跳到主要内容

屡获殊荣的支持

1年2022月XNUMX日 吉姆华纳
莎拉·凯利

当 Sarah Kelley 告诉她的父母,她将离开船舶销售行业去从事家族企业的事业时,得到的回应是支持的。 “尤其是高等教育一直在我的血液中根深蒂固。 我妈妈作为员工在 UofL 的业务方面工作。 我父亲是 Bellarmine 计算机科学系的系主任,”Sarah 说。 “他看到了高等教育的价值,因为这也是他毕生致力于做的事情。 我认为他暗自为我让家族企业继续运转而感到自豪。”

家族企业

莎拉的父母自己从事高等教育工作,知道她将面临跟随他们的脚步所面临的挑战。 尽管如此,作为一个在大学校园里长大的人,莎拉·凯利的学术之路总是让人觉得不可避免。 这段旅程将莎拉带到了商学院。 在短短几个月内,她的工作为她赢得了同龄人和 2021-22 员工卓越奖.

作为学生服务项目协调员,莎拉于 2021 年加入研究生项目办公室。从活动策划到回答学生的问题和要求,莎拉身兼数职。 在核心,莎拉认为她的责任归结为一件事,“确保我们的学生在课堂之外的体验和课程的学术方面尽可能地出色、精彩和鼓舞人心。”

学生参与是莎拉认为她真正擅长的地方。 “无论是在他们第一次参加迎新会时,他们都很热闹……还是毕业时,他们都很兴奋,你为他们感到兴奋和自豪——你已经看到他们完成了他们的课程……我喜欢和他们互动。” 建立连接点对于学生的成功至关重要。 在许多情况下,莎拉建立信任纽带的能力说明了她随和的天性,她愿意介入并伸出援手,这使她在短时间内成为了首选人。

指导的影响

莎拉将她在学院的成功归功于各种导师,从朋友和家人到办公室的人。 “关于金·马洛里和凯利·沃森,我不能说太多好话。 每个人都和我谈论过在高等教育中成为女性的重要性。 他们支持专业发展的努力,让我尽可能多地学习和学习,并给我一些做出决定的自由——即使他们没有成功。 我觉得我已经学到了很多,只是被允许有一点呼吸的空间,如果有什么失败了,就没有“我告诉过你了”。 这对我的成功不可或缺。” 作为专业人士的这种发展包括追求 高等教育管理文学硕士 和项目管理证书。 “我有时真的觉得一天中的时间不够用,”她笑着说。

最终,这些成功,包括莎拉的员工卓越奖,都是那些在学院幕后工作的人的产物。 她认真的性格凸显了她作为团队成员的自豪感。 “我只想承认,如果没有团队的其他成员——研究生项目办公室,甚至是 Ulmer 团队、市场营销、家族企业,我所做的工作是不可能完成的,我们都在努力工作……我很感激你的认可,但是我想确保其他人也得到他们的认可,因为我们是一支非常非常优秀的团队。”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Award-Winning Support

July 1, 2022 Jim Warner
Sarah Kelley

When Sarah Kelley told her parents she was leaving the world of boat sales to pursue a career in the family business, the response was supportive. “Higher education particularly has always been ingrained in my blood. My mom worked for UofL on the business side as staff. My dad is the chair of the computer science department at Bellarmine,” says Sarah. “He sees value in higher ed because that’s what he has also dedicated his life to doing. I think he is secretly proud that I’m keeping the family business going.”

The Family Business

Working in higher education themselves, Sarah’s parents knew the challenges she would face following in their footsteps. Still, as someone who grew up on college campuses, Sarah Kelley’s road to academia always felt inevitable. That journey brought Sarah to the College of Business. In a handful of months, her work earned her the respect of her peers and the 2021-22 Staff Excellence Award.

As a Student Services Program Coordinator, Sarah joined the Graduate Programs office in 2021. From event planning to fielding student questions and requests, Sarah wears many different hats. At the core, Sarah believes her responsibilities come down to one thing, “making sure that our student experience outside of the classroom and the academic side of the program is as excellent and wonderful and inspiring as it possibly could be.”

Student engagement is where Sarah believes she truly excels. “Whether [it’s] when they first come in at orientation, and they’re all abuzz…or graduation, where they’re all excited, and you’re excited and proud of them—you’ve watched them move through their program…I love interacting with them.” Making that point of connection is essential for a student’s success. In many instances, Sarah’s ability to build a bond of trust speaks to her easygoing nature, and her willingness to step in and lend a hand has made her a go-to person in a short time.

Impact of Mentoring

Sarah credits her successes at the College to various mentors, from friends and family to those at the office. “I cannot say enough good things about Kim Mallory and Kelly Watson. Each has talked with me about the importance of being a woman in higher education. They have supported professional development endeavors, letting me shadow and just learn as much as possible and giving me some freedom to make decisions—even if they don’t work out. I feel like I’ve learned a lot just being allowed to have a little space to breathe, and if something fails, there’s no ‘I told you so.’ It has been integral to my success.” This development as a professional includes pursuing a Master of Arts in Higher Education Administration and a Project Management Certificate. “I sometimes truly feel like there are not enough hours in the day,” she laughs.

Ultimately, those successes, including Sarah’s Staff Excellence Award, are a product of those who work behind the scenes at the College. Her earnest nature underscores her pride in being a team player. “I just want to acknowledge that the work I do wouldn’t be possible without the rest of the team—the Graduate Programs Office, even the Ulmer team, Marketing, Family Business, we all work so much…I appreciate the recognition, but I want to make sure everybody else gets their recognition too because we’re a really, really good team.”

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish