跳到主要内容

减少语言

20-2019-XNUMX 吉姆华纳
Strome城堡废墟的女性游人在海湾卡伦岸的在苏格兰的韦斯特罗斯地区。

最近,我在苏格兰爱丁堡上班,发现自己的日程安排很开放。 我没有错过任何机会,我选择了游览高地。 我想看看连绵起伏的石南花和雾蒙蒙的湖水,因为我对苏格兰的了解全部来自对 勇敢的心.

深入高地,您将开始看到用两种语言书写的路标:英语和盖尔语。 我们的导游以浓郁的格拉斯哥语气为我带来了挑战,他提供了午餐时与当地人交谈的技巧。

“让库伦(Cullen)瘦身去温暖你的肚子,当他们问你其他问题时,只是微笑,点点头,然后说'同意'。 在过去的八年中,我一直每周四天在这里进行这次巡回演出,我什至无法理解他们的流氓。 那汤对我来说太稠了。”

被一个旅游小屋套住,里面装满了Nessie磁铁和各种格子呢的围巾,待售中,没有什么谈话会特别威胁生命或危险。 除非您担心库伦石龙子到底是什么。 有一些焦虑的时刻试图要一杯“常规的”咖啡。 最后,我得到的东西看起来像是浓缩咖啡,而不是美国杯的乔,与咖啡因相比,要坐两个小时的公共汽车要多得多。

奶油杂烩在肚子里晃动,令人不安,也许我应该选择喝茶。 如果我知道要喝“滴漏式”咖啡,我可能会更想得到我想要的东西,但是我出国旅行的麻烦也随之而来。

使自己沉浸在一种文化中通常意味着要学会随身携带行话。 您将成为一名语言侦探,并在对话中围绕不熟悉的单词和短语构建自己的上下文,以获取含义。 如果您好奇和好奇,也许您会直接要求解释和上下文。 大多数人都能看到您中的旅行者,并且会花一些时间来解开含义,但这对办公室本身有何影响?

回想一下您在办公室的第一天。 您(希望)迅速,礼貌,并准备给人留下最好的印象。 在某些时刻,您感觉自己的队友会说另一种完全不同的语言吗? 您浏览过缩写词和办公室用语,觉得对您来说完全陌生吗? 您是如何获得这个意思的? 是时间吗 会话? 那这些政策和程序呢? 了解术语/短语代表了多长时间?

有时,即使在组织内部,单词和含义也可能会被误解。 如何解释整个组织的流程,政策和言论? 我们如何减轻未来队友或潜在业务合作伙伴的学习曲线?

共同点始于通用术语,谈到项目管理领域,成为PMP的最明显好处之一® (项目管理专家)表明您会说这种语言。 清晰的沟通始于表达清晰。 如果您可以让潜在的队友或合作伙伴参与PMP的通用®,您不仅会建立融洽的关系,而且还会立即建立谅解。 粗略浏览项目管理协会(PMI)®)术语词典为我们提供了200专业单词和短语的词汇表。 具有这些术语的工作知识只是了解PMP的基础®.

讲PMP语言® 释放真正的潜在项目管理对您企业的执行领导和底线的影响。 通过UofL Executive Education PMP等课程,获得项目管理证书从未如此简单®. 向经验丰富的专业人员和培训师学习,他们具有在项目管理中学习,应用和最大化专业人员的真实经验。 通过方便的2天基础入门训练营,快速开始您的体验。 由路易斯维尔大学高管教育计划于12月5交付th 和6th, 也许没有比这更好的时间来消除术语,成为PMP® 流利。


简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Getting the Lingo Down

September 20, 2019 Jim Warner
Female tourist at the ruins of Strome Castle on the shores of Loch Carron in the Wester Ross region of Scotland.

Recently I was in Edinburgh, Scotland, for work and found myself with an open day in my schedule. Not one to miss an opportunity, I opted to take a tour of the Highlands. I wanted to see the rolling heather and fog-shrouded lochs since all I knew of Scotland came from repeated viewings of Braveheart.

Get far enough out into the Highlands, and you begin to see road signs written in two languages: English and Gaelic. Our tour guide, whose thick Glaswegian accent was challenging enough for me, offered tips to speaking with the locals at lunch.

“Get the Cullen skink to warm your belly, and just smile, nod, and say ‘aye’ when they ask you anything else. I’ve been driving this tour up here four days a week for the last eight years, and I can’t even understand their bloody brogue. That soup is too thick for me.”

Being nestled in a tourist hovel, ripe with Nessie magnets and scarves of various tartans for sale, none of the conversation there was going to get particularly life-threatening or dangerous. That is unless you have concerns about what exactly is in Cullen skink. There were a few anxious moments trying to ask for a “regular” coffee. I ended up with something that looked more like espresso than an American cup of joe, with way more caffeine than a two-hour bus ride necessitated.

Jittery with cream chowder sloshing around in my belly, perhaps I should have just opted for tea. Had I known to ask for “drip” coffee probably my chances of what I wanted and what I got would have been more in line, but so goes the travails of traveling abroad.

Immersing yourself in a culture often means learning to pick up the lingo as you go. You become a linguistic detective, working the context by which conversation constructs itself around unfamiliar words and phrases to glean meaning. If you’re curious and inquisitive, perhaps you outright ask for explanation and context. Most folks can see the traveler in you and will take the time to unpack meaning, but how does this translate to the office itself?

Think back to your first day at your office. You were (hopefully) prompt, polite, and prepared to make the best impression possible. Were there moments where you felt like your teammates were speaking a whole different language? Was there a sea of abbreviations and office terms you navigated which felt wholly foreign to you? How did you acquire that meaning? Was it time? Conversation? What about those policies and procedures? How long did it take to understand what terms/phrases stood for?

Sometimes even within an organization, words and meanings can get misconstrued. What about explaining process, policy, and rhetoric across organizations? How do we lessen the learning curve for future teammates or potential business partners?

Common ground starts with common lingo, and when it comes to the world of project management, one of the most tangible benefits to becoming a PMP® (Project Management Professional) is demonstrating that you can speak the language. Clear lines of communication begin with clarity of expression. If you can engage potential teammates or partners in lingua franca of PMP®, you immediately build not only a rapport but an understanding. A cursory glance at the Project Management Institute’s (PMI®) lexicon of terms gives us a glossary of 200 professional words and phrases. Having a working knowledge of these terms is just the foundation for understanding PMP®.

Speaking the language of PMP® unlocks the true potential project management can have on your business’ executive leadership as well as your bottom line. Getting your certificate in Project Management has never been easier with courses like the UofL Executive Education PMP®. Learn from experienced professionals and trainers with real-world experience in learning, applying, and maximizing professionals for project management. Jumpstart your experience through a convenient 2-Day Fundamentals Boot Camp. Delivered by the University of Louisville’s Executive Education Program on December 5th and 6th, there is perhaps no better time to get the lingo down and become PMP® fluent.


Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian