跳到主要内容

从事研究

April 22, 2021 吉姆华纳
在线研究座谈会

在这一大流行年中,我们面临的最重大挑战之一就是与大学和同龄人保持联系。 通常,当我们谈论与高等教育相关的这种脱节的挑战时,我们(理应如此)考虑学生以及如何确保他们的学术健康和身心健康。 但是我们的老师呢? 像我们所有人一样,他们也必须学会适应一种新的生产力方式,并且在保持他们的友情和支持感方面也面临着类似的挑战。 在大流行中平衡激情意味着要找到新的彼此互动的方式。 进入商业研究学院讨论会。

希望在部门之间建立协同作用并扩大知识的产生一直是商学院的核心,但是为这种话语建立论坛是一项较新的倡议,该倡议由院长Todd Mooradian和教务副院长倡导,克里斯汀·卢卡斯(Kristen Lucas)博士。 “这是我们展示研究项目的平台……在任何阶段,无论是早期构想还是已经发表的书面手稿,都可以在任何阶段展示。 目前的一些工作正在接受同行评审期刊的审查。 她是她的同事,经济学副教授,雍超博士的座谈会共同创造者。 “通过这种方式,我们的教师可以知道我们在做什么,并帮助探索彼此合作的其他机会。” 鉴于全球大流行,讨论会的重要性变得更加重要。 在一个保持联系意味着虚拟会议的空间中,每月一次的活动很快变成了一个教师可以在彼此共享工作的同时保持彼此参与的地方。

Chao博士说:“学术讨论会是我们初级教职员工开展工作的一个很好的平台。” 对于去年加入学院的一些教授而言,座谈会已将他们介绍给了同行。 Tang和Chao还致力于在演讲阵容中建立平衡,将高级教师和初级教师混合在一起。 拥有Manju Ahuja博士等杰出学者,可以作为开展和展示研究的典范。

围绕彼此的工作建立兴趣有助于使教授保持联系,而超出会议范围的对话可能会导致同事之间的合作机会。 赵博士谈到其中的一种对话,源于三月赵伟华博士(经济学副教授)的演讲。 “ Weihua的研究正在谈论向Uber征税,我问过她一个关于通过率的问题。 座谈会结束后,我们的部门主席Jose [Fernandez,PhD]跟着一封电子邮件给我们,[我们]继续了我们的对话。”

在每两周一次的会议之后,能够讨论彼此的工作,这有助于建立更好的研究,并为在发现中建立协同增效提供更多机会。 来自其他人的这些见解最终将建立更好的研究并扩展在商学院创建的知识库(该扩展可以使所有人加深了解)。 Chao博士说:“我已经与市场营销和金融学院的同事们进行了论文合作。” “用史蒂夫·乔布斯来形容,“创造力是建立联系。” 

朝和唐为座谈会的第二年将在XNUMX月感到兴奋。 这些转变之一可能包括亲自参加,对于那些无法亲自参加的人来说,在线组件仍然是一种选择。 也有讨论说这些讨论会最终将包括学生(特别是学院的研究生)。 Chao博士说:“我认为我们可以将研究中的这些影响与我们的教学使命相结合。” “作为老师,我们应该成为模范学习者。 我们的研究表明我们正在继续学习。 我们正在推动知识的界限……通过这些问题和讨论(在座谈会上),我们将知识推向了前沿。”

在此基础上,唐博士补充说,已经向包括贝拉明大学在内的其他大学的同事发出了邀请。 她假设也许将来会邀请当地的商界加入。 “ [座谈会]向其他人展示了我们学院的研究文化……这是一个促进商学院研究并向社区展示[我们的教授]所取得的成就和卓越表现的好平台。”

了解有关商学院研究会的更多信息
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Engaging Research

April 22, 2021 Jim Warner
Online Research Colloquium

One of the most significant challenges that we have faced in this pandemic year has been staying connected—as both colleges and peers. Often when we talk about the challenges of this disconnect as it relates to higher education, we (rightfully so) think about our students and how to ensure both their academic well-being and physical/mental health. But what of our instructors? Like all of us, they too have had to learn to adapt to a new way of being productive and had the similar challenge of maintaining their sense of camaraderie and support. Balancing passions in a pandemic has meant discovering new ways to engage with one another. Enter the College of Business Research Colloquium.

The desire to build a synergy between departments and expand the production of knowledge has been at the heart of the College of Business, but building a forum for that discourse is a newer initiative, one championed by Dean Todd Mooradian and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Kristen Lucas, PhD. “It’s a platform for us to present research projects… at any stage from early-stage ideas or [work already] in a written manuscript. Some present work that’s in review with a peer-reviewed journal,” says Assistant Dean of Research, Associate Professor of Finance, Lori Tang, PhD. She is the colloquium co-creator alongside her colleague, Associate Professor of Economics, Yong Chao, PhD. “This way, our faculty can know what we are doing and help explore other opportunities for collaboration with one another.” The Colloquium’s importance only became more imperative in the light of a global pandemic. In a space where staying connected meant meeting virtually, the monthly event quickly became a place where faculty could remain engaged with one another while sharing their work.

“The Colloquium has been a good platform for our junior faculty to get their work out there,” says Dr. Chao. For some professors who have joined the College in the last year, the Colloquium has helped to introduce them to their peers. Tang and Chao have also worked to build a balance in the presentation line-up, mixing in senior faculty presenters and junior faculty. Having distinguished scholars such as Manju Ahuja, PhD, helps to serve as a model for conducting and presenting research.

While building interest around each other’s work helps keep the professors connected, the conversations which extend beyond the meeting may lead to collaborative opportunities between colleagues. Dr. Chao talks about one of those conversations, stemming from March’s presentation by Dr. Weihua Zhao (assistant professor of economics). “Weihua’s research is talking about taxing Uber, and I had asked her a question about pass-through rate. After the Colloquium, our department chair, Jose [Fernandez, PhD], followed up with an email to us, and [we] have continued our conversation.”

The ability to discuss each other’s work beyond the bi-weekly meeting helps to build both better research and additional opportunities to build synergy within the discovery. These insights from others ultimately build better research and expand the knowledge base created at the College of Business—an extension that makes a greater understanding for all. “I have collaborated with marketing and finance faculty peers on papers,” says Dr. Chao. “To paraphrase Steve Jobs, ‘Creativity is about making connections.’” 

Chao and Tang are excited about what year two of the Colloquium will bring come September. One of those shifts may include being in person, with an online component still being an option for those unable to attend in person. There has also been discussion that these colloquiums will eventually include students (particularly the College’s graduate students). “I think we can combine these impacts in research with our mission in teaching,” says Dr. Chao. “As teachers, we should be the exemplary learners. Our research is how we show that we are continuing to learn things. We are pushing the boundaries of our knowledge…it is through these questions and discussions [at the Colloquium] we push into the frontier of this knowledge.”

Expanding on this point, Dr. Tang adds that an invitation has been extended to colleagues from other universities, including Bellarmine University. She postulates that perhaps in the future, the local business community could be invited to join. “[The Colloquium] is a demonstration of our College research culture to others… It’s a good platform to promote the research of the College of Business and show the community what [our professors] are achieving and excel at.”

Learn more about the College of Business Research Colloquium
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish