跳到主要内容

赋权参与

April 7, 2022 阿里·菲佛
丹尼斯斯伯丁,校友

“我为所有成功的年轻女性感到骄傲。 简直太给力了不是吗?” 丹尼斯斯伯丁说,总裁兼共同所有人 高度关注. HighNote 是一家位于路易斯维尔的印刷和营销传播公司。 丹尼斯是商学院校友、路易斯维尔本地人、家族企业主和家族企业中心董事会成员。

对特许经营的信心

丹尼斯看到新一代女性商业领袖取得成功的自豪感源于她自己的商业经验。 90 年代初,经过 11 年的印刷和营销经验,Denise 和商业伙伴 Jennifer Eberle 准备购买自己的业务。 然而,当他们无法获得贷款时,他们被阻止了。

“你会发现,并不是很多人都愿意给两个 20 多岁的女人钱。 所以这真是一记耳光,”她说。

丹妮丝和詹妮弗试图收购全国印刷特许经营权 Allegra Marketing Services 在路易斯维尔的位置。 店主告诉他们,他们正是这个行业所需要的。 在家人的支持下,他们能够借到钱,而业主同意资助他们开始工作。

“这位先生对詹妮弗和我有信心创办自己的公司,所以我们知道失败不是一种选择,因为我们有人来回报……我们有一个伟大的想法,要颠覆印刷世界,做一些不同于以往的事情典型的印刷店做到了。 这正是我们所做的,”丹尼斯说。

Allegra Marketing Services 提供狂热的粉丝服务,同时帮助客户感觉好像他们拥有自己的“个人营销公司”,可以生产有针对性的直邮。 对于客户,丹尼斯说,他们印刷的每篇直销作品都是根据客户信息直接针对消费者的。 “假设你是一位老客户,他们会说‘嘿,我们在过去的一年里没见过你,这是为你提供的 20% 折扣的特别优惠。’ 我们的直邮是个人和数据驱动的,以增加参与度。 我们处于这种营销的最前沿。”

家族创业

他们的成功可以通过两个主要里程碑来衡量。 一个是当他们的公司超越了特许经营权时,他们能够作为一家独立拥有的公司分支出来,现在称为 HighNote。 第二个是当他们决定成为一家全数字印刷公司时,使他们能够最大限度地发挥各种印刷能力。 这些决定不断得到他们多年来赢得的众多奖项的验证。 2014 年是他们最引以为豪的一次,当时他们获得了安永年度企业家奖。

“这是针对 [美国] 中南部地区的……我们是决赛选手,我们就像‘我们不会赢,别这么想,如果我们不会坐在舞厅的后面我们赢了。'”当他们的名字被宣布为获胜者时,丹尼斯的桌子震惊了。

“我们真的跳了起来,从舞厅的后面尖叫起来,”她说。 “那是我最自豪的时刻之一,因为我们的家人在那里。 这是一场非常有声望的比赛。”

丹尼斯希望利用她的经验来授权和影响他人,使其也取得成功。 作为商学院的一员 家庭商务中心 董事会,她相信家族企业的力量。 “我们希望 [路易斯维尔企业] 取得成功,我们希望他们从第一代到第二代,再到第三代,甚至更高。 我一直在寻找机会来分享 FBC 的信息,我们需要我们的家族企业继续在路易斯维尔蓬勃发展。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Empower Engagement

April 7, 2022 Ali Pfeiffer
Denise Spalding, Alumni

“I’m so proud of all the young women succeeding. It’s just so empowering, isn’t it?” says Denise Spalding, president and co-owner of HighNote. HighNote is a Louisville-based print and marketing communications firm. Denise is a College of Business alum, Louisville native, family business owner, and Family Business Center Board member.

Faith in Franchising

The pride Denise takes in seeing new generations of female business leaders succeed has roots in her own business experience. In the early 90s, after 11 years of print and marketing experience, Denise and business partner Jennifer Eberle were ready to purchase their own business. They were stopped short, though, when they were unable to get a loan.

“Come to find out, not a whole lot of people wanted to give two women in their 20s any money. So that was a real slap in the face right off the bat,” she says.

Denise and Jennifer attempted to buy the Louisville location of Allegra Marketing Services, a national printing franchise. The owner told them they were just what the industry needed. With support from their families, they were able to borrow money and the owner agreed to finance them in order to get started.

“This gentleman had faith in Jennifer and me to start our own company, so we knew failure wasn’t an option because we had people to pay back…We had this big idea to turn the printing world on its head and do things differently than the typical print shops did. That’s exactly what we did,” says Denise.

Allegra Marketing Services provided raving fan service while helping clients feel as if they had their own “personal marketing company” that could produce targeted direct mail. For clients, Denise says each direct marketing piece they printed directly targeted a consumer based on their customer information. “Say you’re a lapsed customer and they say ‘Hey, we haven’t seen you in the past year, here’s a special offer for you at 20% off.’ Our direct mail was personal and data-driven to increase engagement. We were on the cutting edge of that kind of marketing.”

Family-Powered Entrepreneurship

Their success can be measured by two major milestones. One was when their company outgrew the franchise and they were able to branch off as an independently-owned company now called HighNote. The second was when they made the decision to become an all-digital printing company, enabling them to maximize various print capabilities. These decisions are continually validated by the numerous awards they’ve won over the years. One that stands out as their proudest came in 2014, when they won the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year award.

“This was for the south-central region [of the US]…we were finalists and we were like ‘We’re not going to win, don’t think that, we wouldn’t be seated in the back of the ballroom if we won.’” Denise’s table was shocked when their name was announced as the winner.

“We literally jumped up, screaming from the back of the ballroom,” she says. “That was one of my proudest moments because our family was there. It was a very prestigious competition.”

Denise hopes to use her experience to empower and influence others to succeed as well. As a member of the College of Business’s Family Business Center board, she believes in the power of family-owned businesses. “We want [Louisville businesses] to be successful, we want them to go on from first-gen to second-gen to third-gen and up. I’m always listening for opportunities to share the message of the FBC and that we need our family businesses to continue to thrive in Louisville.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish