跳到主要内容

分析简介2019-02

28年2019月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
赛马与数据分析图形叠加

春季2019学期高级顶点研究项目综述

Steven S. Vickner,博士,

副教授

26年2019月XNUMX日

在我的春季2019高级顶点课程中,学生完成了大量的应用研究项目。 七名学生使用Microsoft Excel和多元回归分析,使用来自Keeneland,Fasig-Tipton和Robertson Equine Sale的数据估算了纯种一岁鸽,纯种雄鸽和美国Saddlebreds的特征定价模型。 三名学生使用IMPLAN和投入产出分析来估计在美国最大的马展肯塔基州(Oak Grove)建造新的马具赛道的经济影响,以及动物健康/生物安全政策举措。 除了严格的经济模型分析外,每个学生还必须撰写研究论文并进行演示。 学生们必须以在YouTube上录制的研究海报和简短海报展示的形式进一步总结他们的工作。 这里提供了这些摘要的链接。

Olivia DeNoto女士和Landin Johnston女士 - 前两个上市项目 - 凭借其模范奖学金赢得了马产业计划中的两个着名奖项。


Thoroughbred Racing杰出高级项目2019奖获得者的未来

奥利维亚·德诺托: 纯种市场的享乐定价


罗伯特G.劳伦斯马业务杰出高级2019奖获得者

兰丁约翰斯顿: 美国Saddlebred特征的特征价格分析


Madeline Autrey: 纯种一岁鸽的回归分析


Kailyn Boggs: 对纯种马驹生物安全的经济影响


谢尔比鲍曼: 纯种一岁鸽的特征价格分析


凯瑟琳布朗: 在所有年龄段的2019 Keeneland马匹出售的纯种马的享乐定价


安娜亨尼斯: 是什么推动了纯种育种的价格


凯莉马可尼奇: 斯科茨代尔阿拉伯马展的经济影响分析


Brianna Vitt: 两年级纯种马训练的特征价格分析


Patrick Wilbourn: Oak Grove Harness赛道的经济影响


Steven S. Vickner博士是路易斯维尔大学商业学院马术产业项目的经济学家和副教授。 他在科罗拉多州立大学获得农业和资源经济学硕士和博士学位,在丹佛大学获得管理学MBA学位,在鲍灵格林州立大学获得经济学学士学位。 他的研究重点是信息和技术在经济决策中的作用,他多年来一直在研究一岁鸽纯种价格。 他教授Equine Economics,Equine Marketing,以及EIP的高级顶点研究项目课程,以及新的MS业务分析计划中的Data Analytics II。 有关更多信息,请联系Vickner(502)852-4888或steven.vickner@louisville.edu。

UofL的Equine Industry Program是唯一获得AACSB认证的本科商业学位,以马为重点。 毕业生可以在行业的各个方面找到,从培训到广播再到财务分析。

分析简报 系列由路易斯维尔大学商业学院马产业计划出版,作为其正在进行的研究计划的一部分,旨在解决广泛定义的马业中的当代经济,商业和法律/监管主题,包括但不限于,pri-mutuel赛马,投注,游戏,拍卖,育种,其他马术运动,与马有关的旅游以及所有相关的供应链。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

Analytics Brief 2019-02

June 28, 2019 Jim Warner
race horse with data analytics graphics overlay

A Summary of the Senior Capstone Research Projects from the Spring 2019 Semester

Steven S. Vickner, PhD,

Associate Professor

June 26, 2019

During my Spring 2019 senior capstone course, students completed a wide array of applied research projects. Seven students used Microsoft Excel and multiple regression analysis to estimate hedonic pricing models of Thoroughbred yearlings, Thoroughbred broodmares, and American Saddlebreds using data from Keeneland, Fasig-Tipton, and the Robertson Equine Sale. Three students used IMPLAN and input-output analysis to estimate the economic impact of the construction of a new harness racetrack in Kentucky (Oak Grove), the largest horse show in the United States, and animal health/biosecurity policy initiatives. In addition to their rigorous economic modeling analyses, each student had to write a research paper and make a presentation. The students had to further summarize their work in the form of a research poster and brief poster presentation recorded on YouTube. Links to those summaries are provided here.

Ms. Olivia DeNoto and Ms. Landin Johnston – the first two projects listed – won the two prestigious awards within the Equine Industry Program for their exemplary scholarship.


Future of Thoroughbred Racing Outstanding Senior Project 2019 Award recipient

Olivia DeNoto: Hedonic Pricing in the Thoroughbred Market


Robert G. Lawrence Outstanding Senior in Equine Business 2019 Award recipient

Landin Johnston: Hedonic Price Analysis of American Saddlebred Characteristics


Madeline Autrey: A Regression Analysis of Thoroughbred Yearlings


Kailyn Boggs: An Economic Impact on the Biosecurity of Thoroughbred Foals


Shelby Bowman: Hedonic Price Analysis of Thoroughbred Yearlings


Catherine Brown: Hedonic Pricing in Thoroughbreds Sold at the 2019 Keeneland Horses of All Ages Sale


Anna Hennis: What Drives the Price of a Thoroughbred Broodmare


Kaylee Markonich: Economic Impact Analysis of the Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show


Brianna Vitt: Hedonic Price Analysis of Two-Year-Old Thoroughbreds in Training


Patrick Wilbourn: Economic Impact of the Oak Grove Harness Racetrack


Dr. Steven S. Vickner is an economist and associate professor in the Equine Industry Program, College of Business, University of Louisville. He earned both his MS and PhD in agricultural and resource economics from Colorado State University, an MBA in management from the University of Denver and a bachelor’s degree in economics from Bowling Green State University. His research focuses on the role of information and technology on economic decision-making, and he has done years of extensive work studying yearling Thoroughbred prices. He teaches Equine Economics, Equine Marketing, and the senior capstone research project course in the EIP, as well as Data Analytics II in the new MS in Business Analytics Program. For more information, contact Vickner at (502) 852-4888 or steven.vickner@louisville.edu.

The Equine Industry Program at UofL is the only AACSB-accredited undergraduate business degree in the world with an equine focus. Graduates can be found in all aspects of the industry, from training to broadcasting to financial analysis.

The Analytics Brief series is published by the Equine Industry Program, College of Business, University of Louisville as a part of its ongoing research program and is intended to address contemporary economic, business, and legal/regulatory topics in the broadly defined equine industry, including but not limited to, pari-mutuel horse racing, wagering, gaming, auctions, breeding, other equestrian sports, equine-related tourism, and all relevant supply chains.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian