跳到主要内容

翻译机会

8年2021月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
王若梅和长颈鹿

“我从来没有梦想过要去美国读书,我正在和父亲在中国[中国]一起观看[2016]大选,不知道我会在[路易斯维尔]在这里观看下一次总统大选。 !” 距离世界有四个半月了-绵延数英里的时间可以发现和发展。 王若梅是商学院的高级独联体专业。

在UofL工作期间,她从一个公认地害羞并担心自己英语流利的学生成长为一名学生导师,中国学者联合会的负责人以及肯德基的服务台实习生,与全国范围内的肯德基专业人士进行了沟通日常。 多年的纪律和奉献精神造就了一位年轻的专业人​​士,她非常感谢为她提供的机会,以及她通过为自己的直系社区服务来兑现这些机会的承诺。

若梅的学业成绩和奖项清楚地证明了她的职业道德; 院长奖学金,多项奖学金,GPA累计3.94。 对于若梅来说,如果不是许多导师为她敞开大门的话,这些荣誉都将是不可能的。 这些机会始于UofL教授Zing-Bin Zing代表姊妹城市青年学者访问中国。 “我是我学校唯一的入选学生,”王说。 “我什至不敢相信!”

除了课堂或实习之外,若梅还与UofL的几个中国新朋友一起,为振兴UofL的中国学者联合会(CSU)注入了活力,分享了中国学生带给我们红衣主教社区的文化和经验。 她已成为学生社区的固定对象-不仅与潜在的中国学生分享她的UofL经验,还担任REACH的翻译和同伴辅导。 作为CSU的总裁,若梅帮助UofL的中国学生群体协调了急需的COVID-19供应。 “在大流行初期,中国大使馆向我伸出了援助之手,我们能够帮助学生购买口罩,洗手液和其他用品。 即使我不在校园,帮助我的同学获得他们所需的东西也很棒。” 若美帮助建立的另一种联系是将求职者与中国同胞联系起来。 “ GE与[CSU]接触,以招募更多的亚洲学生。 我们在Speed School举办了一个活动……我的一位朋友是金融专业的学生,​​在会议上获得了实习职位。” 当她离开大学正式的导师职位以继续她在肯德基的实习时,若梅对她的同学们的承诺依然存在,因为她仍然是科罗拉多州立大学的校长。

对于肯德基来说,实习对于瑞美来说是一个梦想成真。 “当我很小的时候,任何时候都有假期或庆祝活动,我的家人就把我带到肯德基。 这是我最喜欢去的地方,”王说。 “来到美国后,一切似乎都变得如此陌生和新颖,但是当我看到肯德基的那一刻,我感觉好多了,因为那是我可以与之联系的。” 从去年夏天开始,Ruomei一直将她的CIS教育应用于修复磁盘备份故障,管理Windows服务以及帮助记录和解决软件和硬件问题。 除了教科书以外,若梅觉得这是她工作经历中最令人惊讶的部分。 “ UofL使我能够信任我的解决问题的能力。 我充满信心,可以在[IT服务台]找出挑战。”

若梅对IT的兴趣始于早期。 Wang说:“自从我真的很小的时候我就被IT所吸引……我会看着妈妈制作PowerPoint幻灯片和电子表格,对此我也很感兴趣。” Ruomei的好奇心在中学时期进一步增强,因为她开始在学校帮助维修和保养视听和技术设备。 “当老师看到我时,他们会说'哦,是修理所有计算机的那个女孩。'”尽管学习的愿望仍然存在,但机会有限。 Wang解释说:“因为我还是一个女孩,我的IT老师对教我没兴趣,” Wang解释道-一种数字玻璃天花板并没有阻止她学习。 “我相信女孩做任何事情的能力,并且仍然相信女性从事技术工作。 我一直在和我的独联体女教授谈话。”

若梅为她的下一次冒险做好了准备,她的大学是研究生院,目标是有一天成为一名教授。 “我妈妈教英语和人力资源。 大学是关于终身学习的,我很乐意帮助那些热衷于学习的学生。” 若美还希望看到UofL以外的机会。 “我爱路易斯维尔,人民和UofL,但我想体验其他城市。 我(对美国)很新,我想知道那里有什么,然后尝试一些新的东西。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Translate Opportunity

January 8, 2021 Jim Warner
Ruomei Wang and giraffe

“I never dreamed that I was going to study in the U.S. I was watching the [2016] election with my dad at home [in China] and didn’t know that I’d be watching the next presidential election here [in Louisville]!” Four years and half a world away — a span of miles and time allows for both discovery and growth. Ruomei Wang is a senior CIS major at the College of Business.

During her time at UofL, she has grown from a student who was admittedly shy and concerned about her fluency with English to be a student mentor, a leader in the Chinese Scholars Union, and a help desk intern for KFC, communicating with KFC professionals nationwide daily. What emerges from the years of discipline and dedication is a young professional who is grateful for the opportunities presented to her, and her commitment, in turn, to honoring those opportunities through serving her immediate community.

Ruomei’s academic record and awards are clear testimony to her work ethic; Dean’s Scholar, multiple scholarships, a 3.94 cumulative GPA. For Ruomei, none of these accolades would be possible if it weren’t for the many mentors that held the doors open for her. These opportunities began with UofL professor Wei-Bin Zing visiting China on behalf of the Sister Cities Young Scholars. “I was the only student selected from my school,” says Wang. “I couldn’t even believe it!”

Beyond the classroom or the internship, Ruomei helped to revitalize the Chinese Scholars Union (CSU) at UofL, working with several of her newfound friends to share the culture and experiences Chinese students bring with them to our cardinal Community. She has become a fixture in the student community—not only sharing her UofL experience with potential Chinese students, but working as a translator and peer tutor for REACH. As president of the CSU, Ruomei helped coordinate much needed COVID-19 supplies to UofL’s Chinese student population. “The Chinese Embassy reached out to me at the start of the pandemic, and we were able to help get students masks, hand sanitizer, and other supplies. Even though I was not on campus, it was great to help my classmates get what they needed.” Another connection Ruomei helped build was connecting job recruiters with her fellow Chinese students. “G.E. reached out to [CSU] to hire more Asian students. We put on an event with the Speed School…one of my friends is a finance major who got an internship position at the session.” While she left her official tutor position at the University to pursue her KFC internship, Ruomei’s commitment to her fellow students remain as she still remains as the CSU president.

Interning for KFC has been a dream come true for Ruomei. “When I was little, any time there was a holiday or celebration, my family took me to KFC. It was my favorite place to go,” says Wang. “After I came to the U.S., everything seemed so strange and so new, but the moment I saw KFC, I felt better because that was something I could relate to.” Since starting last summer, Ruomei has been applying her CIS education in fixing disk backup failures, managing Windows services, and helping to document and solve software and hardware issues. Beyond the textbook, it’s the intangibles that Ruomei feels have been the most surprising part of her work experience. “UofL has given me the ability to trust my problem-solving skills. I just feel confident that I can figure out challenges [at the IT help desk].”

Ruomei’s interest in IT started at an early age. “I was attracted to IT since I was really, really young…I would watch my mom make PowerPoint slides and spreadsheets, and I became interested [in doing that too],” said Wang. Ruomei’s curiosity was further fueled in middle school as she began to help repair and service A/V and tech equipment at her school. “When teachers would see me, they’d say ‘Oh it’s the girl who fixes all the computers.’” While that desire to learn remained, the opportunities were limited. “My IT teacher wasn’t interested in teaching me because I was a girl,” explained Wang — a digital glass ceiling that did not deter her from learning. “I trust in girls’ ability to do anything and still believe in women in technology. I am always talking to my female CIS professors.” One of those Ruomei sees as a mentor is instructor Dr. Haleh Karimi. “She invited me to attend the Women in Technology Awards in December — I was so inspired by everyone there!”

Ruomei is ready for her next adventure—graduate school with the goal of one day being a professor. “My mom teaches English and human resources. Colleges are about lifelong learning, and I would love to get to help students that have a passion to learn.” Ruomei is also looking to see what opportunities look like beyond UofL. “I love Louisville and the people and UofL, but I want to experience other cities. I’m so new [to America] I want to know what’s out there and try out something new.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian