Перейти к основному содержанию

Примечания отдела: весна 2022 г.

20 апреля 2022 - -
Доктор Манджу Ахаджа стоит у окна на третьем этаже зала Фрейзер

Экономика

Хосе Фернандес написал главу «Здоровье и медицинское обслуживание в Пуэрто-Рико до и после урагана Мария» в книге «Ураган Мария в Пуэрто-Рико: катастрофа, уязвимость и устойчивость» под редакцией Хавидана Родригеса, Мари Т. Мора и Альберто Давилы. Его издает Rowman & Littlefield.

Элизабет Маннич является соисследователем проекта, получившего трехлетний грант R1.2 в размере 3 миллиона долларов США от Агентства исследований и качества в области здравоохранения. В ходе исследования будет изучено, обеспечивают ли центры амбулаторной хирургии высококачественную стоматологическую хирургическую помощь детям, которая менее затратна, чем те же процедуры, предоставляемые в больницах. В команду проекта входят исследователи из корпорации RAND, Университета Луисвилля и Университета Северной Каролины в Чапел-Хилл.

Менеджмент и предпринимательство

Второй год подряд The ​​Princeton Review оценивает программу Innovation MBA и PhD в области предпринимательства/инноваций как лучшую программу выпускников в области предпринимательства (#33). 

Интернет MBA

В первый год рейтинга соответствия US News & World Report назвал программу UofL Online MBA одной из лучших в стране. Он занял 42-е место в рейтинге лучших онлайн-программ MBA (ничья) и 29-е место в рейтинге лучших онлайн-программ MBA для ветеранов (ничья). Кроме того, наша степень бакалавра заняла 26-е место среди лучших онлайн-программ бакалавриата по бизнес-программам (ничья).

Информационные системы, аналитика и операции

ДР. МАНДЖУ АХУДЖА НАЗНАНА ЛАУРЕАТОМ НАГРАДЫ AIS FELLOW 2021

Быть названным научным сотрудником - это одна из высших академических наград, которую могут получить преподаватели, поскольку это признание их коллегами выдающегося вклада в дисциплину в исследованиях, преподавании и обслуживании. Компания Manju была официально признана 13 декабря на Международной конференции AIS по информационным системам в Остине, штат Техас. У нас была возможность поговорить с доктором Ахуджа об объявлении AIS.

UofL: Что для вас значит быть названным лауреатом премии AIS Fellow Award 2021?

Доктор Манджу Ахуджа: Это замечательно и унизительно - быть узнаваемым моими сверстниками таким образом. Я всегда был увлечен этой профессией и связанными с ней исследованиями и стипендиями как таковыми, но когда приходит такое признание, это, естественно, приятно.

Но что делает это особенно особенным для меня, так это то, что Ассоциация информационных систем (АИС) была создана в 1994 году по инициативе одного из преподавателей Университета Питтсбурга, когда я получал докторскую степень. Мало того, первая конференция (AMCIS или Американская конференция по информационным системам) была проведена в нашем университете на последнем курсе, и мне довелось быть редактором материалов и помощником на этой конференции. Так что быть признанным ими спустя 25 лет – это действительно значимо.

UofL: Премия AIS Fellow Award присуждается лицам, которые внесли выдающийся вклад в информационные системы в области исследований, обучения и обслуживания - с какими из этих областей вы лично отождествляете себя больше всего и почему?

MA: В некотором смысле это все равно, что выбирать среди своих детей; но если бы мне действительно пришлось выбирать, я бы сказал исследование. Тем не менее, у каждого есть свои награды. Исследования являются для меня личным делом, потому что я всегда предпочитал работать над вопросами, которые важны для меня лично. Например, меня как работающую мать глубоко волнуют проблемы баланса между работой и личной жизнью, поэтому мне было невероятно приятно проводить исследования по этим вопросам. Мне также очень нравится служить и работать со своим профессиональным сообществом — многие из этих коллег для меня как семья. Однако и то, и другое приносит отдаленные награды и отложенное удовлетворение. Преподавание и взаимодействие со студентами являются источниками немедленного удовлетворения. Именно здесь мы действительно меняем жизни людей.

UofL: За пределами области, чьи идеи и вклад вы искали для своей работы в области исследований, обучения и обслуживания?

MA: Работа Розабет Мосс Кантер о гендере, работа Михая Чиксентмихайи о потоке и работа Даниэля Канмана о быстром и медленном мышлении сильно повлияли на мое мышление и мои исследования.

Во всех этих сферах и в жизни я следую за Тарой Брач ​​за ее учение о внимательности, сострадании и искренности. Ее книги, такие как Радикальное принятие и Доверяя золоту были для меня путеводной звездой. Я ложусь спать с одной из ее медитаций каждую ночь.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Department Notes: Spring 2022

April 20, 2022 - -
Dr. Manju Ahuja standing against the windows on the third floor of the Frazier Hall

Economics

Jose Fernandez has contributed a chapter, “Health and healthcare delivery in Puerto Rico before and after Hurricane Maria” in Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico: Disaster, Vulnerability & Resilience, edited by Havidán Rodríguez, Marie T. Mora, and Alberto Dávila. It’s published by Rowman & Littlefield.

Elizabeth Munnich is a co-investigator on a project that was awarded a $1.2 million, 3-year R01 grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The study will examine whether ambulatory surgery centers provide high-quality care for pediatric dental surgical procedures that is less costly than the same procedures provided in hospitals. The project team includes researchers from the RAND Corporation, the University of Louisville, and the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Management & Entrepreneurship

For the second year in a row, The Princeton Review has ranked the Innovation MBA and PhD in Entrepreneurship/Innovation as a top graduate program in entrepreneurship (#33). 

Online MBA

In its first year of ranking eligibility, U.S. News & World Report has named the UofL Online MBA program among the best in the nation. It was ranked #42 in Best Online MBA Programs (tie), and #29 in Best Online MBA Programs for Veterans (tie). Further, our undergrad degree was listed #26 Best Online Bachelor’s in Business Programs (tie).

Information Systems, Analytics, & Operations

DR. MANJU AHUJA NAMED A 2021 AIS FELLOW AWARD RECIPIENT

Being named a Fellow is one of the highest academic honors faculty members can receive, as it is recognition by their peers of extraordinary contributions to the discipline in research, teaching, and service. Manju was formally recognized on December 13 at AIS’s International Conference on Information Systems in Austin, Texas. We had an opportunity to talk with Dr. Ahuja about the AIS announcement.

UofL: What does it mean to you to be named a 2021 AIS Fellow Award recipient?

Dr. Manju Ahuja: It feels wonderful and humbling to be recognized by my peers in this way. I have always been passionate about this profession and the related research and scholarship on their own merits, but when such recognition comes, it naturally feels good.

But what makes this particularly special to me is that the Association for Information Systems (AIS) was established in 1994 at the initiative of one of the faculty members at the University of Pittsburgh when I was getting my doctorate. Not only that, the inaugural conference (AMCIS or the Americas Conference on Information Systems) was held at our university in my final year, and I got to be a proceedings editor and gofer at this conference. So to be recognized by them 25 years later is really meaningful.

UofL: The AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to information systems in the areas of research, teaching, and service—which of these areas do you personally identify with the most and why?

MA: In some ways, this is like having to choose among your children;  but if I really had to choose, I would say research. That said, each has its own rewards. Research is personal to me because I have always chosen to work on issues that matter to me personally. For example, as a working mother, I deeply care about work-life balance challenges, and so it felt incredibly rewarding to conduct research on these issues. I also immensely enjoy serving and working with my professional community–many of these colleagues are like family to me. However, both of these bring distant rewards and delayed gratification. Teaching and interactions with students are sources of immediate satisfaction. This is where we truly make a difference in people’s lives.

UofL: Beyond the field, whose insights and contributions did you look to fuel your work in research, teaching, and service?

MA: Rosabeth Moss Kanter’s work on gender, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi’s work on flow, and Daniel Kahnman’s work on thinking fast and slow have strongly influenced my thinking and my research.

In all these areas, and in life, I follow Tara Brach for her teaching on mindfulness, compassion, and sincerity. Her books such as Radical Acceptance and Trusting the Gold have been guiding lights for me. I go to bed with one of her meditations every night.

https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://sbyads.ru/5unsur3/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://fbs.unj.ac.id/wp-content/slot-gacor/https://jurnal.ikipjember.ac.id/slot-online/https://itbk.ac.id/slot-online/https://pusbangpmpp.lppmp.untad.ac.id/judi-online/https://apache1.untad.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://puskesmaspenerokan.batangharikab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://tangguh.batangharikab.go.id/slot-online/https://terang.batangharikab.go.id/slot88/https://umu.edu.lr/togel-online/https://irvingroup.com/sbobet/https://alumni.udb.ac.id/-/slot-gacor/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish