Перейти к основному содержанию

Долгосрочный рост центров амбулаторной хирургии в 1990–2015 гг. И политика оплаты Medicare

Исследования в области здравоохранения, Июль 27, 2021

Посмотреть публикацию

Абстрактные

Цель: изучить долгосрочный рост индустрии центров амбулаторной хирургии (ASC) и потенциальные факторы, влияющие на его траекторию.

Источники данных: национальные данные для всех сертифицированных по программе Medicare ASC (1990–2015 гг.) И записи о выписке из амбулаторных пациентов из штата Флорида в 2007 году.

Дизайн исследования: мы задокументировали количество ASC в США с течением времени и разложили тренд на базовое поведение входа и выхода из рынка ASC. Затем мы изучили вероятность того, что реформы оплаты Medicare в 2008 году повлияют на изменения тенденции.

Методы извлечения данных: данные об открытии и закрытии ASC получают из файлов Центров Medicare и поставщиков услуг Medicaid. Вторичные данные об объеме ASC во Флориде получены от Управления здравоохранения Флориды.

Основные результаты. Количество ASC в США росло на 5–10% ежегодно в период с 1990 по 2007 год, но на 1% или меньше, начиная с 2008 года. Это изменение совпало с существенным сокращением платежей Medicare за ключевые услуги ASC. Годовое количество новых ASC было на 50% меньше после изменения оплаты.

Выводы: ASC являются важным конкурентом амбулаторных услуг, но их рост резко замедлился. Резкие изменения в новой записи ASC совпадают с менее щедрыми сборами Medicare.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Long-run growth of ambulatory surgery centers 1990–2015 and Medicare payment policy

Health Services Research. July 27, 2021

View Publication

Abstract

Objective: To examine long-run growth in the ambulatory surgery center (ASC) industry and potential factors influencing its trajectory.

Data sources: National data for all Medicare-certified ASCs (1990–2015) and outpatient discharge records from the state of Florida in 2007.

Study Design: We documented the number of ASCs in the United States over time and decomposed the trend into underlying ASC market entry and exit behavior. We then examined the plausibility of 2008 Medicare payment reforms to influence the trend changes.

Data Extraction Methods: Data on ASC openings and closures are obtained from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Provider of Service files. Secondary data on ASC volume in Florida are obtained from the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration.

Principal Findings: The number of ASCs in the United States grew 5%–10% annually between 1990 and 2007 but by 1% or less beginning in 2008. This change coincided with substantive reductions in Medicare payments for key ASC services. The annual number of new ASCs was as much as 50% lower following the payment change.

Conclusions: ASCs are an important competitor for outpatient services, but growth has slowed dramatically. Sharp changes in new ASC entry align with less generous Medicare fees.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish