跳到主要内容

部门说明:2022年春季

April 20, 2022 吉姆华纳
Manju Ahuja博士站在Frazier大厅三楼的窗户上

经济学

Jose Fernandez 在由 Havidán Rodríguez、Marie T. Mora 和 Alberto Dávila 编辑的波多黎各飓风玛丽亚:灾难、脆弱性和复原力中贡献了一章“飓风玛丽亚前后波多黎各的健康和医疗保健服务”。 它由 Rowman & Littlefield 出版。

Elizabeth Munnich 是一个项目的共同研究员,该项目获得了医疗保健研究和质量机构颁发的 1.2 万美元、为期 3 年的 R01 赠款。 该研究将检查门诊手术中心是否为儿科牙科手术程序提供高质量的护理,其成本低于医院提供的相同程序。 该项目团队包括来自兰德公司、路易斯维尔大学和北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校的研究人员。

管理与创业

连续第二年,《普林斯顿评论》将创新 MBA 和创业/创新博士学位列为创业领域的顶级研究生课程 (#33)。 

在线MBA

在获得排名资格的第一年,《美国新闻与世界报道》将 UofL 在线 MBA 课程评为全美最佳。 它在最佳在线 MBA 项目(并列)中排名第 42 位,在退伍军人最佳在线 MBA 项目中排名第 29 位(并列)。 此外,我们的本科学位在商业课程中排名第 26 位(并列)。

信息系统、分析和运营

博士。 MANJU AHUJA 被评为 2021 年 AIS 研究员奖获得者

被任命为院士是教职员工可以获得的最高学术荣誉之一,因为这是同行们对该学科在研究、教学和服务方面的非凡贡献的认可。 Manju 于 13 月 XNUMX 日在德克萨斯州奥斯汀举行的 AIS 信息系统国际会议上获得正式认可。 我们有机会与 Ahuja 博士讨论 AIS 公告。

UofL: 被任命为 2021 年 AIS 研究员奖获得者对您来说意味着什么?

Manju Ahuja 博士: 能以这种方式被同龄人认可,感觉很棒,也很谦虚。 我一直对这个专业和相关的研究和奖学金充满热情,但当这种认可来临时,感觉自然很好。

但这对我来说特别特别的是,信息系统协会 (AIS) 于 1994 年在我获得博士学位时由匹兹堡大学的一位教员倡议成立。 不仅如此,就职会议(AMCIS 或美洲信息系统会议)在我的最后一年在我们大学举行,我必须在这次会议上担任会议论文集编辑和参谋。 所以25年后得到他们的认可,真的很有意义。

UofL: AIS Fellow Award 表彰在研究、教学和服务领域对信息系统做出杰出贡献的个人——您个人最认同其中哪些领域,为什么?

嘛: 在某些方面,这就像必须在您的孩子中做出选择; 但如果我真的必须选择,我会说研究。 也就是说,每个人都有自己的奖励。 研究对我来说是个人的,因为我一直选择研究对我个人很重要的问题。 例如,作为一名职业母亲,我非常关心工作与生活平衡方面的挑战,因此对这些问题进行研究感到非常有益。 我也非常喜欢为我的专业社区服务和工作——其中许多同事对我来说就像家人一样。 然而,这两者都带来了遥远的回报和延迟的满足。 教学和与学生的互动是直接满足感的来源。 这是我们真正改变人们生活的地方。

UofL: 在该领域之外,您希望谁的见解和贡献为您在研究、教学和服务方面的工作提供动力?

嘛: Rosabeth Moss Kanter 关于性别的工作、Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi 关于心流的工作以及 Daniel Kahnman 关于快速思考和慢速思考的工作都对我的思考和研究产生了强烈的影响。

在所有这些领域和生活中,我追随塔拉·布拉赫 (Tara Brach) 对正念、慈悲和真诚的教导。 她的书如 彻底接受 相信黄金 一直是我的指路明灯。 我每天晚上都会带着她的一个冥想上床睡觉。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Department Notes: Spring 2022

April 20, 2022 - -
Dr. Manju Ahuja standing against the windows on the third floor of the Frazier Hall

Economics

Jose Fernandez has contributed a chapter, “Health and healthcare delivery in Puerto Rico before and after Hurricane Maria” in Hurricane Maria in Puerto Rico: Disaster, Vulnerability & Resilience, edited by Havidán Rodríguez, Marie T. Mora, and Alberto Dávila. It’s published by Rowman & Littlefield.

Elizabeth Munnich is a co-investigator on a project that was awarded a $1.2 million, 3-year R01 grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. The study will examine whether ambulatory surgery centers provide high-quality care for pediatric dental surgical procedures that is less costly than the same procedures provided in hospitals. The project team includes researchers from the RAND Corporation, the University of Louisville, and the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Management & Entrepreneurship

For the second year in a row, The Princeton Review has ranked the Innovation MBA and PhD in Entrepreneurship/Innovation as a top graduate program in entrepreneurship (#33). 

Online MBA

In its first year of ranking eligibility, U.S. News & World Report has named the UofL Online MBA program among the best in the nation. It was ranked #42 in Best Online MBA Programs (tie), and #29 in Best Online MBA Programs for Veterans (tie). Further, our undergrad degree was listed #26 Best Online Bachelor’s in Business Programs (tie).

Information Systems, Analytics, & Operations

DR. MANJU AHUJA NAMED A 2021 AIS FELLOW AWARD RECIPIENT

Being named a Fellow is one of the highest academic honors faculty members can receive, as it is recognition by their peers of extraordinary contributions to the discipline in research, teaching, and service. Manju was formally recognized on December 13 at AIS’s International Conference on Information Systems in Austin, Texas. We had an opportunity to talk with Dr. Ahuja about the AIS announcement.

UofL: What does it mean to you to be named a 2021 AIS Fellow Award recipient?

Dr. Manju Ahuja: It feels wonderful and humbling to be recognized by my peers in this way. I have always been passionate about this profession and the related research and scholarship on their own merits, but when such recognition comes, it naturally feels good.

But what makes this particularly special to me is that the Association for Information Systems (AIS) was established in 1994 at the initiative of one of the faculty members at the University of Pittsburgh when I was getting my doctorate. Not only that, the inaugural conference (AMCIS or the Americas Conference on Information Systems) was held at our university in my final year, and I got to be a proceedings editor and gofer at this conference. So to be recognized by them 25 years later is really meaningful.

UofL: The AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to information systems in the areas of research, teaching, and service—which of these areas do you personally identify with the most and why?

MA: In some ways, this is like having to choose among your children;  but if I really had to choose, I would say research. That said, each has its own rewards. Research is personal to me because I have always chosen to work on issues that matter to me personally. For example, as a working mother, I deeply care about work-life balance challenges, and so it felt incredibly rewarding to conduct research on these issues. I also immensely enjoy serving and working with my professional community–many of these colleagues are like family to me. However, both of these bring distant rewards and delayed gratification. Teaching and interactions with students are sources of immediate satisfaction. This is where we truly make a difference in people’s lives.

UofL: Beyond the field, whose insights and contributions did you look to fuel your work in research, teaching, and service?

MA: Rosabeth Moss Kanter’s work on gender, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi’s work on flow, and Daniel Kahnman’s work on thinking fast and slow have strongly influenced my thinking and my research.

In all these areas, and in life, I follow Tara Brach for her teaching on mindfulness, compassion, and sincerity. Her books such as Radical Acceptance and Trusting the Gold have been guiding lights for me. I go to bed with one of her meditations every night.

https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://sbyads.ru/5unsur3/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://fbs.unj.ac.id/wp-content/slot-gacor/https://jurnal.ikipjember.ac.id/slot-online/https://itbk.ac.id/slot-online/https://pusbangpmpp.lppmp.untad.ac.id/judi-online/https://apache1.untad.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://puskesmaspenerokan.batangharikab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://tangguh.batangharikab.go.id/slot-online/https://terang.batangharikab.go.id/slot88/https://umu.edu.lr/togel-online/https://irvingroup.com/sbobet/https://alumni.udb.ac.id/-/slot-gacor/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish