跳到主要内容

用自己的方式

1年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
奥斯汀·布兰登(Austin Brandon),商学院学生

成功没有永远的道路,它永远不会像一条直线。 奥斯汀·布兰登(Austin Brandon)理解,在通往更美好明天的道路上,旅程本身可能会带您绕开各种弯路和潜在的单向路线。 奥斯汀大学商学院最近毕业,他的出色学术成绩是勤奋工作甚至更艰辛的课程的产物。 在决心和机会的十字路口,品格常常被揭示出来,但是那些磨练的时刻发生在这个十字路口之前。 这可能花费了比预期更长的时间,但奥斯丁·布兰登(Austin Brandon)获得了2020年杰出营销资深人士的称赞。

奥斯汀(Austin)于2011年加入UofL。 你上大学。 我已经准备好独自一人出去了……那是我当时所处的位置。”他回头说道。 在肯塔基大学度过一个学期后,奥斯丁的最初经历更多地集中在大学生活方式上,而不是课堂上。 “我不在家,参加聚会和聚会,因为那是我认为大学的全部目的。 您度过了愉快的时光,并且您的课时都照顾好自己。”

奥斯丁决定不完全适合英国,因此加入了UofL。 “我父亲去过UofL,我爱UofL…我以为这是解决办法,但是我18岁,对玩得开心和与朋友聚会更感兴趣。”

最终,这种生活方式赶上了他,到22岁时,奥斯丁发现自己已经辍学,需要离开聚会。 “我搬到亚特兰大,以谋生。 这不是一件容易的事,但我需要重新开始。 我到处都是零工,但后来进入了汽车行业。” 通过清洗挡风玻璃和给轮胎充气,Austin逐渐发展成为一项服务技术。

即使在工作和生活中,奥斯丁也知道他想要第二次上大学的机会。 “我需要专注于自己的生活。 我希望自己的生活有所进步,而且我一直希望获得UofL学位。”奥斯丁说。 UofL的Academic Fresh Start计划为他提供了第二次机会。 放学两年以上后希望重返大学的学生有资格申请并要求重置其累积GPA。 为了符合资格,重新入学的学生必须在重新入学之后和毕业之前至少学习30个小时的课程。 虽然所有课程都保留在永久学生的记录上,但这份干净的名单可以让学生建立学术动力并获得本科学位。

当Fresh Start为Austin敞开大门时,他的努力和对毕业的承诺使这次机会成功。 这条路可能已经摆在他面前,但这也意味着牺牲和向他的过去学习。 这次,奥斯丁的成熟和专注使第二幕产生了影响。 “我知道我会回来做什么。”

在担任本田技术员的全职工作期间,他在商学院获得了3.84的GPA。 奥斯汀说:“我会在星期天工作三个12个小时,然后花一点时间来上课,所以我知道我需要安排我的课程来补习那些天。” UofL和Honda都与他合作以支持他的日程安排。 “我从本田出发的日子像第二份工作一样度过。 我要完成八到十个小时的课程。 我必须学会对朋友和家人说不。。。搬到亚特兰大并成为一个独立的人,我学到的一件事是,在我想要拥有的任何乐趣之前,都需要承担一些责任,而我有很多乐趣,没错,我知道我可以度过一个周末。 不过,我仍需要带那台笔记本电脑,以便把工作拆下来。”

此外,奥斯汀还了解到,这不仅仅是做家庭作业。 “这是关于做好工作并支持工作。 您做得更好,因为知道就可以学习。 我没有时间补习全职,我有工作!”

时间管理,组织和纪律在使这种平衡行为成为可能的过程中发挥了作用-以及UofL提供的支持。 奥斯丁说:“学院对我来说是一次身临其境的体验。” “尽管由于我的工作日程,我没有在课外做很多事情,但[帮助]总是存在; 他们改变了我的生活!”

当奥斯汀得知查尔斯·夏普(Charles Sharp)博士提名他为市场营销杰出资深人士时,他感到惊讶。 “我有他上一堂课,他在说这些话,我不知道我做了什么(应得的奖项),但是当他看到我想在自己身上看到的这些东西时,这给了我信心成功。”

“大学的更大宗旨是代表奥斯丁·布兰登这样的学生,”市场营销学系实践助理教授夏普博士说。 “他是一个成功的故事,我们的路易斯维尔大学和商学院可以正确地宣称。 考虑到2020-21学年的众多挑战,奥斯汀的成功故事令人耳目一新。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Make Your Own Way

February 1, 2021 Jim Warner
Austin Brandon, College of Business Student

There’s never one path to success, and it never looks like a straight line. Austin Brandon understands that on the road to a better tomorrow, the journey itself can take you down a variety of detours and potential one-ways. A recent graduate of the College of Business, Austin’s excellent academic record is the product of hard work and even harder won lessons. At the crossroads of determination and opportunity, character is often revealed, but those tempering moments happen way before this intersection. It may have taken a little longer than expected, but Austin Brandon earned his commendation as the 2020 Outstanding Senior in Marketing.

Austin started at UofL in 2011. “You finish high school. You go to college. I was ready to get out on my own…that’s where I was at,” he says, looking back. After spending one semester at the University of Kentucky, Austin’s initial experiences focused more on the college lifestyle than the classroom. “I was away from home and was partying and hanging out because that’s what I thought college was all about. You have a good time, and your classes take care of themselves.”

Deciding that UK may not have been the best fit, Austin enrolled at UofL. “My father went to UofL, I love UofL… I thought this would be the fix, but I was 18 years old and still more interested in having a good time and partying with my friends.”

Eventually, that lifestyle caught up with him, and by 22, Austin found himself out of school and needing to leave the partying behind. “I moved to Atlanta to get my life together. It wasn’t super easy, but I needed to start fresh. I had odd jobs here and there, but then I got into the automotive industry.” From washing windshields and putting air in tires, Austin worked his way up and became a service tech.

Even as he was working and putting his life together, Austin knew that he wanted a second chance at college. “I need to focus on my life. I want to get on track with some advancement in my life, and I always wanted a degree from UofL,” said Austin. That second chance was offered to him by UofL’s Academic Fresh Start program. Students looking to return to the University after being out of school for more than two years are eligible to apply and request a reset of their cumulative GPA. To qualify, Fresh Start students are required to take at least 30 hours of coursework after readmission and before graduating. While all courses are taken to remain on the permanent student record, this clean slate allows students to build academic momentum and earn an undergraduate degree.

While Fresh Start held the door open for Austin, his drive and commitment to graduating translated this opportunity into success. The road may have been set out before him, but it also meant sacrifices and learning from his past. This time, Austin’s maturity and focus helped make this second act impactful. “I knew what I came back to do.”

He earned a 3.84 GPA at the College of Business while holding down his full-time job as a technician at Honda. “I would work three 12–hours and a little bit on Sunday to get my hours in, so I knew that I needed to schedule my classes to fill in those days,” says Austin. Both UofL and Honda worked with him to support his schedule. “My days off [from Honda] are spent like a second job. I’ve got eight to ten hours where I’ve got to get [my course work] done. I had to learn to say no to friends and family…One thing I learned by moving to Atlanta and becoming an independent person is [that] some responsibilities need to come before whatever fun I want to have — and I have plenty of fun, don’t get me wrong — I learned that I could go away for a weekend. Still, I need to bring that laptop so that I can knock the work out.”

Additionally, Austin learned that it wasn’t just about doing the homework. “It’s about doing a good job and standing behind the work. The better job you do, the less you need to study because you just know it. I don’t have the time to cram and pull all-nighters—I have work!”

Time management, organization, and discipline were instrumental in making this balancing act possible — along with the support offered at UofL. “The College was an immersive experience for me,” said Austin. “Even though I didn’t do a lot outside of class because of my work schedule, [the help] was always there; they turned my life around!”

When Austin learned that Dr. Charles Sharp nominated him for Outstanding Senior in Marketing, he was surprised. “I had him for one class, and he’s saying these things, and I have no idea what I did [to deserve this award], but by him seeing these things in me that I want to see in myself, it’s given me the confidence to succeed.”

“The greater purpose of the University is represented in students like Austin Brandon,” says Dr.  Sharp, assistant professor of practice in the Marketing department. “He is a success story that can rightfully be claimed by our University of Louisville and the College of Business.  Given the numerous challenges of the 2020-21 academic year, Austin’s success story is most refreshing.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian