跳到主要内容

赋权身份

1月2022日, XNUMX年 阿里·菲佛
UofL 校友 Brevin Woodford 的头像

商学院校友 Brevin Woodford 于 2018 年毕业,获得本科学位,专注于 市场营销. 他于 2021 年初回到校园,不是作为学生,而是作为母校的员工。 布雷文在 文化与公平中心 作为 LGBT 中心团队的一员。 该中心于 2021 年秋季开放,旨在为各类学生提供一个温馨的空间和必要的资源。

在 Brevin 来到这里的那一年,他参与了该中心的多个项目,包括 Rustin 主题住房社区、欢迎周和红衣主教展望日。 他还为 LGBT 中心的社交媒体账户做出了贡献。

LGBT 中心主任兼 Brevin 的主管 Lisa Gunterman 说:“我们非常感谢 Brevin 的加入! 他的天赋、才能、技能和以学生为中心的方法使他成为 LGBT 中心团队的宝贵成员……布雷文在校园内广受欢迎,并致力于营造一种氛围,让所有学生都感到受欢迎、被包容和有能力达到他们的目标充分的潜力。”

我们与布雷文坐下来了解更多关于他目前的角色以及是什么激发了他的职业生涯。

是什么吸引你到商学院攻读本科学位?

[第一] 我来自路易斯维尔,我一直是红衣主教的粉丝! 所以随着大学的临近,我有兴趣离开州,但我最终决定留在路易斯维尔,并通过留在校园并参与其中来获得良好的大学体验。

[第二],我在UofL开始的那一年是他们招收学生作为一年级学生进入商学院的第一年,这意味着我在获得x个[通识教育]学分后就不必申请了。 录取是基于某些标准:高中 GPA、ACT 分数等。所以知道我不必等待就可以立即开始学习一些主要课程,这非常吸引人!

你为什么决定攻读市场营销学位? 你觉得你的课程如何为你的职业生涯做好准备?

在选择专业时,我知道我想主修商科,但我也想做一些适合我的事情……我觉得我的精力和对人的爱更适合营销。

您之前是否有任何影响您做出此决定的经历?

我去了路易斯维尔的马累高中,我是那里的 FBLA(美国未来商业领袖)的一员。 通过那个,我的兴趣在商业上达到了顶峰,但更具体地说,是能够吸引人们并让他们对你热衷的事物感兴趣。 我觉得营销可能是一种以此为职业的方式!

你目前在大学的角色是什么,你的职责是什么?

我目前是 LGBT 中心的高级项目协调员。 在我的职位上,我有三个主要角色:

  • 我建议 Bayard Rustin LGBTQ+ 社会正义主题社区。 我每月为我的学生举行会议,并举行一对一的会议,以帮助个人发展,谈论他们在校园内发生的事情等等!
  • 我建议我们的学生团体为有色人种的 LGBTQ+ 学生及其盟友提供建议。 该小组希望为学生提供支持,并为学生提供一个安全和肯定的空间,以及他们的身份相交的地方。
  • [最后] 我全年都在为整个校园社区制作节目; 共享资源并为学生、教职员工提供支持; 以及中心或校园合作伙伴在任何给定时间可能需要的任何其他东西。

通过所有这些事情,我能够将更多的学生带到我们的 LGBT 中心,并希望让更多的学生在校园和整个路易斯维尔社区中感受到归属感!

作为最近的校友,您希望为未来的学生创造哪些积极的变化?

我希望继续为有色人种和酷儿学生创造空间,让他们感到被看到、听到和被欣赏,这样他们不仅觉得自己属于……他们茁壮成长!

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Empower Identity

February 1, 2022 Ali Pfeiffer
Headshot of UofL alum Brevin Woodford

College of Business alum Brevin Woodford graduated in 2018 with an undergraduate degree focused on marketing. He returned to campus in early 2021 not as a student, but as an employee for his alma mater. Brevin works in the Cultural and Equity Center as a member of the LGBT Center team. The Center, which opened in the fall of 2021, aims to provide a welcoming space and necessary resources to a diverse array of students.

In the year that Brevin has been here, he’s worked on multiple projects for the Center, including The Rustin Themed Housing Community, Welcome Week, and Cardinal OUTlook Day. He also contributes to the LGBT Center’s social media accounts.

Lisa Gunterman, Director of the LGBT Center and Brevin’s supervisor, says “We are beyond grateful to have Brevin onboard! His gifts, talents, skills, and student-centered approach make him an invaluable member of the LGBT Center team…Brevin is well-liked across campus and is dedicated to building a climate where all students feel welcome, included, and empowered to reach their full potential.”

We sat down with Brevin to learn more about his current role and what inspired his career.

What drew you to the College of Business for your undergraduate degree?

[First] I am from Louisville and I have always been a Cardinal fan! So as college approached, I was interested in going out of state, but I ultimately decided to stay in Louisville and still have a good college experience by staying on campus and getting involved.

[Second], the year I began at UofL was the first year they admitted students into the College of Business as first-year students, meaning I didn’t have to apply after taking x-number of [general education] credits. The admittance was based on certain criteria: high school GPA, ACT scores, etc. So knowing I didn’t have to wait to start taking some major classes right out of the gate was very appealing!

Why did you decide on a degree in marketing? How do you feel your classes prepared you for your career?

When it came to choosing a major, I knew I wanted to major in something within business, but I also wanted to do something that fit me…I felt like my energy and love of people would be fit within marketing more.

Did you have any prior experiences that influenced you in this decision?

I went to Male High School here in Louisville, and I was a part of the FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) there. Through that, my interests peaked in business, but more specifically, the ability to draw people in and get them interested in something that you are passionate about. I felt that marketing could be a way to make a career out of that!

What is your current role with the University and what are your responsibilities?

I currently am the Program Coordinator, Sr. at the LGBT Center. In my position, I have three primary roles:

  • I advise the Bayard Rustin LGBTQ+ Social Justice Themed Community. I hold monthly meetings for my students and have 1:1 meetings to help with personal development, talk about things they have going on throughout campus, and more!
  • I advise our student group for LGBTQ+ students of color and their allies. The group looks to support students and provide a safe and affirming space for students and where their identities intersect.
  • [Lastly] I work to put on programs throughout the year for the campus community at large; share resources and give support to students, faculty, and staff; and any other things that the Center or campus partners may need at any given time.

Through all of these things, I am able to bring more students to our LGBT Center and hopefully make more students feel welcome [with] a sense of belonging on campus and in the Louisville community at large!

As a recent alum, what positive change do you hope to create for future students?

I hope to continue to create spaces for students of color and queer students to feel seen, heard, and appreciated so that they not only feel like they belong… they THRIVE!

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish