跳到主要内容

热情好客的精神

January 31, 2022 吉姆华纳
凯莉·沃森

“与凯利一起工作总是一种乐趣——她总是很开朗,愿意做任何事情来改变现状,”百胜餐饮总监说! 全球特许经营卓越中心,Kathleen Gosser 博士。 “她真的很关心我们的学院,并把我们最好的一面展现出来。” 这种把我们学院放在首位的愿望为凯利赢得了红衣主教精神奖。

在不到一年的时间里,凯利帮助确保学院的活动具有一流商学院所期望的光彩照人。 她在酒店业拥有 XNUMX 年的经验(包括在穆罕默德·阿里中心工作的 XNUMX 年),以提高学院活动的质量和一致性。 这是许多人注意到的,所有人都经历过的努力。

她的第一年是一个吉祥的一年,在大流行病的核心地带航行。 在一份新工作可能起步缓慢的情况下,凯利利用了为她提供的机会。 “一开始我确实有几个月的时间可以致力于更多地了解高等教育和商学院等机构,这样我就可以为它的事件公正地对待它,”凯利反映道。 “所以我今年只是试着与整个学院的每个人建立关系。”

随着 UofL 开始转向更多的面对面编程,为大学社区创造安全和引人入胜的活动是每一个决定的最前沿。 努力实现安全和参与的平衡对凯利来说是一个挑战,但她已经做好了应对的准备。 “我喜欢帮助改善体验,这很有意义,”凯利说。 这些经历包括传统的学生活动,如迎新活动和毕业典礼,以及与学院校友和朋友的小型招待会,再到弗雷泽大厅中庭的教职员工联谊午餐。 每个活动都注重细节和关怀,使他们对参加者来说更加特别。

虽然她可能更喜欢留在幕后,但凯莉很高兴能获得同龄人的红衣主教精神奖。 “我见过过去的获奖者,他们是学院的宝贵资产,”凯利说。 “这让我感到自豪,希望我正在做的事情有所作为。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Spirit of Hospitality

January 31, 2022 Jim Warner
Kelly Watson

“Working with Kelly is always a joy—she is always cheerful and willing to do whatever it takes to make a difference,” says the Director of YUM! Center for Global Franchise Excellence, Dr. Kathleen Gosser. “She truly cares about our College and putting our best foot forward.” That desire to put our College first has earned Kelly a Cardinal Spirit award.

In just under a year, Kelly has helped to ensure the events at the College have the polish and shine expected of a premier business school. She has brought twenty years of experience in the hospitality industry (including an eight-year tenure with the Muhammad Ali Center) to up the quality and consistency of events at the College. It’s an effort noticed by many, experienced by all.

Her first year was an auspicious one, navigating the programmatic landscape in the heart of a pandemic. In what could have been a slow start to a new job, Kelly took advantage of the opportunity time provided her. “I truly had a couple of months in the beginning that I could dedicate to learning more about higher education and an institute, like the College of Business, so that I could do it justice for its events,” reflects Kelly. “And so I’ve just tried to spend this year cultivating relationships with everyone across the College.”

As UofL began its pivot back to more in-person programming, creating safe and engaging events for the College community was at the forefront of every decision. Working to achieve a balance of safety and engagement has been a challenge for Kelly, but she was more than ready to tackle it. “I love to help make experiences better, and that’s been rewarding,” says Kelly. Those experiences range from traditional student-driven events like orientation and graduation to small receptions with alumni and friends of the College to faculty and staff fellowship lunches in the Frazier Hall atrium. Each event is given attention to detail and care, making them that much more special for those attending.

While she may prefer to stay behind the scenes, Kelly appreciates being recognized by her peers with the Cardinal Spirit Award. “I have seen the past winners, and they’re such great assets to the College,” says Kelly. “It makes me feel proud that hopefully, what I’m doing is making a difference.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish