跳到主要内容

设计精神

31年2022月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
索尼娅·福尔爆头

当 Sonja Faul 被命名为 红衣主教精神奖 收件人,队友吉尔韦格纳斯特为她感到兴奋。 “Sonja拥有红衣主教精神奖获得者特有的干劲十足的态度……她脸上挂着微笑处理事务!”

在幕后工作以塑造我们学院与更大社区共享的外观和故事意味着远不止创造红衣主教的红色配色和雅致的布局。 提供固定装置是经过深思熟虑的选择,通过它我们可以扩大我们所做的工作,以增强和激发学生和 UofL 社区的生活。 在一个争夺注意力的世界里,吸引眼球和传递实质内容可能会让人感觉转瞬即逝。 具有同理心和精力的设计师对于捕捉这些快照空间至关重要。 这意味着理解更大的图景,即使你只拿着几块拼图。 在商学院的短暂时间里,Sonja Faul 帮助围绕我们共同的故事建立了一个更好的框架。 “我总是从周围的人身上学到新东西,”Sonja 说。 “让我钦佩的人提名我获得这个奖项真是不可思议!”

大流行中的过渡

作为一名平面设计师,Sonja 加入了处于疫情中心的商业营销与传播学院团队。 她是辛辛那提人,之前曾为 纽波特水族馆ArtsConnect 在搬到路易斯维尔之前在她的家乡。 虽然在偏远的环境中度过了在学院的第一年带来了挑战,但她外向的性格和职业道德使得与她的队友和合作者建立化学反应变得更加容易。

为营销团队增添新的创意能量意味着新的想法和机会与我们的社区分享商学院的故事。 Sonja 在动画和动态图形方面的背景有助于为现有概念提供新的繁荣,并让她展示自己的才能。 “我喜欢用我在平面设计方面的技能来创建各种项目的灵活性,”Sonja 说。 “我总是对动态图形项目特别感兴趣。” 这些经历使她有机会进一步磨练自己的技能——她对从事这些项目的兴奋是动态的。 “我目前最喜欢的是我为路易斯维尔蝙蝠队的广告所做的工作。 我为在棒球场播放的充满活力的音乐创作了非常酷的动作片段! 谈论一个很酷的场所来展示你创造的东西。”

灵感设计

除了对学院的设计和视觉效果做出贡献外,Sonja 还通过学院的模板化设计系统向各部门提供了她的洞察力和设计知识。 与平面设计师 Jill Wegenast 一起,Lucidpress 以预先设计的形式为一系列材料提供品牌内容。 Lucidpress 允许部门制作具有 UofL 官方外观和感觉的传单和材料。 这也意味着定期故障排除和更新材料和样式以满足用户需求。 这种工作水平远非自动化,知道像 Sonja 这样的人在幕后工作意味着我们的员工正在获得他们需要的支持和洞察力,以使他们的材料达到最佳状态。

在帮助塑造学院故事的同时,索尼娅还继续构建她的故事。 今年秋天,她开始了 UofL MBA 课程。 “我非常尊重与我共事的人,他们的目标和成就激励着我,”Sonja 解释道。 “这让我想走出去,努力做到最好! 在 UofL 工作为我的职业发展提供了绝佳的机会。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Spirit by Design

May 31, 2022 Jim Warner
Sonja Faul headshot

When Sonja Faul was named a Cardinal Spirit Award recipient, teammate Jill Wegenast was excited for her. “Sonja has the can-do attitude that is characteristic of a Cardinal Spirit Award winner… and she takes care of business with a smile on her face!”

Working behind the scenes to shape the look and story our College shares with a larger community means much more than creating Cardinal red colorways and tasteful layouts. It’s a deliberate choice to provide the fixture by which we amplify the work we do to empower and inspire the lives of our students and the UofL community. In a world that competes for attention, catching the eye and delivering substance may feel fleeting. A designer with empathy and energy is essential to capture those snapshot spaces. It means understanding the bigger picture, even when you’re holding only a handful of puzzle pieces. In her short time at the College of Business, Sonja Faul has helped build a better frame around our shared story. “I’m always learning something new from the people around me,” says Sonja. “It’s incredible to have the very same people I admire nominate me for this award!”

Transition in a pandemic

As a graphic designer, Sonja joined the College of Business Marketing and Communications team at the heart of the pandemic. A Cincinnati native, she had previously worked for the Newport Aquarium and ArtsConnect in her hometown before moving to Louisville. While spending the first year at the College in a remote setting offered its challenges, her outgoing nature and work ethic made building chemistry with her teammates and collaborators easier.

Adding new creative energy to the marketing team meant new ideas and opportunities to share the College of Business’ story with our community. Sonja’s background in animation and motion graphics helped provide new flourishes to existing concepts and allowed her to showcase her talents. “I love the flexibility to create all sorts of projects with my skillset in graphic design,” says Sonja. “I’m always particularly jazzed about a motion graphics project.” These experiences have provided her the opportunity to hone her skillset further—her excitement about working on these projects is kinetic. “My current favorite is the work I do for the Louisville Bats ads. I create really cool motion pieces to energetic music that plays at the baseball stadium! Talk about a cool venue to showcase something you’ve created.”

Inspired designs

Along with her contributions to the design and visuals at the College, Sonja has helped offer her insight and design knowledge to departments via the College’s templated design system. Alongside fellow graphic designer Jill Wegenast, Lucidpress offers branded content for a range of materials in pre-designed forms. Lucidpress allows departments to make flyers and materials that have the official UofL look and feel. It also means regularly troubleshooting and updating materials and styles to accommodate user needs. That level of work is far from automated, and knowing that someone like Sonja is working behind the scenes means our staff is getting the support and insights they need to make their materials the best they can be.

While helping to shape the College’s story, Sonja also continues to build her narrative. This fall, she starts the UofL MBA program. “I greatly respect the people I work with, and their goals and accomplishments inspire me,” explains Sonja. “It made me want to get out there and try to be the best I can be! Working at UofL has made for an amazing opportunity to grow in my career.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish