跳到主要内容

决心成功并发现失败的增长

17年2019月XNUMX日

Elshadai Smith Mensah,19岁,在路易斯维尔大学商学院学习期间取得了长足发展。 作为一个在创业和管理方面都具有未成年人的市场营销专业,她承认自己很高兴能表现出色。 在参与她的悲伤,学生领导和校园社区的过程中保持成绩并非总是一帆风顺或没有挫折。 但是,她说值得付出努力,并补充说困难和成就一样对她的个人成长做出了贡献。

她的父母都从非洲移民到美国,后来带上了祖父母。 然后,在成为美国公民之后,她的父母让Elshadai成为了她的第二代美国人。 她出生于俄亥俄州的托莱多,在肯塔基州的阿什兰长大。 来到路易斯维尔上大学这个大城市,是一个巨大的变化。 当想到离开家乡,朋友和家人时,Elshadai充满着兴奋,热情和不安,充满了焦虑。 因此,当她到达时,她立即进入了校园-她现在声称这是她成功的大学生涯的重要因素。

她说:“我喜欢忙碌并参与其中。” “在学生生活中建立联系非常重要,而不仅仅是在我的课堂上。 大学不仅仅是您修读的科目; 这是关于一个人的成长和探索可能性。” 这项工作包括Sigma Kappa的Alpha Theta章节; 参与,领导,服务委员会; 出国留学; 新生铅2017年杰出领导才能奖; 返校节; PEACC守护者奖; 和波特兰小学柠檬水日。

但大学生活并非一帆风顺。 在大三的时候,她参加了许多活动,她觉得自己可能已经失去了对自己目标的看法。

Elshadai解释说:“去年对我来说是一次大开眼界的经历。 大三的时候,我开始忙于做很多事情来建立我的证书。 引爆点是我竞选学生政府而输了。” 她试图在校园里有所作为,但没有为自己的个性和优势走正确的道路! 她为它付出了很多努力而感到非常失望,但仍然没有奏效。 她觉得这是一种帮助她成长的经历。

在那次挫折之后,她花了一些时间进行反思。 她意识到自己在UofL的时间是建立与自己价值观匹配的生活道路的机会。 所以现在,当被问及毕业时她想做什么时,她毫不犹豫。 她回答说,她想利用自己的商业教育和经验来做点事来帮助人们。 Elshadai从榜样中脱颖而出,其动力来自影响力和社区服务,而不是金钱。

在她钦佩的众多榜样中,有两个特别浮现在脑海中。 一个是她的爸爸。 在成长过程中,当他努力改善他人的生活时,她看着并帮助了他。 不仅是个别的,而且还有大规模的努力,有助于改善整个社区和国家。 现在,在UofL,她描述了通过与另一个榜样,管理学助理教授Jenna Haugen相遇而感到幸福。

Haugen博士的课程“企业社会责任”改变了人们的生活。 Elshadai喜欢与人交往的人际关系。 柠檬水日项目特别启发了她。 这个项目很艰难,但是改变了她的态度,为她的未来开辟了新的可能性。 拥有可以使她在运用自己的商业技能的同时以有意义的方式帮助他人的职业的可能性。 她对有所作为的热情是她寻求社会企业家职业的动力。

她意识到可能很难参与大学的所有承诺和期限,但建议正是这些经历促成了个人成长并开辟了新的机会。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Elshadai Smith Mensah, 19′ has grown a lot during her time at the University of Louisville College of Business.  As a marketing major with minors in both entrepreneurship and management, she admits being happily driven to excel. Keeping her grades up while being involved in her sorority, student leadership, and in the campus community hasn’t always been smooth or without setbacks. However, she says it’s been worth the effort adding that the difficulties have contributed to her personal growth as much as the achievements. 

Both of her parents migrated to the U.S. from Africa, later bring her grandparents. Then, after becoming American citizens, her parents had Elshadai making her a second generation American. She was born in Toledo, Ohio and raised in Ashland, Kentucky.  Coming to Louisville for college, the big city, was a vast change.  Elshadai entered college with excitement, enthusiasm, mixed with a touch of anxiety when thinking about leaving her hometown, friends, and family. So when she arrived, she immediately got involved on campus —something she now claims as an essential factor in her successful college career.

“I love to be busy and be involved,” she said. “It’s really important to get connected in student life and not just in my classes. College is more than just the subjects you take; it’s about growing as a person and exploring possibilities.”  This involvement includes Alpha Theta chapter of Sigma Kappa; Engage, Lead, Serve Board; Study Abroad; Freshmen LEAD;  2017 Profiles in Leadership Award; Homecoming Queen; PEACC Keeper Award; and Portland Elementary Lemonade Day.

But college life hasn’t always been smooth sailing. By her junior year, she was involved in so many activities that she felt she might have lost perspective on her goals.

Elshadai explains, “Last year was an eye-opening experience for me. As a junior, I had gotten caught up in doing a lot of things to build up my credentials. The tipping point was when I ran for student government and lost.”  She was trying to make a difference on campus, but not taking the right path for her personality and strengths!  She was really disappointed that she put a lot of effort into it and it still did not work out. She felt it was an experience that helped her grow.

After that setback, she took some time to reflect. She realized that her time at UofL was an opportunity to build a life path that matched her values. So now, when asked what she wants to do when she graduates, there is no hesitation. She answers that she wants to use her business education and experience to do something to help people.  Taking the lead from role models in her life, Elshadai is motivated by impact and community service, not money.

Among the many role models she admires, two specifically come to mind. One is her Dad. Growing up, she watched and helped him as he strived to better the lives of others. Not just individually, but with large-scale efforts that worked to improve whole communities and countries. Now at UofL, she describes being blessed by meeting another role model, Assistant Professor of Management, Jenna Haugen.

Dr. Haugen’s class, Corporate Social Responsibility, was life-changing.  Elshadai liked the interpersonal aspects of being involved with people.  The Lemonade day project especially inspired her. The project was tough, but it changed her attitude and opened up new possibilities for her future. Possibilities to have a career that would allow her to help others in a meaningful way while using her business skills. Her passion to make a difference is a driving force in her desire to explore a career in social entrepreneurship.

She realizes it may be hard to get involved with all of the commitments and deadlines in college, but advises that it is these experiences that produce personal growth and open new opportunities.

Tagged with →  

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

University of Louisville
College of Business
Harry Frazier Hall
Louisville, KY 40292
Contact Us - Directory
Main College Number: (502) 852-6440 Fax: (502) 852-7557

ACCREDITATION

The UofL College of Business is separately accredited by AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). Visit our Accreditation page for details.

University Accreditation:
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

SEARCH

COLLEGE SOCIAL MEDIA

facebook twitter