跳到主要内容

赌自己

January 5, 2022 - -
达蒙·米姆斯,CoB 学生

在申请 UofL 的 MBA 时,Damon Mims 不确定研究生院是否适合他。 就像在原本完美的夏日阳光前掠过一朵云一样,怀疑会投下挥之不去的阴影。

“我正在点击 UofL 的网站,看到所有这些成功人士和他们快乐的脸都盯着我看,我只是有这种怀疑的感觉。 我开始想,'你在做什么? [研究生院]是给别人的——不是给我的。” 达蒙停顿了一下,回到那个时刻。 “你有没有过这样的感觉,这超出了你的能力范围?”

机会联系

从外面看,你很难认为 Damon Mims 不是为 MBA 课程量身定做的。 作为一名服役 XNUMX 年以上的陆军退伍军人,他在阿拉巴马州拉克堡解决了系统数据库噩梦的问题。

“[Fort Rucker] 真的重新点燃了对计算机和信息系统的兴趣,”Damon 说——他毕业于奥本大学,获得管理信息系统学士学位。 这项作为碰撞调查员的工作为他在 Humana 的平民职业生涯做好了准备——最初是作为一名业务分析师,然后是 Humana 成员参与营销活动的技术设计和分析的先锋。

即使拥有如此专业的动力,Damon 也无法将他的教育提升到一个新的水平。 “我会是那些照片中那个在办公室角落里交叉双臂微笑的人吗? 我很难想象它。”

当 Damon 终于拨通电话并开始与招聘助理总监 Stephen Swan 交谈时,那些最初的疑虑慢慢消失了。 “斯蒂芬只是让我放心。 他是陆军小子。 我们发现他的父亲实际上和我在同一个工作地点驻扎在德国——这个位于德国南部的小基地……然后他会随意丢下关于 MBA 课程的小金块。 [那个电话]给了我申请的勇气。”

凭借他在信息系统方面的背景,Damon 添加了一个 管理分析证书 与他的MBA选修课。 正是在他的技术管理课上,他瞥见了自己的未来——即使他当时并不知道。

一个奇怪的最爱

“Reinhardt 教授让我们做了一个项目,我们分析了技术在当地企业中的作用。 我们最终与 Kay DeVincentis [项目管理副总裁] 在 丘吉尔唐斯公司 (CDI)。 我们还会见了 Kristin Warfield [合作伙伴副总裁] 和 Ben Murr [首席技术官],”Mims 说。 “这令人大开眼界。 您只会真正将丘吉尔唐斯视为赛马场。 我从来没有想过在 CDI 会有一个适合我的地方。”

事实上,在完成他的 MBA 一周后,达蒙·米姆斯就在丘吉尔唐斯找到了一个地方。 1900 月,他加入 CDI 担任游戏运营分析师。 他将他与 CDI 的初次接触归功于技术管理课程和使这一职业转变成为现实的认证。 “这是变革性的。 我获得了很多个人见解,以及我在没有获得 MBA 认证的情况下从未接触过的软件方面的经验,”Damon 说道。 “我的意思是,今天的数据就像 XNUMX 年代的石油繁荣。 解释和分析它的能力已迅速成为各行各业的企业所必需的。”

达蒙已经跨越了从怀疑到自信的门槛。 这是他的妻子利比进一步灌输给他的特质。 “她种下了那颗种子,并鼓励它浇水,”达蒙补充道。 “它现在是一朵穿过混凝土的花。” 即使天空中乌云密布,阳光依然照耀。

https://sshj.in/public/slot-deposit-dana/https://mbmscience.com/public/slot88/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/https://zombiigrice.com/slot-gacor/https://nje.org.na/slot-deposit-dana/https://journals.tma.uz/slot-gacor/https://muru.com.co/slot-deposit-pulsa/https://coresdaterra.com.br/slot-gacor/https://sasurie.com/slot-gacor/https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://mccm.ptcer.pl/slot-demo/https://academconsult.ru/slot-gacor/https://www.doutoresdoexcel.com.br/-/slot-gacor/https://peshawarhighcourt.gov.pk/slot-gacor/http://a0729171.xsph.ru/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://www.ijmaberjournal.org/slot-gacor/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://artescienza.org/wp-content/uploads/slot-gacor/https://journal.icter.org/public/slot-gacor/https://rumosdainformacao.ivc.br/5unsur3/https://dailyexpresstop.com/https://livepublicnews.com/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://www.unaki.ac.id/togel88/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://iat.alfithrah.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Betting on Yourself

January 5, 2022 Jim Warner
Damon Mimms, CoB Student

On the verge of applying for his MBA at UofL, Damon Mims was unsure that graduate school was for him. Like a single cloud passing in front of the sun on an otherwise perfect summer day, doubt can cast a lingering shadow.

“I was clicking through the UofL website, seeing all these successful people and their happy faces staring back at me, and I just had this feeling of doubt. I started thinking, ‘What are you doing?’ [Grad school] is for someone else—it’s not for me.” Damon pauses, going back to that moment. “Have you ever had that feeling like this is beyond your reach?”

A Chance Connection

From the outside looking in, you would be hard-pressed to think Damon Mims wasn’t tailor-made for the MBA program. An Army veteran with five-plus years of service under his belt, he had wrapped up his tenure untangling a systems database nightmare at Fort Rucker, Alabama.

“[Fort Rucker] really rekindled an interest in computers and information systems,” says Damon—he had graduated with a Bachelor’s in Management Information Systems from Auburn University. This work as a collision investigator prepared him for his civilian career with Humana—initially as a business analyst and then spearheading technical design and analysis of Humana’s member engagement marketing campaigns.

Even with this professional momentum, taking his education to the next level wasn’t a given for Damon. “Could I be the guy in those pictures who’s crossing his arms smiling from a corner office? I had a hard time picturing it.”

When Damon finally made the phone call and started speaking with Assistant Director of Recruitment, Stephen Swan, those initial doubts slowly faded. “Stephen just put me at ease. He’s an Army brat. We discovered that his dad was actually stationed in Germany at the same duty station I was—this tiny, tiny base in southern Germany…and then he would just drop random nuggets about the MBA program. [That call] gave me the courage to apply.”

With his background in information systems, Damon added a Managerial Analytics certificate with his MBA electives. It was in his Technology Management class that he caught a glimpse of his future—even if he didn’t know it at the time.

An Odds-On Favorite

“Professor Reinhardt had us do a project where we analyzed technology’s role in a local business. We ended up speaking with Kay DeVincentis [VP of Program Management] at Churchill Downs Incorporated (CDI). We also met with Kristin Warfield [VP of Partnerships] and Ben Murr [Chief Technology Officer],” says Mims. “It was eye-opening. You only really think of Churchill Downs as a horse racing track. It never occurred to me that there would be a place for me at CDI.”

A week after completing his MBA, there was, in fact, a place for Damon Mims at Churchill Downs. In October, he joined CDI as a gaming operations analyst. He credits his initial contact with CDI to the technology management class and certification for making this career change a reality. “It was transformative. I gained a lot of personal insight, as well as experience with software I would have never had exposure to without that certification in my MBA,” posits Damon. “I mean, data today is like the oil boom in the 1900s. The ability to interpret and analyze it has quickly become essential for businesses in every industry.”

Damon has crossed that threshold from doubt into confidence. It’s a trait that was further instilled in him by his wife, Libby. “She planted that seed and watered it with encouragement,” adds Damon. “It’s now a flower that’s grown through the concrete.” Even when there’s a cloud in the sky, the sun still shines.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish