跳到主要内容

命运升起

1年2020月XNUMX日

2014年,Scoppechio在路易斯维尔大学设立了“升学奖学金”,该奖项每年颁发给一位商学院的学生,以纪念我们的创始人,前首席执行官兼董事长Debbie Scoppechio。 作为一个即将离任的社区和商业领袖,黛比启发了路易斯维尔及其周边地区的无数年轻女性。

该奖学金旨在通过为热衷于广告和营销领域以及企业家精神的个人创造机会来维持Debbie的遗产。 《命运贝尔》获得了路易斯维尔大学的2019-2020年度奖学金。 她体现了这种热情和成功的动力,几周前,我们非常高兴与Bell女士谈论她的生活故事,奖学金和她的未来。

我们的对话始于Bell详细介绍了她在坎贝尔斯维尔大学(Campbellsville University)的第一年的经历,在那里她以平面设计专业的形式参加了田径运动的学术和体育奖学金。 不幸的是,她在同年受伤,导致椎间盘膨出并终止了入学。 受伤意味着她不能再参加这项运动,迫使她在没有奖学金资助的情况下做出一些艰难的决定。 经过坚定的决定和艰难的交谈之后,她回到了路易斯维尔,与自己的支持网络更加亲近,并在路易斯维尔大学攻读商业专业的兼职学生。 在此过渡期间,她的兴趣也转向了市场营销,因为她一直为教练所拥有的一家小企业提供社交媒体支持,而这已经帮助她获得了田径奖学金。

当她搬回城市时,她面临着繁重的工作,每周要在Olive Garden和UPS上工作6-7天,同时还要保证课堂上的出勤率。 这是不可能的体重,但是贝尔不断地提醒她受伤,而每周要花费40个小时以上的脚来坚持下去。 非全日制入学率也给她带来了不小的损失,因为她意识到要毕业需要多长时间才能完成课程。 当她被告知商学院的“升学奖学金”时,她正在寻求如何应对招生顾问所面临的困难的指导。

申请需要提交论文,她很快就完成了。 贝尔回忆说,感觉就像是一辈子在等待回音,但是当她收到一封电子邮件通知,宣布自己已获得奖学金时,她无法抑制自己的兴奋,而且“字面上是上下跳跃”。 该奖学金意味着她能够退出UPS,并增加了注册的课程数量以在2020年完成学位。

退出UPS意味着她不仅有更多的时间来完成她的课程,而且她还可以申请市场营销实习。 在完成课程工作后,贝尔在伯克希尔·哈撒韦公司(Berkshire Hathaway)获得了为期一年的实习机会,这使她进入了房地产领域,现在她对此深感兴趣。

贝尔形容奖学金和实习经历改变了人们的生活,因为它为她的未来开辟了许多她从未想过的想法。 她现年22岁,目前正在申请房地产执照(95%的课程已完成),并有发展Destiny Properties LLC的愿景,Destiny Properties LLC是一家“一站式”风格的代理商,提供贷款,商业和私人房地产方面的专业知识房地产,物业管理和关闭办公室。 她的未来充满着“让我们进门”的思想,以赋予黑人社区增加财产所有权的能力。 她还预见到公司将是一个提供女性指导和无障碍向上活动空间的空间。

我们很荣幸与贝尔女士进行了对话,并深受她的故事启发。 我们为继续前进,消除障碍并扩大我们的社区而感动。 我们渴望为社区中的其他企业家提供支持,并鼓励您向UofL学生传播有关“超越奖学金”的字眼。

关于升学奖学金

奖学金每年颁发一次,该奖项是根据个人的经济需要和优点授予的。 捐助者表示强烈希望将奖项授予提供领导技能和专业潜力证据的女学生。 成功的申请人必须提供一篇论文,讨论学术和专业上的目标和抱负。 申请人必须对营销,企业家精神和/或广告表现出浓厚的教育兴趣。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Destiny Rising

September 1, 2020

In 2014, Scoppechio established the Rise Above Scholarship at the University of Louisville to be awarded annually to a student in the College of Business in memory of Debbie Scoppechio, our founder, former CEO and chairperson. An outgoing community and business leader, Debbie inspired a countless number of young women in Louisville and beyond to be all they can be.

This scholarship was envisioned to uphold Debbie’s legacy by creating opportunities for individuals who are passionate about the advertising and marketing fields and entrepreneurship. Destiny Bell was awarded the 2019-2020 Rise Above Scholarship by the University of Louisville. She embodies this passion and drive to succeed and a few weeks ago, we had the immense pleasure of talking to Ms. Bell about her life story, the scholarship, and her future.

Our conversation began with Bell detailing her first year at Campbellsville University where she attended on an academic and athletic scholarship for track and field as a graphic design major. Unfortunately, she suffered an injury that same year that caused a bulging disc and the end of her enrollment at the school. The injury meant she could no longer participate in the sport, forcing her to make some tough decisions without the financial support of a scholarship. After much determination and difficult conversations, she moved back to Louisville to be closer to her support network and enrolled as a part-time student at the University of Louisville as a business major. The shift in her interest to marketing also occurred during this transition, as she had been offering social media support for a small business owned by the coach who had helped her obtain the track and field scholarship.

 When she moved back to the city, she faced a heavy workload, with 6-7 days a week working at both Olive Garden and UPS while maintaining perfect attendance in her classes. It was an impossible weight, but Bell persevered despite the constant reminder of her injury while spending 40+ hours per week on her feet. The part-time enrollment also took its own toll as she realized how long it would take her to complete her coursework in order to graduate. She was seeking guidance on what to do about the difficulties she faced with her admissions counselor when she was advised about the Rise Above Scholarship in the College of Business. 

The application required an essay submission which she quickly completed. Bell recalls that it felt like a lifetime waiting to hear back, but that when she received the email notification announcing that she had been awarded the scholarship, she couldn’t contain her excitement and was “literally jumping up and down.” The scholarship meant that she was able to quit UPS and increase the number of courses she was enrolled in to finish her degree in 2020.

Quitting UPS meant that not only did she have more time to finish her coursework, but that she could also apply for marketing internships. As she was completing her coursework, Bell was offered a one-year internship at Berkshire Hathaway that introduced her to the world of real estate, which is now something she is deeply passionate about.

Bell describes the scholarship and internship experience as being life-changing in that it opened up so many ideas about her future that she had never envisioned. At 22, she is currently pursuing her real estate license (95% of her coursework is complete) and has a vision to develop Destiny Properties LLC, a “one-stop-shop” style agency that offers expertise in lending, commercial and private real estate, property management and a closing office. Her future is one that encompasses a “let’s get you in the door” ethos in order to empower the Black community to increase property ownership. She also foresees her company as a space to offer female mentorship and accessibility for upward mobility.

We are honored to have had this conversation with Ms. Bell and are deeply inspired by her story. We are moved to continue our work in removing barriers and lifting up our community. We aspire to support other entrepreneurs in our community and encourage you to also spread the word about the Rise Above Scholarship to UofL students.

About The Rise Above Scholarship

The scholarship award is given annually to a one-time recipient and is awarded to an individual based upon financial need and merit. The donor has indicated a strong preference for the award to be made to a female student who provides evidence of leadership skills and professional potential. The successful applicant must provide an essay discussing goals and aspirations, both academically and professionally. Applicants must have demonstrated a strong and deepening educational interest in marketing, entrepreneurship, and/or advertising.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian