跳到主要内容

建立连接

October 27, 2022 埃里卡·霍尔斯(Erica Hulse)
卢克怀特黑德,明矾

围绕多样性和包容性的问题从小就影响了 2021 年春季在线 MBA 队列毕业生卢克·怀特黑德(他/他)。 Whitehead 目前是 Brown-Forman 的多元化和包容性业务合作伙伴,在旧金山长大。 他出生于一个白人母亲和一个黑人父亲,他指出,“……当时异族夫妻并不很受欢迎,但幸运的是,他们的爱是牢不可破的。” 怀特黑德最终追随他父亲埃迪怀特黑德的脚步,在路易斯维尔大学打篮球的同时获得了传播学本科学位。 毕业后,怀特黑德继续打职业篮球。 虽然被金州勇士队短暂签下,但他职业生涯的大部分时间都在国际上打球,并指出他曾在澳大利亚、德国、菲律宾和韩国打球。

为了追求更大的目标,怀特黑德于 2010 年从职业篮球队退役,并创立了 混合国家,分享他的非营利组织是“一个多元文化的品牌和运动,在全球拥有超过 500,000 名追随者。” 在此期间,他继续接受教育以支持他的 D&I 工作,获得了康奈尔大学的多元化和包容性专业认证,这使他能够与多家财富 500 强公司合作。

当 Whitehead 考虑他的学术旅程的下一阶段时,学术灵活性的机会以及与大学的紧密家庭关系使他决定在 UofL 攻读在线 MBA。

怀特黑德与 UofL 的家庭联系很深,其根源始于他父亲的红衣主教篮球。 回顾这一遗产,他解释说:“我父亲实际上是在 1962 年打破了 UofL 的肤色障碍,成为了第一批在大学打球的非裔美国人之一”,因此他决定继续获得通过在这里攻读 MBA 获得大学学位。 “作为一名自豪的 UofL 校友和......男子篮球项目的非官方大使,我在母校继续我的教育之旅是正确的。 我对大学的热爱加倍; 大学对我很好。”

在反思他选择在线攻读 MBA 时,他回应了大流行为在职专业人士远程获得教育所带来的好处。 “我认为现在是利用 Brown-Forman 慷慨的学费报销计划并在舒适的家中攻读 MBA 的最佳时机。 我认为大流行带来了很多负面的东西,但也有很多祝福。 这是其中之一。”

怀着通过持续的多元化和包容性努力建立积极的工作文化的承诺,以及为员工提供灵活性和成长的愿望,怀特黑德选择了他在 Brown-Forman 的职位并不仅对他的工作充满热情,这并不奇怪,但公司如何支持员工作为个人。 Whitehead 在 Brown-Forman 的经历和公司发展的声誉是他决定为公司工作的主要因素。 “他们在路易斯维尔地区的声誉是一流的[因为]照顾他们的员工,只是一个工作的好地方。 我还听说了有关公司 D&I 努力的好消息,并希望成为一家真正致力于多元化和包容性的全球公司的一员。”

Whitehead 已经通过 OMBA 计划教授的内容将宝贵的见解应用到他的工作中。 Whitehead 指出,“我的 MBA 之旅 [has] 增强了我与来自企业各个部分的个人和团队建立联系的能力。 从销售到营销,从财务到沟通,它让我能够更流畅地与各种职能部门互动。”

https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://rumosdainformacao.ivc.br/5unsur3/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://iat.alfithrah.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://fbs.unj.ac.id/wp-content/slot-gacor/https://jurnal.ikipjember.ac.id/slot-online/https://itbk.ac.id/slot-online/https://pusbangpmpp.lppmp.untad.ac.id/judi-online/https://apache1.untad.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Building Connection

October 27, 2022 Erica Hulse
Luke Whitehead, Alum

Issues surrounding diversity and inclusion impacted Spring 2021 Online MBA cohort graduate Luke Whitehead (he/him) from an early age. Currently a Diversity and Inclusion Business Partner for Brown-Forman, Whitehead grew up in San Francisco. Born to a white mother and black father, he noted, “…interracial couples weren’t very popular back then, but luckily for me, their love was unbreakable.” Whitehead eventually followed in his father, Eddie Whitehead’s footsteps, earning his undergraduate degree in communications at the University of Louisville while playing basketball for the university. Upon graduation, Whitehead went on to play basketball professionally. While briefly signed by the Golden State Warriors, he played most of his career internationally, noting that he played in Australia, Germany, the Philippines, and South Korea.

In search of a greater purpose, Whitehead retired from professional basketball in 2010 and created Mixed Nation, sharing that his non-profit organization serves as “a multicultural brand and movement with over 500,000 followers worldwide.” During this time, he continued to pursue his education to support his D&I efforts, earning a Diversity and Inclusion professional certification from Cornell University, which allowed him to work with several Fortune 500 companies.

As Whitehead considered the next stage of his academic journey, the opportunity for academic flexibility along with strong familial ties to the university led him to the decision to pursue his MBA online at UofL.

Whitehead’s familial connection to UofL runs deep, with roots in Cardinal basketball that began with his father. Recalling that legacy, he explained that “My father actually broke the color barrier at UofL in 1962 by being one of the first African Americans to ever play at the university,” so it was no surprise that he decided to continue the tradition of earning his degree at the university by pursuing his MBA here as well. “As a proud UofL alumni and…unofficial ambassador for the men’s basketball program, it was only right that I continued my educational journey at my alma mater. I was doubling down on my love for the university; the university has been good to me.”

When reflecting on his choice to pursue his MBA online, he echoed the benefits the pandemic provided for working professionals to earn their education remotely. “I thought it would be a perfect time to take advantage of Brown-Forman’s generous tuition reimbursement program and pursue my MBA from the comfort of my home. I think the pandemic had a lot of negative things that came from it, but there were also many blessings. This was one of them.”

With a commitment to building a positive work culture through continued diversity and inclusion efforts, along with a desire to provide employee flexibility and growth, it is no surprise that Whitehead chose his role at Brown-Forman and is passionate about not only what he does, but how the company supports employees as individuals. Whitehead’s experiences at Brown-Forman and the reputation the company has developed were major factors in his decision to work for the company. “Their reputation in the Louisville area is top notch [for] taking care of their employees and just being a great place to work. I had also heard great things about the company’s D&I efforts and wanted to be part of a global company that is truly dedicated to diversity and inclusion.”

Whitehead is already applying valuable insights to his work through content being taught through the OMBA program. Whitehead noted, “My MBA journey [has] enhanced my capabilities of connecting with individuals and teams from all parts of the business. From sales to marketing and finance to communications, it’s better equipped me to interact with various functions more fluently.”

https://thejrns.org/slot-gacor/https://ijohmn.com/public/slot-gacor/https://www.kuhoo.com/wp-content/uploads/slot-deposit-dana/http://clc.cet.edu/judi-bola/https://ijorces.org/slot-gacor/https://virtusclean.com/slot-online/https://modernacademy-journal.synceg.net/slot-gacor/https://rumosdainformacao.ivc.br/5unsur3/https://cosy.univrab.ac.id/slot-online/https://staialakbarsurabaya.ac.id/slot-online/https://krti.unesa.ac.id/slot-deposit-pulsa/http://jurnal.umsu.ac.id/public/http://jurnal.univrab.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://fbs.unj.ac.id/wp-content/slot-gacor/https://jurnal.ikipjember.ac.id/slot-online/https://itbk.ac.id/slot-online/https://pusbangpmpp.lppmp.untad.ac.id/judi-online/https://apache1.untad.ac.id/slot-gacor/https://revistadeodontologia.facpp.edu.br/public/slot-gacor/https://puskesmaspenerokan.batangharikab.go.id/slot-gacor/https://tangguh.batangharikab.go.id/slot-online/https://terang.batangharikab.go.id/slot88/https://umu.edu.lr/togel-online/https://irvingroup.com/sbobet/
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish