跳到主要内容

激发可能性

January 6, 2023 以利亚·D·谦卑
大红色雕塑的中距离拍摄,前景是树木

30 多年后,Big Red 继续给人惊喜和启发

有人认为它像一条龙,而另一些人则认为它是一只红衣主教鸟。 也许适合高等商业教育机构,还有一些人看到了股市的牛市和熊市。 当您路过弗雷泽大厅外引人注目的雕塑大红色时,无论您看到什么,都可以进行解读。 这一直是这个概念。

Big Red 由路易斯维尔艺术家汤姆·李尔 (Tom Lear) 于 1989 年创作,并于 1990 年春季落成。根据各种当地媒体报道和校园历史档案,该项目是由慈善家和艺术赞助人简·莫顿·诺顿 (Jane Morton Norton) 等杰出商学院校友构想的(肯塔基州长期政治家 Thruston B. Morton 的姐姐,其家族在菲尔森历史学会的成立中发挥了作用)和她的侄子 T. Ballard Morton,以及当时的助理院长 Jane Goldstein。 它现在被创业名人圈墙包围,上面突出了与商学院有联系的传奇企业家。

目标

“我们的想法是创造一些引人注目且看起来有趣的东西,这将象征着创造力的力量,并且……提出可能性而不是解决方案,”T. Ballard Morton 当时说道,当时他是常驻执行官商学院。 他还是 Entrepreneurship Circle 的成员和学院 Cardinal Challenge 商业计划竞赛的创始人。 “我认为 Big Red 满足了这些愿望,并在我们迎接变化和成长的挑战时为我们带来快乐的灵感。”

戈尔茨坦从一开始就为这座建筑购买艺术品,试图推销肯塔基州的艺术家,并且熟悉李尔王,李尔王最终获得了佣金。 随着项目的发展,李尔说,“目标是展示商学院的兴奋以及商学院与路易斯维尔市的互动。”

金属艺术家汤姆·李尔 (Tom Lear) 在他位于肯塔基州路易斯维尔的商店创作了“Big Red”,并安装在 UofL 商学院前。
金属艺术家汤姆·李尔 (Tom Lear) 在他位于肯塔基州路易斯维尔的商店里创作了“Big Red”。

李尔 (Lear) 于 2000 年突发疾病去世,年仅 53 岁,他在肯德基总部、詹姆斯格雷厄姆布朗癌症中心和丹维尔中心学院的其他著名装置上声名鹊起,他的“Ex Astris”雕塑 (这意味着“来自星星”),创建于 1978 年,位于地区艺术中心大楼外。 李尔花了 24 个月的时间创造了 Big Red,它高 XNUMX 英尺,重 XNUMX 吨。 唯一可以处理喷漆工作的设施是一家汽车经销店。 他开玩笑说,在他“切掉一点脚趾并在焊接时严重烧伤自己”之后,他在从事该项目时流了几品脱的血。 他说,项目结束后他花了两周时间才恢复了身心正常。

真正的艺术家

李尔是一位有着有趣背景的真正艺术家,他说:“我的工作是将物理物质转化为精神物质。” 作为土生土长的路易斯维尔人,他在四年内就读了三所不同的高中,尽管他于 1971 年从 UofL 毕业并获得美术学士学位,但他花了 10 年的时间,其间从事零工。 后来,他在匹兹堡的卡内基梅隆大学获得了艺术硕士学位。 他是已故国际知名艺术家山姆·吉列姆 (Sam Gilliam) 的工作室助理,其作品最近在速度博物馆 (Speed Museum) 展出(https://www.speedmuseum.org/exhibitions/sam-gilliam-1933-2022/). 李尔的父亲拥有并经营着 WT Lear Fence Company,他说这教会了他一般的建筑技能和“大萧条”时期的职业道德。

据报道,他在巴雷特大道的家庭工作室是他个性的延伸。 据 1979 年的《信使杂志》报道,“它本身几乎可以称得上是一座雕塑”。它包括焊接设备、金属切割设备、起重机和其他工具。 据当地铁匠兼朋友、雕塑家克雷格·卡维尔 (Craig Kaviar) 说,工作室是围绕一棵生长在室内的树建造的,这棵树引起了建筑检查员和爱管闲事的邻居的注意。

“这里的每个人都很友好,也许除了一位不断发送分区委员会的女士外,”李尔说。 “他们已经来过六次了。” 

装置

Big Red 是在 1989 年 XNUMX 月最寒冷的一天安装的,在最后一刻,起重机、移动拖车、许可证和确保警察护送都出现了复杂情况。 拖车在高速公路上爆胎,其中一台起重机坏了。 即使在 Big Red 安全地停在它在校园里的安息地之后,李尔还是发现自己在当天晚些时候帮助一位朋友修理了另一个漏气的轮胎。

李尔的创造很快在商学院内赢得了仰慕者。 “当我绕过通往商学院的音乐大楼拐角处看到它时,我差点跑出马路,”莫顿说。 Goldstein 补充说:“我发现这个雕塑令人愉快。 它表明商学院是一所进步的、令人兴奋的前沿学校,而且……我们有幽默感。”

遗产

Big Red 已成为贝尔纳普校区北侧的永久固定设施,直到今天,它仍然令人惊喜和鼓舞。 希望这能给它的创造者带来一些满足。

“最重要的是,我希望人们停下来看看它,”李尔当时说道。 “在他们在晚上的某个时候甚至 10 年后再次走过它之后,我希望他们看到一些让他们感到惊讶的新事物。”


https://feuadvocate.net/slot-shopeepay/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://scs.stikesbethesda.ac.id/wp/bandar-bola88/https://stikesbethesda.ac.id/situs-slot-gacor/https://uniqhba.ac.id/assets/slot-gacor/https://iaidalwa.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://doktorpai.iaidalwa.ac.id/togel88/https://elearning.smkinfokom-bogor.sch.id/assets/slot-gacor/https://iaicirebon.ac.id/slot5000/https://aos.cianjurkab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://corona.tanahbumbukab.go.id/slot-gacor/http://siapma.poltekkesjogja.ac.id/uploads/slot-gacor/https://sijabfung.bpsdm.sumbarprov.go.id/storage/slot-gacor/https://pmb.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/toto88/https://stikeskesdam4dip.ac.id/situs-slot-gacor/https://teknikkimia.itbmb.ac.id/shopeepay/http://fkp.unw.ac.id/assets/joker123/https://siakad.stikmar.ac.id/sv388/https://elearning.smpn3sby.sch.id/slot-gacor/https://pkpm.darmajaya.ac.id/slot88/https://dinkes.tanahbumbukab.go.id/rtp-live-slot/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-online/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-deposit-dana/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://proceeding.upp.ac.id/slot-dana/https://imartapura.banjarkab.go.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://sipa.fti.itb.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://pnmhii-xxvii.uns.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://ppm.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/rtp-live/https://www.jurnal.iaicirebon.ac.id/bola88/https://pmb.iaicirebon.ac.id/pragmatic88/https://dpmptsp.mamujukab.go.id/slot-pulsa/https://peta-investasi.sulselprov.go.id/slot-gacor-deposit-pulsa/https://pmb.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/bolagila/https://sidumas.badungkab.go.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://pustaka-arsip.tanahdatar.go.id/slot-dana/https://disdikppdb.labuhanbatukab.go.id/slot-online-deposit-pulsa/https://keuangan.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://geoinformasi.kuburayakab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://opac.upp.ac.id/togel4d/https://lamandaukab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://fh.unigal.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Inspire Possibilities

January 6, 2023 Elijah D. Humble
Middle distance shot of Big Red scuplture with trees in the foreground

More than 30 years later, Big Red continues to surprise and inspire

Some people think it looks like a dragon, while others see a cardinal bird. And perhaps fittingly for an institution of higher business education, still others see the bull and bear of the stock market. Whatever you see when you walk past Big Red, the striking sculpture outside Frazier Hall, is open to interpretation. And that was the concept all along.

Big Red was created by Louisville artist Tom Lear in 1989 and was dedicated in the spring of 1990. According to various local media reports and campus historical archives, the project was conceived by such illustrious College of Business alumni as philanthropist and arts patron Jane Morton Norton (sister of longtime Kentucky politician Thruston B. Morton, whose family played a role in the foundation of the Filson Historical Society) and her nephew T. Ballard Morton, as well as then-assistant dean Jane Goldstein. It is now surrounded by the Entrepreneurship Circle of Fame wall, which highlights legendary entrepreneurs with ties to the College of Business.

The Goal

“The idea was to create something that would be eye-catching and fun to look at, that would symbolize the power of creativity, and… suggest possibilities rather than solutions,” said T. Ballard Morton at the time, then-Executive in Residence of the College of Business. He is also a member of the Entrepreneurship Circle and Founder of the College’s Cardinal Challenge business plan competition. “I think Big Red fulfills these desires and serves as a joyful inspiration to us as we meet the challenges of change and growth.”

Goldstein had been buying art for the building from early on, trying to promote Kentucky artists, and was familiar with Lear, who ultimately earned the commission. As the project developed, Lear said, “The goal was to show the excitement of the business school and the interaction of the School of Business and the city of Louisville.”

Tom Lear, a metal artist, created "Big Red," in his shop in Louisville, KY for installation in front of UofL College of Business.
Tom Lear, metal artist, created “Big Red,” in his shop in Louisville, KY.

Lear, who passed away after a sudden illness in 2000 at the young age of 53, made his reputation on other notable installations at the KFC headquarters, the James Graham Brown Cancer Center and Centre College in Danville, where his “Ex Astris” sculpture (which means “from the stars”), created in 1978, resides outside the Regional Arts Center building. It took Lear nine months to create Big Red, which is 24 feet tall and weighs three tons. The only facility that could handle the painting job was an auto dealership. He joked that he lost a couple of pints of blood while working on the project after he “cut off a little bit of his toe and burned himself severely while welding.” He said it took him two weeks after the project to return to feeling normal physically and mentally.

True Artist

Lear, a true artist with an interesting background, said, “my job is to transform physical matter into the spiritual.” A Louisville native, he attended three different high schools in four years, and although he graduated from UofL with a B.A. in Fine Arts in 1971, it took him 10 years, working odd jobs in between. He later earned an MFA from Carnegie-Mellon in Pittsburgh. He was the studio assistant to the late Sam Gilliam, an internationally-renowned artist whose work was recently featured at the Speed Museum (https://www.speedmuseum.org/exhibitions/sam-gilliam-1933-2022/). Lear’s father owned and ran the W.T. Lear Fence Company, which he said taught him general building skills and a “Great Depression” work ethic.

His home studio on Barrett Avenue was reportedly an extension of his personality. “It almost qualifies as a sculpture itself,” according to the Courier Journal in 1979. It included welding equipment, metal-cutting devices, hoists, and other tools. According to local blacksmith and friend, sculptor Craig Kaviar, the studio was built around a tree that had grown indoors, which had gained the attention of building inspectors and nosy neighbors.

“Everybody is friendly here except perhaps for one lady who keeps sending the zoning board,” Lear said. “They’ve been here half a dozen times.” 

Installation

Big Red was installed on one of the coldest days in December 1989, with last-minute complications with the crane, moving trailer, permits, and securing a police escort. The trailer had a flat tire on the expressway, and one of the cranes broke. Even after Big Red was secure at its resting place on campus, Lear found himself helping a friend fix another flat tire later that same day.

Lear’s creation quickly gained admirers within the College of Business. “When I came around the corner of the music building heading to the business school and saw it, I almost ran off the road,” said Morton. Goldstein added: “I find the sculpture delightful. It shows the School of Business is a progressive, exciting school on the cutting edge, and…that we have a sense of humor.”

Legacy

Big Red has become a permanent fixture on the northern side of Belknap campus, and to this day, it surprises and inspires. Hopefully, this would give its creator some satisfaction.

“More than anything, I hope people stop and take a look at it,” Lear said at the time. “After they walk by it again sometime in the evening or even 10 years from now, I hope they see something new that surprises them.”


https://feuadvocate.net/slot-shopeepay/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://scs.stikesbethesda.ac.id/wp/bandar-bola88/https://stikesbethesda.ac.id/situs-slot-gacor/https://uniqhba.ac.id/assets/slot-gacor/https://iaidalwa.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://doktorpai.iaidalwa.ac.id/togel88/https://elearning.smkinfokom-bogor.sch.id/assets/slot-gacor/https://iaicirebon.ac.id/slot5000/https://aos.cianjurkab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://corona.tanahbumbukab.go.id/slot-gacor/http://siapma.poltekkesjogja.ac.id/uploads/slot-gacor/https://sijabfung.bpsdm.sumbarprov.go.id/storage/slot-gacor/https://pmb.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/toto88/https://stikeskesdam4dip.ac.id/situs-slot-gacor/https://teknikkimia.itbmb.ac.id/shopeepay/http://fkp.unw.ac.id/assets/joker123/https://siakad.stikmar.ac.id/sv388/https://elearning.smpn3sby.sch.id/slot-gacor/https://pkpm.darmajaya.ac.id/slot88/https://dinkes.tanahbumbukab.go.id/rtp-live-slot/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-online/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-deposit-dana/https://kemahasiswaan.unipar.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://proceeding.upp.ac.id/slot-dana/https://imartapura.banjarkab.go.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://sipa.fti.itb.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://pnmhii-xxvii.uns.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://ppm.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/rtp-live/https://www.jurnal.iaicirebon.ac.id/bola88/https://pmb.iaicirebon.ac.id/pragmatic88/https://dpmptsp.mamujukab.go.id/slot-pulsa/https://peta-investasi.sulselprov.go.id/slot-gacor-deposit-pulsa/https://pmb.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/bolagila/https://sidumas.badungkab.go.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://pustaka-arsip.tanahdatar.go.id/slot-dana/https://disdikppdb.labuhanbatukab.go.id/slot-online-deposit-pulsa/https://keuangan.akfarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://geoinformasi.kuburayakab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://opac.upp.ac.id/togel4d/https://lamandaukab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://fh.unigal.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://alumni.undip.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://peta-investasi.sulselprov.go.id/slot-dana/https://besilak.belitung.go.id/slot-gacor/https://bangkom.bekasikota.go.id/storage/slot-gacor/https://pelangi.pangkalpinangkota.go.id/public/slot-deposit-pulsa/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish