Direkt zum Inhalt

Analytics Brief 2019-02

28. Juni 2019 Jim Warner
Rennpferd mit Datenanalyse-Grafik-Overlay

Eine Zusammenfassung der Senior Capstone-Forschungsprojekte aus dem Frühjahrssemester 2019

Steven S. Vickner, PhD,

Associate Professor

26. Juni 2019

Während meines Spring 2019 Senior Capstone-Kurses haben die Studenten eine Vielzahl von angewandten Forschungsprojekten abgeschlossen. Sieben Studenten verwendeten Microsoft Excel und multiple Regressionsanalysen, um hedonische Preismodelle von Vollblut-Jährlingen, Vollblut-Zuchtstuten und American Saddlebreds unter Verwendung von Daten aus Keeneland, Fasig-Tipton und dem Robertson Equine Sale abzuschätzen. Drei Studenten nutzten IMPLAN und Input-Output-Analysen, um die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen des Baus einer neuen Trabrennbahn in Kentucky (Oak Grove), der größten Pferdemesse in den USA, sowie Initiativen im Bereich Tiergesundheit / Biosicherheit abzuschätzen. Zusätzlich zu ihren strengen ökonomischen Modellanalysen musste jeder Student eine Forschungsarbeit schreiben und eine Präsentation halten. Die Studenten mussten ihre Arbeit in Form eines auf YouTube aufgezeichneten Forschungsplakats und einer kurzen Posterpräsentation weiter zusammenfassen. Links zu diesen Zusammenfassungen finden Sie hier.

Frau Olivia DeNoto und Frau Landin Johnston - die ersten beiden aufgeführten Projekte - gewannen die beiden prestigeträchtigen Auszeichnungen im Rahmen des Equine Industry Program für ihr vorbildliches Stipendium.


Future of Thoroughbred Racing Ausgezeichneter Preisträger des Senior Project 2019

Olivia DeNoto: Hedonische Preisgestaltung auf dem Vollblutmarkt


Robert G. Lawrence Herausragender Senior in der Equine Business 2019-Auszeichnung

Landin Johnston: Hedonische Preisanalyse amerikanischer Sattelbrutmerkmale


Madeline Autrey: Eine Regressionsanalyse von Vollblut-Jährlingen


Kailyn Boggs: Ein wirtschaftlicher Einfluss auf die Biosicherheit von Vollblutfohlen


Shelby Bowman: Hedonische Preisanalyse von Vollblut-Jährlingen


Catherine Brown: Hedonische Preisgestaltung für Vollblüter, die beim 2019 Keeneland Horses of All Ages Sale verkauft werden


Anna Hennis: Was den Preis einer reinrassigen Zuchtstute treibt


Kaylee Markonich: Wirtschaftlichkeitsanalyse der Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show


Brianna Vitt: Hedonische Preisanalyse von zweijährigen Vollblütern im Training


Patrick Wilbourn: Wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen der Oak Grove Harness Racetrack


Dr. Steven S. Vickner ist Wirtschaftswissenschaftler und außerordentlicher Professor im Equine Industry Program des College of Business der University of Louisville. Er erwarb seinen MS und PhD in Agrar- und Ressourcenökonomie an der Colorado State University, einen MBA in Management an der University of Denver und einen Bachelor in Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Bowling Green State University. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Rolle von Information und Technologie bei der wirtschaftlichen Entscheidungsfindung und er hat jahrelange umfangreiche Arbeit geleistet, um die Preise für einjährige Vollblüter zu untersuchen. Er unterrichtet Equine Economics, Equine Marketing und den Senior Capstone Research Project-Kurs im EIP sowie Data Analytics II im neuen MS in Business Analytics-Programm. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie von Vickner unter (502) 852-4888 oder steven.vickner@louisville.edu.

Das Equine Industry Program bei UofL ist der weltweit einzige von der AACSB akkreditierte Bachelor-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Pferden. Absolventen sind in allen Bereichen der Branche zu finden, von der Ausbildung über den Rundfunk bis zur Finanzanalyse.

Das Analytics Brief Die Reihe wird vom Equine Industry Program des College of Business der University of Louisville als Teil des laufenden Forschungsprogramms veröffentlicht und soll aktuelle wirtschaftliche, geschäftliche und rechtliche / regulatorische Themen in der breit definierten Pferdebranche behandeln, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt darauf Pferderennen, Wetten, Spiele, Auktionen, Zucht, andere Pferdesportarten, pferdebezogener Tourismus und alle relevanten Lieferketten.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Analytics Brief 2019-02

June 28, 2019 Jim Warner
race horse with data analytics graphics overlay

A Summary of the Senior Capstone Research Projects from the Spring 2019 Semester

Steven S. Vickner, PhD,

Associate Professor

June 26, 2019

During my Spring 2019 senior capstone course, students completed a wide array of applied research projects. Seven students used Microsoft Excel and multiple regression analysis to estimate hedonic pricing models of Thoroughbred yearlings, Thoroughbred broodmares, and American Saddlebreds using data from Keeneland, Fasig-Tipton, and the Robertson Equine Sale. Three students used IMPLAN and input-output analysis to estimate the economic impact of the construction of a new harness racetrack in Kentucky (Oak Grove), the largest horse show in the United States, and animal health/biosecurity policy initiatives. In addition to their rigorous economic modeling analyses, each student had to write a research paper and make a presentation. The students had to further summarize their work in the form of a research poster and brief poster presentation recorded on YouTube. Links to those summaries are provided here.

Ms. Olivia DeNoto and Ms. Landin Johnston – the first two projects listed – won the two prestigious awards within the Equine Industry Program for their exemplary scholarship.


Future of Thoroughbred Racing Outstanding Senior Project 2019 Award recipient

Olivia DeNoto: Hedonic Pricing in the Thoroughbred Market


Robert G. Lawrence Outstanding Senior in Equine Business 2019 Award recipient

Landin Johnston: Hedonic Price Analysis of American Saddlebred Characteristics


Madeline Autrey: A Regression Analysis of Thoroughbred Yearlings


Kailyn Boggs: An Economic Impact on the Biosecurity of Thoroughbred Foals


Shelby Bowman: Hedonic Price Analysis of Thoroughbred Yearlings


Catherine Brown: Hedonic Pricing in Thoroughbreds Sold at the 2019 Keeneland Horses of All Ages Sale


Anna Hennis: What Drives the Price of a Thoroughbred Broodmare


Kaylee Markonich: Economic Impact Analysis of the Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show


Brianna Vitt: Hedonic Price Analysis of Two-Year-Old Thoroughbreds in Training


Patrick Wilbourn: Economic Impact of the Oak Grove Harness Racetrack


Dr. Steven S. Vickner is an economist and associate professor in the Equine Industry Program, College of Business, University of Louisville. He earned both his MS and PhD in agricultural and resource economics from Colorado State University, an MBA in management from the University of Denver and a bachelor’s degree in economics from Bowling Green State University. His research focuses on the role of information and technology on economic decision-making, and he has done years of extensive work studying yearling Thoroughbred prices. He teaches Equine Economics, Equine Marketing, and the senior capstone research project course in the EIP, as well as Data Analytics II in the new MS in Business Analytics Program. For more information, contact Vickner at (502) 852-4888 or steven.vickner@louisville.edu.

The Equine Industry Program at UofL is the only AACSB-accredited undergraduate business degree in the world with an equine focus. Graduates can be found in all aspects of the industry, from training to broadcasting to financial analysis.

The Analytics Brief series is published by the Equine Industry Program, College of Business, University of Louisville as a part of its ongoing research program and is intended to address contemporary economic, business, and legal/regulatory topics in the broadly defined equine industry, including but not limited to, pari-mutuel horse racing, wagering, gaming, auctions, breeding, other equestrian sports, equine-related tourism, and all relevant supply chains.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian