在波多黎各长大,是一名咖啡农。 他接受过五年级教育……我妈妈在危地马拉长大,12 岁时被芝加哥的传教士收养。所以,就好像我的家庭没有受过教育的血统……所以能够毕业让我的孩子们看到我这样做……他们现在有了我和妻子没有的模板。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Leveraging Experience

May 27, 2022 Jim Warner
Julio Rodriguez, MBA Student

Recent MBA graduate Julio Rodriguez understands the value and impact his degree has on his career. It was a lesson learned months before graduating. “I’m such a tech-head, but it felt like I was seeing the Matrix code.” Like the movie, Julio’s MBA gave him the perspective to see how all the aspects of his work interacted with the larger business model at Motorola Solutions. That context helped to bring this world into focus. As a result, with less than a semester away from officially earning his diploma, Motorola Solutions promoted Julio to Business Development Manager, Strategic Accounts. Julio believes this game-changing opportunity was provided, in part, by his experiences in the online MBA program.

Timing is Everything

Timing has been instrumental in Julio Rodriguez’s professional career. When he was ready to pursue his MBA, Julio knew that he wanted to return to UofL. “[The College of Business] is well known. It’s well regarded and very marketable. I know that it’ll help me with my career at Motorola Solutions because they look for things like an MBA in their leaders as they move into the executive tiers of management.” This desire to return to Louisville coincided with the development of the Online MBA program.

The actual structure of the program not only fit Julio’s schedule, but he also discovered that the online MBA was a complement to his learning style. Julio had been diagnosed with ADHD. “The fact that these classes were sequential, one class at a time…all of these things lined up for me,” says Julio. “It’s just five weeks of this one topic, whether I loved it or hated it, it was only going to be five weeks…it was a very compressed timeline with, you know, ADHD, that helps because the number one thing that helps me do something is impending deadlines. Like it’s a short deadline.” Compared to a traditional 15-week semester, the online MBA schedule made it easier for Julio not only to plan and prepare but excel in the classroom.

Along with the course structure, Julio also credits the cohort model with helping him succeed in the program. “I’m sales and marketing. There was another sales and marketing guy [in our cohort,]” explains Julio. “We had a quality control engineer and  a purchasing person…we all had our strengths.” Being able to lean into one another’s skillsets meant a higher level of investment in each other’s growth and success.

That personal success was present even before his promotion at Motorola Solutions. Julio livestreams for Motorola Solutions every Friday, talking tech news and products from across the company. “I could use my nerd powers for good,” laughs Julio. 

From Promotion to Inspiration

While his promotion and graduation are significant to Julio, the moment he cherishes most during his time at UofL relates directly to his family. 

“I would say my proudest accomplishment is that I successfully navigated something so foreign to me as the MBA,” says Julio. “My dad and my grandfather both retired from Ford. My grandfather grew up a coffee farmer in Puerto Rico. He had a fifth-grade education…and my mom grew up in Guatemala and was adopted by missionaries out of Chicago when she was 12. So, it’s like I don’t have a pedigree of education in my family… So being able to graduate and have my kids see me do it…they now have this template that my wife and I didn’t have.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish