跳到主要内容

RIZIN Technologies访谈

14年2020月XNUMX日 吉尔Wegenast
RIZIN Technologies IMBA团队参加了主要挑战赛

RIZIN Technologies团队包括Ashley Krems,Phillip Cupp和Chiraag Bhimani。 RIZIN Technologies最近在UofL商学院年度商业计划竞赛中,在Brown-Forman红衣主教挑战赛中排名第二。 我们与他们坐下来,以了解有关这家初创公司及其背后个人的更多信息。

UofL: 告诉我们的读者一些有关RIZIN Technologies的信息。 RIZIN的起源故事是什么?
RIZIN: 我们的团队在UofL参加了创新MBA(IMBA)计划。 IMBA课程使我们能够利用我们在整个计划中获得的技能和知识以及教职顾问的指导和支持来开展新事业。 在2019年XNUMX月,我们正在寻找一个概念来专注于我们的业务,我们确定了这项独特的技术,该技术是由UofL的Speed School of Engineering开发的。 可通过UofL商业化EPI中心进行商业化。 我们都同意,从商业角度来看,该技术具有巨大潜力,并在几个月后正式组建了RIZIN Technologies。
UofL: 什么是HiTRACE呼吸分析仪? 您是如何提出这项技术的? 是什么促使RIZIN开发呼吸检测设备? 是什么让您的产品在市场上与其他呼吸测试仪脱颖而出?
RIZIN: 随着大麻合法化在美国的发展,我们看到大麻是造成车祸和死亡的原因越来越多。 在与多个执法机构交谈之后,我们开始发现需要一种可以快速,准确地检测到最近使用的大麻的产品。 RIZIN的HiTRACE是一种非侵入性检测设备,可确定呼吸中痕量的THC(大麻中的精神活性成分)。 作为一种方便携带的设备,我们的技术已被科学证明可以在初始测试中识别THC。 该产品最初旨在用于执法和人力资源部门。
该技术由路易斯维尔大学速度工程学院的肖小安博士(肖恩·福)和杰克·洛克德(Jack Lockard)发明。 感谢我们在商业化EPI中心的合作伙伴,RIZIN获得了这项技术的专有权,这使我们能够进行商业化。
在检测最近使用的大麻时,呼吸是最准确的采样方法。 市场上的其他产品使用的采样方法(例如唾液,血液和头发)可能不准确,或者所含的四氢大麻酚远远超出了最近的使用范围(少于5小时)。
UofL: 您最近在红衣主教挑战赛上获得第二名,并应邀参加了莱斯商业计划竞赛。 这些比赛对RIZIN有多重要? 您参加红衣主教挑战赛如何为赖斯做好准备?
RIZIN: 这些比赛对我们公司而言非常宝贵。 我们将在这些比赛中获得的奖金用于投资我们的公司。 这些资金用于帮助公司的研发,原型设计,品牌推广,市场营销和其他领域。 我们从评委那里收到的问题和反馈同样重要。 Cardinal Challenge的法官具有在初创公司或风险投资公司工作的经验。 他们在筹集风险资本或投资初创企业方面也有经验。 他们知道成功并从头开始发展公司所需要的条件。 我们会收集他们的反馈意见,并以此来改善我们的业务,因为他们看到了机会或建立了联系,可以帮助我们继续发展。 赖斯的法官以提出棘手的问题而闻名,因此,我们通过参加红衣主教挑战赛所获得的经验将为我们为赖斯做准备时提供极大的帮助。
UofL: 到目前为止,RIZIN面临的最大挑战是什么? 最大的成功?
RIZIN: 最大的挑战是学习技术,并在相对较短的时间内成为执法,大麻以及各种州和联邦法律标准的主题专家。 在四个月的时间里,我们必须了解该技术的工作原理,围绕该技术开展业务,制定业务计划并向投资者推销。 我们非常感谢UofL的合作伙伴和合作伙伴,包括Forcht创业中心,Brandeis法学院的创业法律诊所,Speed工程学院,商业化EPI中心以及增材制造科学技术学院(AMIST) 。 对于我们的团队来说,它们一直是非常宝贵的资源,可以在整个过程中提供指导和支持。
最重要的成功是我们从业务计划竞赛中获得的反馈和确认。 我们在巴拉德·莫顿(Ballard Morton)新创业竞赛和红衣主教挑战赛中均获得第二名。 我们受邀参加了莱斯商业计划竞赛,这是世界上最负盛名的研究生水平商业计划竞赛之一,因为有2多名申请人。 我们将与其他400个团队竞争价值41万美元的奖励和奖品。 得知我们的团队为公司付出的辛勤工作得到认可,我们感到非常高兴。
UofL: RIZIN的下一步是什么? 您还有其他产品要前进吗?
RIZIN: 在红衣主教挑战赛之后,RIZIN开始参加加拿大温尼伯的Stu Clark投资竞赛。 但是,由于担心COVID-19大流行,比赛的组织者不得不取消该程序。 赖斯原定于三月举行,由于对COVID-19的担忧,已推迟至六月。
我们的团队致力于将HiTRACE推向市场。 现有的测试方法无法检测到最近使用的THC。 执法,人力资源和毒品检测设施需要一种解决方案,使他们能够快速识别使用情况。 HiTRACE是为用户提供做到这一点的能力的解决方案。 我们的下一步包括持续的研究和产品开发,临床研究以及与执法机构的先导测试,以使HiTRACE在现场得到合法验证。 HiTRACE背后的基础技术还可以检测多种化学化合物,包括其他受控物质。 我们正在积极扩展专有技术,以创建一个检测多种受控物质的平台。 RIZIN Technologies正在将呼吸检测的新高度提高,我们期待着前进的道路。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Interview with RIZIN Technologies

March 14, 2020 Jill Wegenast
RIZIN Technologies IMBA Team at the Cardinal Challenge

The RIZIN Technologies team consists of Ashley Krems, Phillip Cupp, and Chiraag Bhimani. RIZIN Technologies recently placed second in the Brown-Forman Cardinal Challenge, the UofL College of Business’ annual business plan competition. We sat down with them to find out more about this start-up company and the individuals behind it.

UofL: Tell our readers a little bit about RIZIN Technologies. What is RIZIN’s origin story?
RIZIN: Our team met in the Innovation MBA (IMBA) program at UofL. The IMBA curriculum allows us to start a new venture using the skills and knowledge that we have acquired throughout the program, along with the guidance and support from our faculty advisors. In July 2019, we were looking for a concept to focus our venture around, and we identified this unique technology that was developed at the Speed School of Engineering here at UofL. It was available for commercialization through the UofL Commercialization EPI-Center. We all agreed that there was great potential for this technology from a business perspective and officially formed RIZIN Technologies a few months later.
UofL: What is the HiTRACE breathalyzer? How did you come up with the tech? What inspired RIZIN to develop a breath-detection device? What makes your product stand out against other breathalyzers in the marketplace?
RIZIN: As the legalization of cannabis expands in the United States, we are seeing increasing numbers of car accidents and fatalities where cannabis was a factor. After speaking with multiple law enforcement organizations, we began to see a need for a product that could detect recent cannabis use quickly and accurately. RIZIN’s HiTRACE is a non-invasive detection device that determines trace amounts of THC, the psychoactive component in cannabis, in the breath. As a convenient and portable device, our technology is scientifically proven to identify THC in initial testing. This product is initially targeted for use in the law enforcement and human resources segments.
The technology was invented by Dr. Xiao-An (Sean) Fu and Jack Lockard at the University of Louisville’s Speed School of Engineering. Thanks to our partners at the Commercialization EPI-Center, RIZIN has secured exclusive rights for this technology, which allowed us to move forward with commercialization.
Breath is the most accurate sampling method when it comes to detecting recent cannabis use. Other products in the marketplace use sampling methods, such as saliva, blood, and hair that are either not accurate or can contain THC well beyond what would be considered recent use (less than 5 hours).
UofL: You recently placed second at the Cardinal Challenge and have been invited to the Rice Business Plan Competition. How important are these competitions to RIZIN? How has your participation in the Cardinal Challenge prepare you for Rice?
RIZIN: These competitions are extremely valuable to our company. We use the prize money won in these competitions to invest in our company. These funds are used to help with research & development, prototyping, branding, marketing, and other areas of the company. The questions and feedback we receive from the judges are just as important. The judges at Cardinal Challenge have the experience of working at start-ups or venture capital firms. They also have experience in raising venture capital or investing in start-ups. They know what it takes to succeed and grow a company from scratch. We take their feedback and use this to improve our business, as they see opportunities or have connections that can help us continue to grow and develop. The judges at Rice are well-known for asking tough questions, so the experience we gained by participating in Cardinal Challenge will help us immensely as we prepare for Rice.
UofL: What’s been the biggest challenge for RIZIN so far? Biggest success?
RIZIN: The biggest challenge has been learning about the technology and becoming subject matter experts about law enforcement, cannabis, and the various state and federal legal standards in a relatively short period of time. In four months, we had to understand how the technology worked, start a venture around the technology, develop a business plan, and pitch to investors. We are thankful for our fellow UofL partners and collaborators, including the Forcht Center of Entrepreneurship, Entrepreneurship Law Clinic at the Brandeis School of Law, Speed School of Engineering, Commercialization EPI-Center, and the Additive Manufacturing Institute of Science and Technology (AMIST). They have been extremely valuable resources for our team, providing guidance and support along the way.
The most significant success has been the feedback and validation we have received from the business plan competitions. We placed 2nd in both the Ballard Morton New Venture Competition and Cardinal Challenge. We were invited to compete in the Rice Business Plan Competition, which is one of the most prestigious graduate-level business plan competitions in the world, as they have more than 400 applicants. We will be competing against 41 other teams for awards and prizes valued at $1.5 million. It is gratifying to know that the hard work our team is putting into our company is being recognized.
UofL: What’s next for RIZIN? Do you have any other products in mind moving forward?
RIZIN: After Cardinal Challenge, RIZIN was set to compete in the Stu Clark Investment Competition in Winnipeg, Canada. However, due to concerns surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, the organizers of the competition had to cancel the program. Rice, which was initially scheduled to take place in March, has been postponed to June due to COVID-19 concerns.
Our team is focused on bringing the HiTRACE to market. Existing testing methods are unable to detect recent THC use. Law enforcement, human resources, and drug detection facilities need a solution that allows them to identify use quickly. The HiTRACE is the solution that provides users with the ability to do just that. Our next steps include continuing research and product development, clinical studies, and pilot testing with law enforcement authorities so that the HiTRACE is legally validated for use in the field. The underlying technology behind the HiTRACE can also detect a variety of chemical compounds, including other controlled substances. We are actively expanding our proprietary technology to create a platform for detecting multiple controlled substances. RIZIN Technologies is rising to new heights in-breath detection, and we are looking forward to the journey ahead.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian